SA Wingless crown on the line

A field of over 45 drivers will take to the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway clay this Saturday night (February 20) to decide the 2021 South Australian Wingless Sprint Champion. With the 2020 edition falling victim to the COVID-19 pandemic, it will be the first time the Championship has been conducted since 2019 when Victorian’s Daniel and Luke Storer defeated Joel Chadwick in an exciting finish at Murray Bridge.

Despite the absence of the defending Champion the field is still stacked with talent including three-time South Australian State Champion Joel Chadwick. In addition to his South Australian Title victories Chadwick has also claimed the Australian Championship on two occasions and the New South Wales Title and he would love nothing more than to regain the #1 on the tail tank.

The nomination list also includes several other drivers who have tasted State Championship success or who have placed in State Championship events including former Australian Champion Alex Ross, former New South Wales State Champion Jason Bates, Northern Territory Champ Troy Carey, Victorian Champion Glen Watts, former Australia #2 Luke Weel, Mark Blyton, Joel Heinrich. Keke Falland and Robert Heard therefore it is clearly one of the toughest fields ever seen for the SA Title.

But the talent does not stop there as the list of potential winners goes on and on. Rookie racer Ryan Alexander is no stranger to winning big events in a variety of classes and he is the most recent Wingless Sprint A-Main victor at Murray Bridge defeating Joel Chadwick in a classic main event on Australia Day. The strong South Australian contingent also includes Mount Gambier’s Mitch Broome and Kirby Hillyer, Anthony Tapley, Jack McCarthy, Hayden Vickers, Jake Ashworth, Rhys Heinrich and Brett Ireland so there is a good chance the Title will return home.

The remaining interstate travellers includes Victorians Harry Ross, Greg Bishop, Wayne Logue, Luke Schneider, Michael McDonald, Jason Bolitho and Geoff Cook while Jack Gray will tow from New South Wales.

The South Australian Championship kicks off a big week for the Wingless Sprints as they will return to the Murray Machining & Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway on February 27 for the rescheduled 60 Lapper.

The South Australian Wingless Sprint Championship Winners List: 2009 – Rory Button, 2010 – Todd Wigzell, 2011 – Scott Bogucki, 2012 – Scott Bogucki, 2013 – Todd Wigzell, 2014 – Todd Wigzell, 2015 – Jarman Dalitz, 2016 – Joel Chadwick, 2017 – Joel Chadwick, 2018 – Joel Chadwick, 2019 – Daniel Storer (Vic), 2020 – Not Held, 2021 – ???