Super Easter Saturday show at Bairnsdale Speedway

Bairnsdale Speedway fires up one more time for this Speedway season with a Super Easter Saturday show that includes the headlining Sprintcars and several important feature events that includes the Gary Bowden Cup for Wingless Sprints that honours a late and great former clubman, Keith Astrella Memorial for the Compact Speedcars honouring one of their great clubmen and the Easter Classic for Standard Saloons with support from the Division 2 Hot Rods.

Being the last show of the season, the nominations are incredible. Eighty-eight total cars are nominated to compete with Standard Saloons providing the bulk of those numbers accommodating our local sedan racing heroes.

The Gary Bowden Cup still attracts people that knew Gary or might have heard great things about the man. His wife Emma will be in attendance cheering on her friends in the class and just enjoying the moment that so many people care. It is going to be a difficult race to pick a winner in with the great list of racers that could win. Picking a few out we start with Todd Hobson who won the 50 Lapper at Bairnsdale this season, add to that Daryl Logue who just won at Alexandra Speedway two weeks ago. Peter Logue and Wayne Logue are also two others to keep an eye on with all three Logues from Morwell always up the front somewhere.

Chris Temby just finished on the podium in the Victorian title and has sky high confidence whilst Matt Mills could have won our 50 Lapper however due to damage, we will never know, and he is here for redemption. Paul Drew, Scott Irons, Travis Evans, Dillon Siely, the list goes on, one thing for sure the Gary Bowden Cup will be a great race.

In Sprintcar action another driver looking for redemption is Adam Greenwood. Greenwood was leading the last Sprintcar feature at Bairnsdale before a crash in front of him could not be avoided and he suffered damage to his car when he looked comfortable in the lead. Shane Steenholdt, Alistair Bastian, Dillon Siely who is competing in two categories on race night and David McKay another looking for a change of fortune after spinning out of the lead of the race whilst in front of Greenwood at the last show.

Daniel Stewart is back to try and beat another field of tough competition. Standard Saloon racing is at its best in Gippsland and Bairnsdale this season has really turned it on. Daniel’s brother Shane the current Victorian champion is looking to remind his brother of that status this weekend, whilst Mitch Foster returns to Sedan racing after a long layoff, Glen Pendlebury gets back behind the wheel, Rhys Lansdown is in town and last years ‘Club King’ Josh Thomas and the Vuillermin brothers Jacob and Patrick are just some of the entries that will be slicing and dicing for the win.

Our visiting Compact Speedcars will have night two of a double header weekend at Bairnsdale. Racing points that the club is managing combined over the two nights racing will see some great prizemoney paid out to competitors. The Keith Astrella Memorial means a significant amount to the club who dearly miss him. The number one driver in the line-up based on results over the last few seasons is Justin Paull, however Mark Hutchinson, Mark Cecil, Tania Hallett, Andrew Burleigh, Michael Conway, and New South Wales visitor Kyle Sharpe are just some competitors to keep him on his toes. Compact Speedcars is a class with engines such as bike 1050cc two valve, 1000cc multi-valve, two stoke 1060cc and 1430cc car engines.

Closing out the line-up is the Division 2 Hot Rods who two weeks ago held their Victorian title at Bairnsdale. Leigh Mitchell who finished runner up in that event returns with Ricky Low competing for the final time (we think) in the class. Jason Seymour has been showing great speed in recent events and along with Troy Hutchison, Kane Gibson, Rob Tatterson and Peter Disher the class will provide some great racing.

The event is the last Speedway meeting for the season with over 2000 people allowed in.
Tickets are sold online and at the at the gate.
Bairnsdale Speedway is a CASH ONLY venue.

CovidSafe Restrictions will be enforced

The Canteen will be open for food and drinks.

Gates will open to the public from 1pm with racing from 5.30pm. Tickets can be brought online or in cash only from the entry, no card facility available. Adult entry is $20 a head whilst aged pensioners are $15 only Children aged between 12 and 16 enter at $8 each and all children under the age of 12 enter free.

