Speedway in West Gippsland returns this Sunday morning

After a long wait and an aborted attempt to start prior to the last Covid lockdown, Drouin Speedway will finally entertain again this Sunday when the short 2020/2021 season kicks off with a great line-up of Junior Standard Saloon and Open Standard Saloon competitors nominated to compete along with Open Sedans and Ladies Standard Saloons.

The Committee of the Drouin Speedway Club have continued to make lots of improvements to the facility and even brought a little bit of ‘Hollywood’ to the venue with a giant sign in the grass to remind everybody they are at Drouin Speedway, in the style of the famous American landmark. Everything is now pristine and ready to host an eager crowd and new club supporters have contributed to offer up prizes to entice the Junior Sedan racers to come and compete.

Almost twenty Junior Standard Saloon racers are nominated for the big feature event the ‘Melbourne IT Support Junior Jam’ and many of the best drivers are nominated in an event supported by the father of one of the race drivers, joe Otimi whom is the father of Hunter Carey.

Bradin Claridge from Bendigo and Linken Paterson from Melbourne will be in amongst the front runners as will be Drouin’s strongest Junior member of recent seasons Jack Yeoman’s. Matt Shankland, Hunter Carey and Nathan and Maddison Miles along with Zac Barwise have all proven to be on a good pace also.

Open Standard Saloons at Drouin continue to attract impressive numbers in their fields. Twenty plus entrants will do battle to try and win the first Drouin trophy of the season. Jeff Blencowe and Leigh Gooding will renew their battles for club supremacy. They will not have things all their own way, they will have to steer well to defeat the likes of the Clint Walkinshaw, Victor Benson, Andrew, and Ashley Cormack, Darwyn Lee, Mick Coomer, and Bobby Devine. Anything can happen and usually does at Drouin Speedway in Standard Saloons.

Sports Sedan and Unlimited Sedan drivers will be competing in Open Sedans. This will put purpose-built race cars put together on a chassis, with race cars built into a road going Sedan shell. Competition should be interesting with Stan Brown, Ian Page and Anthony McKean against the likes of Ray Gould, Anthony Knight, and Jacob Blencowe.

The Ladies Standard Saloons are currently scheduled, and the programme is subject to change depending on Late nominations in Sports Sedans, Unlimited Sedans and Ladies Standard Saloons.

Gates open from 8.30am. Racing starts at 11am.

Entry will cost $15 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $10 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 to 16 will cost $40.

Drouin Speedway Club acknowledge and thank these wonderful supporters;
Alberni Engineering
Baw Baw Shire
Bottom Pub Bunyip
Bowens Pakenham
Bunyip Bakery
Bunyip Tyre Service
Elite Cranes & Transport
Keena Fencing
Kennards Pakenham
Latrobe Waste & Recycling
Leigh & Anne Gooding
Mepstead Lawyers
Mighty Doors
Miles Mechanical
Melbourne IT Support
Norstar Steel Recyclers
Napier Photography
Nar Nar Goon Automotive
Random Panda Photography
STR8 Bricklaying
TNT Autos
Visual Signage Solutions
Wilkar Constructions

Cooper Joynson – Drouin 6
Tom/Jack Braz – Bairnsdale 11
Nathan Miles – Nyora 12
Jack Yeomans – Rosedale 12
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Cody Drennan – Nyora 20
Beau Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 24
Nathalya Westwood – Rosedale 28
Zac Barwise – Colac 32
Sharni Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 32
Matt Shankland – Nyora 46
Tasharni Murray – Drouin 48
Harry Cecil – Nyora 56
Bradin Claridge – Wangaratta 65
Linken Paterson – Alexandra 69
Chloe Coomer – Drouin 76
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Tegan Bullard – Alexandra 4
Jemima Borkowski – Drouin 13
Sharlene Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78

Clint Walkinshaw – Drouin 5
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Craig Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Mark Borkowski – Drouin 17
Matt Leek – Nyora 19
Wayne Tooze – Drouin 22
Aaron Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 23
Aaron Evans – Drouin 24
Victor Benson – Drouin 26
Ben Grey – Drouin 37
Wayne Gibson – Drouin 41
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Steven Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Anthony Murray – Drouin 48
Shaun Cormack – Bairnsdale 62
Mick Coomer – Drouin 76
Garry Charles – Rosedale 79
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Ash Dean – Nyora 95
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 97

VSC OPEN SEDANS (Unlimiteds & Sports Sedans)
Anthony Knight – Nagambie 19
Stan Brown – Drouin 23
Mick Evans – Nyora 31
Ray Gould – Nyora 37
Gavan Dorain – Rosedale 49
Ian Page – Redline 72
Anthony McKean – Rosedale 83
Jacob Blencowe – Drouin 90

Ends Release.