SpeedSport Scholarship prize package boosted by American F4 test

Entries for the 2018 SpeedSport Star of Tomorrow Motor Racing Scholarship are now open and the stakes are even higher this year with the inclusion of a Formula 4 test to the prize package.

The Scholarship has produced some of New Zealand’s most successful drivers including 2016 Supercars champion Shane van Gisbergen, Supercars driver Richie Stanaway and 2017 SuperGT Champion Nick Cassidy.

More recently recipients of the Scholarship have included Australian Formula 4 runner-up Liam Lawson and current recipient Conrad Clark who has a commanding lead in the NZ Formula First Rookie of the Year title and is a dark horse in the outright championship chase.

Clark recently announced he will head to America once the NZ Formula First season wraps to contest the USA Formula 4 Championship with Kiwi Motorsport. His announcement comes off the back of a new partnership with the SpeedSport Scholarship and Kiwi Motorsport which will see this year’s recipient offered a free test with Kiwi Motorsport in America.

Entrants will be put through their paces during an evaluation on the 18th and 19th of May before the finalists will be selected to compete for the scholarship on the 20th of May.

The winner will receive a years-long program where they will hone their skills on track and off track to become ‘the complete package’. The program includes a free drive in the Manfeild Winter Series and the Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship, totalling in 12 events across all North Island circuits.

Along with the offer of a Formula 4 test with Kiwi Motorsport, the winner will be given networking opportunities and promotional support including a full social media management package.

New Zealand’s leading race gear manufacturer and supplier Chicane Racewear will provide the winner with custom race overalls, boots, gloves and Arai helmet.

Entry forms are available at http://www.speedsportscholarship.co.nz/entry-form/

Previous Winners

2001 Nic Jordan
2002 Josh Hart
2003 Mark Russ
2004 Shane van Gisbergen
2005 Andrew Waite
2006 Alastair Wootten
2007 Richie Stanaway
2008 Nick Cassidy
2009 Aaron Hodgson
2010 Hayden Pedersen
2011 Malcolm Finch
2012 Aaron Marr
2013 James Webb
2014 Brook Reeve
2015 Liam Lawson
2016 Dylan Smith
2017 Conrad Clark