Jones perfect night as he wins the Rumble on the Rock season opener

Dennis Jones started his Victorian season with a rare perfect night of racing in the Victorian Sprintcar Association Rumble at the Rock supported by Riviera Tyre Service, Westpoint Motors, Riviera Concrete, Dennison’s Quality Roofing Restorations and EZ Print where $5000 was up for grabs to win the thirty-five-lap feature event.

Jones was outstanding as he won the Dennis Jones Engineering and Buchan Towing supported time trial to start his night before winning his front of the field and reverse start heat races and the pole position shootout to claim a pole position start spot before leading all thirty-five laps to beat Jett Bell new to the Victorian Sprintcar Association version of Sprintcar racing, Steven Horton, Koby Noonan, Jack Van Bremen and Tommy McDonald.

In the feature event Adam Greenwood whilst in second place was the first of fancied competitors to pull out of the running whilst Nigel Laity the current Victorian champion didn’t get to start the event due to issues with his car, the same for Kyle Stathopoulos. Contact in between turn three and four between David Dennison and Dillon Siely put them both out of the big event whilst Horton, Noonan Alistair Bastian and Justin Barton had a ripper battle for places third to around sixth for much of the race.

Through traffic Bell crept closer to Jones on occasions and dragged himself and Bastian closer to the leader with Bastian almost securing second spot before also failing to finish the race heading infield. Jones went on to win by a margin of .738 from Bell.

Earlier, Jones won some Brad Penn Racing Oil Product, and Esky’s during the Time trials after he set a time of 13.536 to claim maximum points ahead of Horton, Greenwood, Barton, Noonan and Siely whom all set times below fourteen seconds with just .445 of a second separating first to sixth in the session.

In heat racing Jones won his first heat from the front row ahead of Greenwood, Bell, Noonan, Laity, McDonald, Van Bremen. Horton won the second heat also from the front row from Barton by a huge three seconds. Siely, and Bastian finished whilst Kim Gosling one of the rookies with Ian Gosling and Brett Milburn in his crew was amongst the drivers who didn’t finish as his car slammed into the turn three wall damaging the front end.

David Dennison was a popular third heat winner from the front of the field holding off Bastian by just .276 of a second. Bell finished third from Greenwood, Rod Dennison, and McDonald whilst Horton failed to complete the race. Jones then won the final heat race coming from a reverse grid position to beat Noonan, Barton, Gosling, and Van Bremen.

The Victorian Sprintcar Association wish to thank event supporters that include
The Bairnsdale Speedway Association
Dennison’s Quality Roof Restoration
Riviera Tyre Service
Riviera Concrete
EZ Print
Westpoint Motors


Dennis Jones Engineering – Brad Penn Racing Oil distributor
Buchan Towing

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson