Wingless and Mini Sprints headline Drouin Speedway this Sunday

This coming Sunday at Drouin Speedway, the Wingless Sprints and Mini Sprints headline the days racing with a extremely strong fifteen plus field for the Wingless pleasing the committee who have put in place lots of improvements at the venue in order to be able to accommodate one of the largest competitor groups in Australia, the Wingless Sprints.

Also on the programme is the Division 2 Hot Rods and all of the local club classes featuring Men’s, Women’s and Junior Sedan racing.

Executive committee member Rosa Evans was delighted to see so many Wingless Sprint nominations for round one of the three event West Gippsland Challenge for Wingless Sprints. “We as a committee along with our volunteers have worked really hard to finalise our catch fence and to put in place a track maintenance system to that works for us. We have a new roller that allows us to pack down our water into the track so that it is not just blowing off the wheels of our cars as soon as they start racing.” Shared Rosa.

Amongst the stronger entrants in the Wingless Sprints are Wayne Logue from Morwell, Tony Moule, Aron Lawrence, Travis Evans and Brad Foster. On a widened track which Drouin was able to do late last season, expect some side by side action and lots of passing through the turns from this field.

The very quick Mini Sprint class is also competing and Owen Schnoor who this past weekend finished second to an Australian champion whilst competing at Nyora is the favourite in a field that includes David Alie, Ally Moore and Kyle Stathopoulos. Alie showed that he wants to have a serious crack at getting the best of Schnoor after performing strongly at Nyora also.

Division 2 Hot Rods, which for new fans is a Sedan class with the front wheels exposed, are also competing and their champion Scott Laidlaw leads a list of almost ten competitors. Rob Tatterson, Jamie Angus and Drouin members Gavin Summerill and Stuart Barkway amongst the entrants.

Other competition on the day involves Standard Saloons, Junior Standard Saloons, Ladies Standard Saloons, Unlimited Sedans and Sports Sedans.

Drouin will also be commemorating Remembrance Day with Poppies available for purchase and a tribute arranged by announcers at 11am.

Gates open from 8am. Racing starts at 11am.

Entry will cost $15 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $10 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 to 16 will cost $40.

General enquiries can be made to 0422 289 133

Drouin Speedway Club would like to thank their club supporters:
Active Graphics
Alberni Engineering
Ampworks Audio
Baw Baw Shire
Berwick Legal
B-Neeta Skip Hire
Boost 2 Drive
Butcher Shop Hotel
Haze Hair by Design
Keena Fencing
Latrobe Waste Recycling
Leigh & Anne Gooding
Longwarry Hotel
Longwary Meat Safe
Mighty Doors
Miles Mechanical
Monckton Concrete
Norstar Steel Recyclers
OnSite Medical Response
Random Panda Photography
Pakenham Tilt Tray
Polish & Shine
S.S Plastering & Painting
TNT Auto Parts
Victorian Crane Trucks
Wilkar Construction

Matt Mills – VX 12
Clint Ogilvie – Victoria 13
Jamie Mills – VX 13
Wayne Logue – Victoria 16
Brad Foster – VX 20
Thomas McDonald – Victoria 20
Mark Hunt – VX 22
Mick Lovell – Victoria 24
Chris Skilton – Victoria 29
Tony Moule – Victoria 30
Kim Abbott – Victoria 38
Brett Pope – VX 64
Kim-Joong Gosling – VX 68
John Rotheram – VX 69
Shane Ardley – Victoria 69
Aron Lawrence – Victoria 70
Travis Evans – Victoria 77
Paul Drysdale – Victoria 88

Owen Schnoor – Victoria 4
Dave Alie – Victoria 9
Matt Moore – Victoria 25
Ally Moore – Victorian 26
Maureen Sell – Victoria 27
Samantha Peach – Victoria 28
Kyle Stathopoulos – Victoria 44

Luke Capek
Johnny Watson
Andrew Morris
Leigh Gooding
Andy Evans
Leigh Mitchell
Mick Coomer
Stephen Douglas

Kevin Hays
Gavin Summerill
Jason Seymour
Stuart Barkway
Rob Geisler
Rob Tatterson
Mel Tatterson
Scott Laidlaw
Jamie Angus

Deegan Benson
Jack Yeoman’s
Seb Ardley
Kaine Smith
Bailey Bennett
Chloe Coomer
Rhys Lansdown