Sprintcars back on track at Archerfield


Northern Territory racer Chris Harrison in action at Archerfield. pic: Chris Metcalf

MEDIA RELEASE: After a hectic start to the season that saw Sprintcar teams racing for five consecutive weeks, a much needed break last weekend should see drivers and crews refreshed and ready to rumble in round four of the 2016/2017 Sprintcar Track Championship at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway this Saturday night (October 29).

Another 25+ car field has nominated for competition, including previous round winner Luke Oldfield and defending track champion Andrew Scheuerle.

Whilst Oldfield might rue the break in competition given the great run of form he was enjoying in the weeks prior, the break might prove a godsend for Scheuerle.

Having won round two to move to the top of the series standings, round three proved a complete contrast for Scheurerle as he failed to make any impression and he found himself a lap in arrears at the completion of what was a chaotic feature race.

Scheuerle will have no doubt taken full advantage of the week off to regroup and make the necessary changes to put himself back at the front of the field.

Whilst Oldfield has been the form driver so far this season, there have been several other impressive performers in the early rounds, including Brent Kratzmann and teenager Mitchell Gee.

Kratzmann has finished no worse than fourth in the three track championship rounds completed thus far and was sensational in his surge into second spot in the most recent event two weeks ago.

Having taken over the drive for the Titan Garages team this season, Gee has risen to the challenge to secure podium finishes in the previous two rounds.

Other standouts in the early weeks of the season who will hit the track again this Saturday include Toowoomba’s Peter Lack, Ben Hilder and another couple of young guns in Callum Walker and Jayden Peacock, while the likes of Lachlan McHugh and Kevin Titman are yet to find their best form and will be looking to use this weekend as the first step in their re-emergence as consistent feature race contenders.

Northern Territory racer Chris Harrison returns again this week and will be hoping for a better run of luck than he has enjoyed thus far in his Queensland campaign, with Andrew Liebke, Steven Johnson and Brock Dean making their first appearance for the season.

Compact Speedcars have again promised a big field of cars to continue what has been a strong start to their season.

Not only have there been good car counts each week, but the racing has been of a high quality even though Australian champ Darren Vine remains very hard to beat.

In addition to the usual front runners such as Vine, Rob Stewart and Wayne Corbett, others in the 18-car field to impress so far this season include Dave Collins, Kristin Brown, Nick Gannon and Emma Harris.

After an impressive showing at the first show of the season, AMCA Nationals return with a solid 16-car field for round two of their Shock Absorber Therapy Track Championship.

Victorian titleholder Steve Potts scored a narrow win in round one over Jason Molle and Thomas Vickery with all three drivers resuming their battle this weekend.

After finishing fourth last time, Australian champ Matt Hardy will be looking for an improved result on this occasion, with Jason Dreaver, Matt Hardy and Matt Enders also potential podium placegetters.

Also on Saturday night’s program are Formula 500 Juniors and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma Sedans, with gates opening at 4.00pm with early racing from 4.45pm. Sprintcars hit the track for qualifying from 5.30pm and the main program kicks off at 6.00pm.

Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway Sprintcar Track Championship round four nominations: Andrew Liebke, Andrew Scheuerle, Anthony Lambert, Ben Hilder, Brent Kratzmann, Brett Minett, Brock Dean, Callum Walker, Chris Harrison, Clem Hoffmans, Dan Murray, David Whell, Dylan Menz, James Grady, Jayden Peacock, Kevin Titman, Kristy Bonsey, Lachlan McHugh, Luke Oldfield, Mark Pholi, Mitch Gowland, Mitchell Gee, Peter Lack, Scott Doyle, Steve Greer, Steven Johnson, Wayne Iacono

Compact Speedcar nominations: Kristin Brown, Darren Vine, Barry Gibbes, Dave Collins, Dave Swan, Emma Harris, James Barton, Jayden Mathers, Mark Maczek, Matt ONeill, Mick Hunter, Mitchell Rooke, Nathan Mathers, Nick Gannon, Peter Ashton, Richard Rooke, Rob Stewart, Wayne Corbett

AMCA Nationals nominations: Anthony Joyce, Damien Groer, Darren Gower, Darren Miller, Jason Dreaver, Jason Molle, Leonie Knight, Lewis Gamble, Matt Enders, Matt Hardy, Michael Mason, Nick Storey, Russ Hardy, Stephen Ward, Steve Potts, Thomas Vickery