V8 Double Header at Archerfield Saturday Night

pic: Peter Lack

Having suffered a wet weather-induced early finish after the opening round of heat races at the previous round two weeks ago and then suffering a total washout last weekend in Toowoomba, Sprintcar drivers will be primed for round four of the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship this Saturday night (October 28) at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway. In what will be a big night of V8 action, Dirt Modifieds get their season underway with current and two-time Australian champion Kevin Britten heading an 19-car entry list, while Formula 500s are also out in force for the latest round of their KRE race Engines Championship Series. Compact Speedcars and a double dose of sedan action featuring Open Sedans and Ford vs Holden v Sigmas complete another big night of action at Queensland’s home of speedway.

With just time trials and three heat races completed at the previous round before the rains came, little has changed at the top of the series leader board, with defending track champion Luke Oldfield maintaining his position atop the championship standings, albeit in the very early stages of the title chase. Despite the fact that Andrew Scheuerle has won both of the completed feature races so far this season, runner-up finishes in both events combined with superior qualifying performances (which includes clocking the fastest lap in time trials at all three rounds) has enabled Oldfield to establish 19-point lead over Scheurele. Whilst there is absolutely no doubt that this dynamic duo will be again be leading the way this weekend, what’s not so certain is which, if any, of the other 20+ drivers can break the monopoly on the top two positions.

Thus far, Mitchell Gee and Lachlan McHugh have been the only others to secure a place on the feature race podium and, given their determination, fearlessness and thirst for success, they again seem the most likely candidates. Callum Walker, Peter Lack, Brent Kratzmann and Ben Hilder have proven the best of the rest and no doubt this quartet have used the extended break in competition to fine-tune their equipment and tactics in their bid to visit victory lane. Mark Pholi and Allan Woods have produced glimpses of speed at times, but will need to harness their horsepower with more consistency if they hope to challenge for outright honours.

The second outing for the Sprintcar Development Series will also hit the track on Saturday night as former Lightning Sprint racer Peter Campbell looks to maintain his unbeaten run, having won both heats and the feature in their opening round.

With several of the established front runners absent, Britten and former national titleholder Andrew Pezzutti will be the drivers to beat in Dirt Modified action. Always willing to charge hard on the high side, Britten has produced some remarkable performances at this track and his battle with Pezzutti promises to be something quite spectacular. The experience of Ray Klarich and Garry Wathen always makes them a threat to spring an upset, while Sam Bruggy, category newcomer Terry Leerentveld and NSW’s Andrew Firth, who snagged a feature race win on his home track in Grafton last month will be poised to pounce should the favourites falter.

The rain interruption two weeks ago denied national champ Liam Williams the opportunity to secure his third Formula 500 feature race win in succession, so look for the transplanted Victorian to be fast, focussed and out front again this Saturday. However, in what is one of the most competitive categories at the moment, Williams will face formidable opposition, not the least of which will come from girlfriend Kristin Brown. Throw in speedsters such as Tristan Johnson, Ryan McNamara, Nick Hodges, Piper Ogilvie, Mitchell Whittaker and Graham Williams, plus a dozen others including current Australian Lightning Sprint champion Kurt Wilson and action seems assured.

Dave Collins and Trent Usher have taken out the opening two Compact Speedcar feature races of the season and both are back in action again on Saturday night, with Wayne Corbett, Steve Swingler, Emma Harris, Jim Kennedy, Tim Farrell and Matt O’Neill looming as the collective most likely to quash any hopes Collins or Usher may have or replicating their success.

With over 25 Open Sedans expected along with all the regulars of the Ford vs Holden Vs Sigma sedans, more than 120 cars will hit the track on the night, with gates opening at 4.00pm and early racing from 5.00pm. Sprintcars hit the track for qualifying (time trials) at 5.30pm before the main program gets underway at 6.00pm.

East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship round four nominations: Allan Woods, Andrew Corbet, Andrew Liebke, Andrew Scheuerle, Ben Hilder, Brad Ayers, Brent Kratzmann, Brett Minett, Brock Dean, Brodie Tulloch, Callum Walker, Dan Murray, Karl Hoffmans, Kristy Bonsey, Lachlan McHugh, Luke Oldfield, Mark Pholi, Mitch Gowland, Mitchell Gee, Nelson Reddacliff, Peter Lack, Steve Greer

Sprintcar Development Series nominations: Aleesha Woods, Peter Campbell, Ashley Morgan, David Kenway, Libby Ellis, Jason King, Liam Atkinson, Kris Jenings

Dirt Modified nominations: Andrew Firth, Andrew Pezzutti, Anthony Ashen, Garry Wathen, Graeme Holland, John Jones, Kevin Britten, Marcus MacKenzie, Nick Knott, Phil Roberts, Ray Klarich, Ray Eggins, Russell Knight, Sam Bruggy, Terry Leerentveld, Trevor Wiley, Zac MacDonald, Josh Rose, Mark Connolly

KRE Race Engines Formula 500 series round three nominations: Adrian Farrell, Brady Argles, Bryn Upshall, Ethan Eyears, Glen Douglas, Graham Williams, Kristin Brown, Kurt Wilson, Liam Williams, Marshall Lewis, Mitchell Whittaker, Nick Hodges, Piper Ogilvie, Randy Morgan, Royce Harvey, Royden Alcorn, Ryan McNamara, Tomas Partington, Tom Bailey. Tristan Johnson

Compact Speedcar nominations: Dave Collins, Richard Rooke, Hayden Smith, Dave Swan, Wayne Corbett, Matt O’Neill, Tim Farrell, Steve Swingler, Glenn Wright, Graeme Flynn, Trent Usher, Andrew Parkes, Emma Harris, Jayden O’Toole, Riki Harrison, Jim Kennedy, Bernie Clarke, James Barton, Nathan Mathers