Quadruple World Champion Yvan Muller strengthens Polestar Cyan Racing in Qatar WTCC season finale

The Polestar Cyan Racing line-up in the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship season finale in Qatar will be strengthened by quadruple World Champion, Yvan Muller, who will take the seat of the third Volvo S60 Polestar TC1.

“I am glad to be back racing again after working hard together with the team during this season to get us in a double points lead ahead of the final race weekend. My objective is to help Thed become driver’s World Champion and support Polestar Cyan Racing to deliver the team World Championship. It is going to be tough, but I have no doubt that we have what it takes to accomplish that in Qatar,” said Yvan Muller.

The Frenchman, who is development driver and senior advisor for Polestar Cyan Racing, will replace Néstor Girolami in Qatar while the Argentinian focuses on development work ahead of 2018 as he is not involved in the drivers’ title fight.

“I have accepted to give my place to Yvan. He is a legendary driver with more experience of the circuit in Qatar than me which will be vital in the very close season finale. I look forward to continue our work ahead of 2018 and will follow the season finale closely,” said Néstor Girolami.

Muller will bring invaluable experience to the team, having raced in Qatar before, as well as being the most successful WTCC driver ever, claiming the 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2013 titles.

“Néstor has done a great job this season and we are very grateful for his efforts. A key part of optimising our strategy for the season finale is to bring in the most experienced and successful WTCC driver possible – Yvan Muller. His input this year has been invaluable and we look forward to seeing him behind the wheel, offering Polestar Cyan Racing the best possible chance of claiming a double World Title,” said Alexander Murdzevski Schedvin, Head of Motorsport at Polestar.

Polestar Cyan Racing is in a double championship lead ahead of the season finale later this week with Thed Björk heading main rival Norbert Michelisz by 6.5 points and Polestar Cyan Racing leading Honda by 12.5 points.

Facts – Yvan Muller
Lives: Altkirch, France
Born: 16 August 1969
2016 – WTCC – 2nd
2015 – WTCC – 2nd
2014 – WTCC – 2nd
2013 – WTCC – Champion
2012 – WTCC – 3rd
2011 – WTCC – Champion
2010 – WTCC – Champion
2009 – WTCC – 2nd
2008 – WTCC – Champion
2007 – Andros Trophy – Champion
2007 – WTCC – 2nd
2006 – Andros Trophy – Champion
2005 – Andros Trophy – Champion
2005 – BTCC – 2nd
2004 – BTCC – 2nd
2003 – Andros Trophy – Champion
2003 – BTCC – Champion
2002 – Andros Trophy – Champion
2002 – BTCC – 2nd
2001 – Andros Trophy – Champion
2001 – BTCC – 2nd
2000 – Andros Trophy – Champion
1999 – Andros Trophy – Champion
1998 – Andros Trophy – Champion
1997 – Andros Trophy – Champion
1996 – Andros Trophy – Champion
1995 – French Supertouring Championship – Champion
1994 – French Supertouring Championship – 3rd
1992 – Formula 2 UK – Champion