Its time for Bairnsdale family motorsport fun again

This Saturday night for the first time since the Covid Pandemic turned the world upside down, Bairnsdale Speedway Club will host a race meeting allowing families and friends to get out together in the open atmosphere and breath in and hear the sights and sounds of racing with Sprintcars, Unlimited Sedans, Junior Sedans and a Ladies Standard Saloon feature event the headline events of the show.

Sprintcar racing is the Formula 1 of dirt track racing and the Sprintcar boys with their flying machines headline the show wherever they go. Shane Steenholdt has been exceedingly difficult to beat in the last couple of seasons winning many race events. His competitors though are a terrific list of drivers more than capable of pulling off the big win, Mark Noonan, Justin Barton, David McKay, Dillon Siely to name just a few. With most cars competing with near to or over 600hp, 16 cars on track at the same time often inches apart is exhilarating to watch.

The Ladies Curtis Engineering Standard Saloon Switch feature is a welcome event added to the season’s schedule and with support from local business entity Curtis Engineering. Some rookie Ladie racers have been enticed to strap in to go racing and some of the already well-known speedsters are set to do battle. Tracey Ingram, Sarah Price, Natasha Curtis, Felicity Roycroft, Mel Tatterson and Kate Stuchbery are amongst the nominated with Ingram having been at the top end of the talent in Ladies Standard Saloons for years being the benchmark in this event.

Roycroft has been racing in Queensland and finishing feature race events in podium spots in gender neutral events and is most definitely gunning for a win in a race sponsored by her family friends, she just must get out of Queensland and back in there first. Regardless of who is at the front of the race it will be a tremendous event for the Ladies this Saturday.

Bairnsdale Speedway later in the season will host the Unlimited Sedan Victorian title, this weekend they will compete in a Victorian state aggregate event with an entry list headed by Victorian Champion Warrick Taylor, Lennie Bonnici the current Victoria 2 driver and other fierce combinations in this Sedan class that compete with any sized engine, allowing Chevrolet V8 crate and modified engines up against Ford Barra 6-cylinder engines.

Peter Cox is one of the fast six-cylinder races continually getting his power to weight package right when he hits the track and giving some heavier cars a hurry up. Trent Susol is another competitor exciting to watch as will Frank Ramsdale, Johnny Young from Sale, Daniel Unternahrer, Troy Hutchinson from Latrobe Valley and Bob Price and his V8 powered FJ Holden will be a crowd favourite.

A Boost 2 Drive supported Junior Standard Saloon feature event bringing awareness to young drivers and driver safety is another feature event for the evening. Jack Yeomans the Victoria 4 ranked driver leads a strong list of competitors for this event with Blake Smith, Nathan Miles, Maddison Miles, Owen & Harry Cecil, and Damon Ingram all strong competitors coming from out of town. Expect Damon Ingram and Owen Cecil to really apply the pressure on Yeoman’s who will be keen to start the season off strongly in his first event of the year.

Supporting all our feature events will be the Standard Saloon class for men. Last season Joshua Thomas was sensational winning event after event. The line-up this Saturday night is strong again with Mark Miles, Andrew Cormack, Col Yeomans, Ashley Cormack, and Kacey Ingram among those challenging Thomas. With twenty plus drivers in the field, you can never be certain of results, however it will take a lot to knock off Thomas after last season’s results.

To tick all the governmental requirements and get this event off the ground the Bairnsdale Speedway club ask that patrons follow the protocols in place such as bring a Mobile Phone so you can scan a QR code and sign in your carload as attending. Citizens with any of the Covid Symptoms are asked to stay home. Everybody is asked to bring a mask and wear it when social distancing cannot be maintained, that includes interacting with others in the crowd or queuing at the Canteen. We ask that you limit your movement around the venue once seated in a viewing spot to mitigate any potential risk. Replacement masks will be available on sale at the Speedway.

Gates will open to the public from 1pm with racing from 5.30pm. Tickets from the entry gate in cash only, no card facility available. Adult entry is $20 a head whilst aged pensioners only is at $15. Children aged between 12 and 16 enter at $8 each and all children under the age of 12 enter free.

Bairnsdale Speedway Club wish to thank all their valued supporters;
A1 Septic Tanks
A1 Trailers
A1 Yard Maintenance
Assist A Lift Bairnsdale
Bairnsdale Automotive & Transmissions
Bairnsdale RSL
Bairnsdale Scrap Metal
Bakers Delight
Boost 2 Drive
Bridgestone Bairnsdale Riviera Tyre Service
Bristol Paint
Buchan Towing
Craig Riseley Plumbing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roofing
East Gippsland Hire
Eastern Signs
Egee Printers
East Gippsland Locks & Keys
EZ Pint
Farm Fodder Direct
Gillicks Busline
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
Jarvis Norwood
JBI Concreting
M & S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations
Napier Photography
Phase Link Electrics
RCI Services
Riviera Concrete
SS Auto Wholesalers
SSM Asbestos
Swan Plumbing
Tambo Waste
Tim Bull MP – Member for Gippsland East
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gasfitting
Westpoint Motors
W.G.I Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage

Nominations for this Saturday Night at Bairnsdale are;

Natasha Curtis – Bairnsdale 10
Heather McKean – Bairnsdale 12
Lisa McInnes – Bairnsdale 13
Cassandra Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Sammie Broome – Bairnsdale 19
Mel Tatterson – Rosedale 61
Tracey Ingram – Nyora 76
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Sarah Price – Nyora 88

Blake Smith – Moe 10
Kaine Smith – Moe 11
Nathan Miles – Nyora 12
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Jackie Anne Angus – Nyora 19
Beau Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 24
Jack Yeomans – Rosedale 24
Owen Cecil -Nyora 30
Sharni Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 32
Zac Barwise – Colac 32
Harry Cecil – Nyora 56
Chase Ingram – Nyora 67
Deon Fyfe – Bairnsdale 69
NY76 Damon Ingram
Barkway Racing – Rosedale 83
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Shane Steenholdt – 5
David Dennison – 15
Jack Van Bremen – 16
Mitch Sutej – 18
Koby Noonan – 26
Michael Evans – 28
Steve McIntyre – 38
Jeremy Kupsch- 47
Shaun Lyness – 49
Ethan Bastian – 64
David McKay – 83
Justin Barton – 86
Dillon Seily – 87
Trent Nielson – 88
Andrew Nielson – 90
Craig Tucker – 94
Danny Mayson- 96
Mark Noonan – 98

Warrick Taylor – Victoria 1/Nyora
Lennie Bonnici – Victoria 2/Nagambie
Bob Price – Nyora 7
Trent Susol – Redline 7
Frank Ramsdale – Nyora 9
Stan Brown – Drouin 23
Daniel Angus – Nyora 24
Johnny Young – Rosedale 25
Peter Cox – Nagambie 62
Troy Hutchinson – Rosedale 74
Darren Kolar – Rosedale 82
Anthony McKean – Rosedale 83
Daniel Unternahrer – Alexandra 86
Travis Ramsdale – Travis Ramsdale 99

Troy Cormack – Bairnsdale 7
Peter Cormack – Bairnsdale 11
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Mark Miles – Nyora 12
Col Yeomans – Rosedale 12
Ashley/Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Craig Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Miles Motorsport – Nyora 18
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Leigh Mitchell – Rosedale 19
Michael Cormack – Bairnsdale 23
Shannon Overton – Bairnsdale 36
Russell Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 42
Kacey Ingram – Nyora 43
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Steven Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 50
Stephen Overton – Bairnsdale 51
Allan Cormack- Bairnsdale 62
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Anthony Sgroi – Nyora 88
Justin Smith – Moe 93
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 97

Ends Release