The best place to spend the day after Christmas is… at Bairnsdale Speedway

Boxing Day tradition dictates that the best place to be in East Gippsland on the day is at Bairnsdale Speedway and that situation is no different this year with a huge night of action that will include Sprintcar racing, Super Sedan action, Wingless Sprint competition, Locals in their Standard Saloons and Limited Sportsman’s, providing interest for everybody.

The Sprintcar Christmas Dash is headlined by local competitors with Shane Steenholdt whom just took victory recently in Ballarat leading the nominations. Bairnsdale Speedway Club President Mark Laity returns to steer his machine whilst Alistair Bastian, Adam Greenwood, Adam Cullinger, David McKay, Dillon Seily and David Dennison are others amongst the entries that are likely to be in the mix for podium spots at the end of the night.

Steenholdt will be challenged through the night and Bastian whom led the recent race at Ballarat is keen to get a victory on the board. Sprintcars will fly around the Bairnsdale racetrack at speeds reaching near 200kms per hour at the entry points to turn three and one. They are a sight to see live.

Super Sedan action will be highlighted by two of Australia’s greatest ever class competitors in the entry list, Mick Nicola Snr and Lucas Roberts. Nicola Senior with national scene success and Roberts with multiple Victorian title success will be challenged by Mick Nicola Jnr and Jamie Collins, drivers whom have both won feature races this season. These machines hike up on three wheels as they roar through the turns and gains a lot of fan attention.

The Logue family from Morwell lead a great list of nominations for the Wingless Sprints with legend Peter and his son’s Wayne and Daryl ready for the tough task ahead against a stellar line-up that includes Todd Hobson from Clyde, Travis Bergmeier, Thomas McDonald and Travis Evans of Bunyip.

There is every chance a Logue family member could win; however, Hobson is the in great form this season already. Throw in a couple of visiting South Australian’s Normie and Norm Moore, it is not certain who will be the winner and that is just the way fan’s like it.

A Standard Saloon mini feature is another great event on the card and Josh Thomas whom won the first event of the Bairnsdale season returns with Gordon Russell who finished runner up in the line-up also. Patrick Farry, Steven Danks, Scott Roberts, Mick Coomer and Kane Gibson are just some of the strong runners in the field. Coomer was recently leading the feature event at Drouin and finished on the podium, whilst Farry, Danks and Gibson are a few of the younger Gippsland racers figuring at the front of the field often.

Race day enquiries only please contact this number 0458 617 910

Action begins at 5.30pm with public entry open from 1pm.

Cost of entry to the race meeting is $20 for adults, Aged Pensioners $15, Children 8yrs to 16 are $8 and all those under the age of 12 are free.

Club Sponsors
A1 Septic Tanks
A1 Trailers
ARB Bairnsdale
Assist ‘A’ Lift
Bairnsdale Automotive Transmissions
Bairnsdale Show Committee
Bridgestone Bairnsdale
Bristol Paint
Buchan Towing
Carpet World
Craig Riseley Plumbing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roofing
Dwyer’s Toyota
East Gippsland Hire
East Gippsland Locks & Keys
Eastern Signs
Egee Printers
Gillicks Busline
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
JBI Concreting
Logues Auto Wreckers
M & S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations
Office Choice – Bairnsdale
Patties Foods
Phase Link Electrics
Random Panda Photography
Riviera Concrete
Roseneath Caravan Park
SS Auto Wholesaler
SSM Asbestos
Swan Plumbing
Tambo Waste
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gas Fitting
Westpoint Motors
W.G.I Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage
Zack’s Firewood Services
Tim Bull MP – Member for Gippsland East

Shane Steenholdt – 5
Luke Schneider – 6
Adam Cullinger – 7
David Dennison – 15
Anthony Snow – 24
Michael Evans – 28
Adam Greenwood – 35
Mark Laity – 53
Ethan Bastian – 54
Alistair Bastian – 55
Nigel Laity – 66
Jordan Abbott – 74
Owen Bulman – 77
David McKay – 83
Dillon Seily – 87
Trent Nielson – 87
Andrew Nielson – 90

Lucas Roberts – Victoria 0
Mick Nicola Snr – Victoria 3
Mark Sommers – NSW 11
Anthony Nicola – Victoria 11
Darren Giacometti – Victoria 12
Brent Coleman – Victoria 14
Mick Nicola Jnr – Victoria 23
Dave Mackenzie – Victoria 24
Jamie Collins – Victoria 34

Jason Hurley – Bairnsdale 14
David Dennison – Bairnsdale 15
Mark Both – Bairnsdale 18
Chris Woeltjes – Goulburn Valley 54
Tim McKenzie – Bairnsdale 93

Daryl Logue – Vx 6
Norm Moore – South Australia 7
Normie Moore – South Australia 11
Wayne Logue – Victoria 16
Thomas McDonald – Vx 20
Ricky Mills – Vx 21
Jeremy Pearson – Vx 40
Jeremy Kupsch – Victoria 47
Kasey Garlick – Vx 62
Brett Pope – Vx 64
Kim-loong Gosling – Vx 68
Travis Evans – Vx 77
Todd Hobson – Victoria 89
Bradley Benson – Vx 95
Travis Bergmeier – Victorian 97
Peter Logue – Victoria 98

Natasha Curtis – Bairnsdale 10
Peter Cormack – Bairnsdale 11
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Patrick Farry – Rosedale 13
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Jamie Curtis – Bairnsdale 17
Mark Borkowski – Drouin 17
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Leigh Mitchell – Rosedale 19
Michael Cormack – Bairnsdale 23
Aaron Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Scott Deville – Nyora 24
Russell Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 24
Kane Gibson – Rosedale 41
Steven Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Gordon Russell – Rosedale 54
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 55
Don Fyfe – Bairnsdale 69
Mick Coomer – Drouin 76
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Steven Danks – Rosedale 96
Scott Roberts – Rosedale 98