Marino scores Sydney spoils

Marino Scores Sydney Spoils

pic: Gary Reid

During last Saturday night’s latest Western Sydney Street Stocker Club Championship round at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway, Chris Marino proved unstoppable, remaining unbeaten throughout the event and coming away with the top feature-race honours.

Despite lining up on the outside of the front row alongside pole-sitter Shaun Davoodi for the feature race, it was Marino who powered into the early lead, making the most of his start to immediately take over first place at the drop of the green flag and remaining out in front for the full 20-lap distance to claim a well-deserved win.

After being pipped by Marino off the starting line, Davoodi continued to chase down the race leader throughout the duration but was unable to get close enough to launch an attack, being forced to settle for the runner-up-spot ahead of Troy Dawes, who was pleased to round out the podium in just his third outing aboard his new car, having started out of position four.

Shannon Alexander was the next to cross the finish line, followed by Jay Davey, who did extremely well to come away with a top-five finish after starting the feature race deep in the field in position 15 aboard the Chris Campbell-owned car.

The top-10 finishers included Butch Dawes, Blake Eveleigh, Sean Isherwood, Blake Milton and Ray Tyler, the latter of whom made up a whopping 11 positions to place 10th, while Matt Hope, Dave Hamilton, Charlie Dodson, Mark Alexander, Jarrett Dryburgh and Patrick Molan were the remaining feature-race finishers.

No less than eight drivers had their feature-race hopes dashed with premature retirements, the most heartbreaking of which had to be Steve Walsh, who had won both of his heat races to earn an inside second row starting position for the feature race, only to experience a massive rollover on the opening lap after hitting a rut in the track. Thankfully he emerged unharmed.

Joining Walsh on the infield were Chrissy Basford, who was experiencing her first ever outing, Blake Doyle, Mitch Brown, Mat Alexander, Stephen Kurtz, Steven Sharpe and Huey Vanderveen.

Despite there being six heat races throughout the night, only three winners emerged, with Walsh, Davoodi and Marino collecting two wins apiece.

The Western Sydney Street Stockers will next be in action this Saturday night with their final Club Championship round at Valvoline Raceway.

To find out more about the Western Sydney Street Stockers Club, LIKE them on Facebook by searching Westernsydney Street Stockers.