Bairnsdale Speedway Association wishes to thank all their valued supporters;
A1 Septic Tanks
A1 Trailers
A1 Yard Maintenance
Assist A Lift Bairnsdale
ABR 4×4 Bairnsdale
Bairnsdale Automotive & Transmissions
Bairnsdale RSL
Bairnsdale Scrap Metal
Bakers Delight
Boost 2 Drive
Bridgestone Bairnsdale Riviera Tyre Service
Bristol Paint
Buchan Towing
Carpet World
Cheap Tyres Morwell
Clifton Mobile Homes
Craig Riseley Plumbing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roofing
East Gippsland Hire
Eastern Signs
Egap Security
Egee Printers
East Gippsland Locks & Keys
EZ Print
Farm Fodder Direct
Gen-Sol Power Australia
Gillicks Busline
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
Jarvis Norwood
JBI Concreting
M & S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations
Patties Foods
Napier Photography
Phase Link Electrics
RCI Services
Riviera Concrete
SS Auto Wholesalers
SSM Asbestos
Swan Plumbing
Tambo Waste
Tim Bull MP – Member for Gippsland East
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gas fitting
Westpoint Motors
W.G.I Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage

Jason Davis – NSW 4
Paul Drew – Victoria 5
Daryl Logue – VX 6
Matt Mills – VX 12
Wayne Logue – Victoria 16
Bree Hall – VX 27
Adin Robertson – VX 34
Michael Loxton – Victoria 40
Scott Irons – Victoria 52
Phillip Young – VX 58
Kasey Garlick – VX 62
Brett Pope – VX 64
Marc Waddington – VX 76
Travis Evans – VX 77
Todd Hobson – Victoria 83
Dillon Siely – Victoria 87
Renae Eastham – Victoria 88
Christopher Temby – VX 89
Ben Poliansky – VX 95
Peter Logue – Victoria 98

Shane Steenholdt – 5
David Dennison – 15
Jack Van Bremen – 16
Anthony Snow – 24
Michael Evans – 28
Adam Greenwood – 35
Mark Laity – 53
Alistair Bastian – 55
Ethan Bastian – 64
Jordan Abbott – 74
David McKay – 83
Dillon Siely – 87
Craig Tucker – 94
Danny Mayson – 96

Shane Stewart – Victoria 1
Daniel Stewart – Victoria 3
Johnny Watson – Drouin 4
Mitch Foster – Bairnsdale 5
Glen Pendlebury – Bairnsdale 7
Garry Charles – Rosedale 10
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Matt McDermott – Rosedale 13
Craig Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Joe Haley – Rosedale 15
Mark Borkowski – Drouin 17
Ben Sim – Bairnsdale 23
Shannon Overton – Bairnsdale 36
Kane Gibson – Drouin 41
Michael Cormack – Bairnsdale 46
Steven Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Rhys Lansdown – Nyora 47
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 50
Stephen Overton – Bairnsdale 51
Jack Wharton – Bairnsdale 57
Jake Vuillermin – Rosedale 59
Shaun Cormack – Bairnsdale 62
Troy Cormack – Bairnsdale 71
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Bradley Dickson – Nyora 85
Patrick Vuillermin – Rosedale 88
Tim McKenzie – Bairnsdale 92
Luke King – Nyora 96
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 97
Alan Danks – Rosedale 96
Scott Roberts – Rosedale 98

Mark Hutchinson – Victoria 6
Mark Cecil – Victoria 7
Glen Wiles – Victoria 9
Justin Paull – Victoria 12
Tania Hallett – Victoria 15
Andrew Burleigh – Victoria 17
AJ Wiles – Victoria 32
Kyle Sharpe – New South Wales 34
Gavin Cooper – Victoria 34
Duane Cordina – Victoria 41
Aaron Stubbs – Victoria 46
Aaron Bacon – Victoria 56
Michael Conway – Victoria 77

Leigh Mitchell – Victoria 2
Ricky Low – Moe 5
Jason Seymour – Moe 10
Rob Tatterson – Moe 11
Kane Gibson – Moe 18
Peter Disher – Moe 21
Troy Hutchison – Rosedale 74

Ends Release.