Millar’s end of season joy

Last weekend’s doubleheader at Horsham’s Blue Ribbon Raceway marked the end of the 2018-19 season for the Victorian Wingless Sprints and it was Travis Millar who outdrove his rivals to claim the victory.

Despite Sunday night’s feature race being cut short due to heavy rainfall, Millar had continued his dominant form, setting himself up to score back to back victories, having been leading the weekend’s second feature race when the decision was made to bring the event to a close.

Adding another feature-race win to his season tally, Millar hit his marks throughout the 26-lap distance on Saturday night, going on to claim what was a convincing win ahead of South Australian driver Kirby Hillyer, who delivered a solid performance to come home in the runner-up spot, creating a decent gap to third-place finisher Jeremy Beddison.

Next to greet the chequered flag was Marcus Green, followed by Luke Cole who rounded out the top five. Remaining feature-race finishers were Luke Schneider, Anthony McMillan (SA), Robert Whiteside, Kelvin Johnson, Travis Beasley (SA), Greg Bishop, Brayden Parr, Jake Warren, Ben Poliansky and Ray Klemm. Millar’s End of Season Joy

Feature-race casualties included Adam Smith, Brad Beasley (SA) and Blake Walsh, while Jason Bolitho (SA) and Geoff Cook were unable to complete a single lap.

Throughout the weekend, a total of nine drivers experienced success in their heat races, with Cole (x 2) and Millar (x 2) being the only drivers to double up with two wins apiece. Other heat-race wins went the way of Green, McMillan, Travis Beasley, Bolitho, Schneider, Walsh and Brad Beasley.

Green was the best in Saturday night’s B main to claim the first transfer spot into the feature race, along with Smith, Brad Beasley, Walsh, Schneider and Bolitho, while Bishop took the win in Sunday night’s B main, followed by fellow feature-race transferees Warren, Bolitho and McMillan, only to have the night brought to a premature end.

With the 2018-19 season now over, the Victorian Wingless Sprints are looking forward to their annual presentation night, which is set to take place at the Geelong Football Club on the Saturday night of June 21. Tickets can be purchased by visiting the following link:

For more information about the Victorian Wingless Sprints, visit their website at or you can LIKE them on Facebook or FOLLOW them on Instagram or Twitter by searching Victorian AWSR Wingless Sprintcars.