Redline Raceway season opening this Saturday night in Ballarat

Ballarat’s home of motorsport Redline Raceway kicks off the new season this Saturday with local club racers given an opportunity to compete as club classes Street Stocks, Unlimited Sedans, and Standard Saloons providing that opportunity whilst the Grand Prix Midgets return to Redline with round two of their state series attracting a dozen entrants from the Goulburn Valley, Eastern Melbourne, and Geelong.

Whilst the Grand Prix Midgets are the only class with a series round or blue-ribbon feature event, the Sedans will dish up no shortage of action with everybody wanting to win at Redline no matter the occasion. The Street Stocks line-up includes Hayden Glare whom recently tasted success at Wangaratta, and he will be up against a host of top competitors that include Paul Domburg, Shaun Henry, Jason Degoldi, Peter Kinnear, Jayden Blomeley, Nathan Fawns, Rhys Meakins and visiting South Australian Kye Richardson looking to get amongst it.

Fresh off his round one victory at Rushworth, Chris Fowler leads the Midgets back to Redline with series points leader and last year’s champion Alex Myers hot on his heels. Peter Robotham who showed speed at Rushworth, Terry Brown, and the returning Paul Perry are just some of the competitors to watch in the little flying machines with mostly 1000 to 1100cc engines.

Austin Chivers, Lachie Chivers and Patrick Walsh all had great seasons at Swan Hill last year in Standard Saloons, they are keen to start this year with the ‘W’ in the books at their local raceway and competition will be tough. Jacob Head had a win last year and is keen to do so again whilst Andrew Cormack from Bairnsdale mixes it in the top half of the field against strong Gippsland racers on a regular basis. Watch for those drivers in particular.

At the time of writing the entry list for the Unlimited Sedans is small, a few cars are still yet to be ready for the season and others have copped some damage in the couple of race meetings that have already been run. Sean Lister is very tough to beat and is the favourite going into Saturday night, whilst Graeme Nugent and Ian Page are legends by sport longevity, and they will be keen on having a fun night out.

Racing begins at 4:00pm finishing at 10:30 at 569 Yankee Flat Road Buninyong. Adult Tickets are $30 each with Children aged from 6 to 16 at $7 and aged and invalid pensioners $25. A family ticket will cost $65 for two adults and three children whilst any child aged five and under are free. Drivers and Crew Pit Levy is $30.

The venue is a permitted alcohol venue, no BYO allowed under law. Contact for information 0418 399 917.

Belmont Speedway Drivers Club would like to thank their wonderful supporters;
Wren Diesel
Colac Wreckers
PP Design & Signs
IPTA Fibreglass
Daimler Trucks Ballarat
Australian Racing Products
Billy Grist Earthworks
JP Automotive
Mobile Sandblasting & Painting
Norman St Automotive
Panther Tyres Lara
Ararat Ford
United Forklift & Access Solutions
Ballarat Bin Hire
UBC Web Design
Power FM
PR Fittings
Crowies Paints
DMT Sports Media
LEEJAY Trailers
Dean Miller Photography
Startech Windows
Rusty Cars Downunder
Allsport Trophies Geelong

Jack Ward – Victoria 4
Matt Kamolins – Victoria 5
Daniel Meredith – Victoria 8
Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
Alex Myers – Victoria 11
Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
Johnny Rouse – Victoria 32
Paul Perry – Victoria 36
Shawn Ward – Victoria 44
Peter Robotham – Victoria 50
Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81
Terry Brown – Victoria 88

Paul Domburg – Portland 15
Shaun Henry – Ballarat 23
Jamie Crutchley _ Warrnambool 25
Jason Degoldi – Redline 27
Ash Fox – Geelong 29
Peter Kinnear – Warrnambool 35
Ron Davey – Ballarat 36
Josh Davey – Ballarat 38
Purdie Motorsport – Redline 39 (Driver TBC)
Leigh Gooding – Drouin 41
Ryan Watts – Warrnambool 55
Jayden Blomeley – Ballarat 62
Troy Blomeley – Ballarat 64
Kye Richardson – Murray Bridge 72
Dean Whatmore – Ballarat 84
Rhys Meakins – Wangaratta 85
Michael Sefton – Redline 87
Nathan Fawns – Redline 87
Steven Hardie – Nyora 94
Hayden Glare – Swan Hill 96

Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 11
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Austin Chivers – Ballarat 19
Sammii Paterson – Ballarat 31
Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Chloe Graham – Ballarat 74
Lachie Chivers – Ballarat 79
Liz Hardie – Nyora 94
Luke Head – Ballarat 94
Jacob Head – Ballarat 96
Bradley Sheppard – Ballarat 99

Sean Lister – Redline 4
Graeme Nugent – Ballarat 27
Tim Williams – Geelong 46
Gavin Ough – Geelong 55
Ian Page – Redline 72

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson