Huge carnival night speedway show at Wangaratta City Raceway coming up

This Saturday night two weeks after the first show of the season, Wangaratta City Raceway will deliver yet another big, big race event with not one, but three major feature events, all on a Carnival night show with activities and food around the venue to keep the young and the young at heart busy.

On the back of a near packed facility at the first show of the season, a race night with features for the three biggest race classes in the North East of Victoria should lock in your plans for this weekend with plenty of action on track.

The ‘Burson’s Wangaratta Stampede’ for Production Sedan has competitors from New South Wales, Victoria and Canberra all nominated to compete for $1000 to win, whilst the Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association ‘Jabek Transport Invitational’ should be a hard-fought race after the class Victorian title event due for Swan Hill last Saturday night was cancelled due to the state lockdown. Whilst Standard Saloons will compete in the ‘Country Concrete Showdown’ feature also and Grand Prix Midgets, Sports Sedans, and Junior Sedans complete a packed programme.

In Production Sedan racing Raymond Ussher who won in Sports Sedans in the first show of the season, converts his car back to Production specifications and will try to go back-to-back with wins. It will not be easy however with former national champion and Wangaratta local Chris Lack and a pair of drivers both of whom have been national champion twice in the field, Trevor Mills from Corowa, and Stephen Laidlaw from Gippsland. Then add in half a dozen other drivers that could be in the final fight for victory, we dare not try to pick a winner.

In Standard Saloons Brendon Eames who won the first final of the season a fortnight ago, has a target on his back now that he has chalked up a ‘W’. Michael Poole, Wayne Sheerman who looked the likely winner early last meeting, Trevor Evans in his Nissan Skyline Station Wagon and the visiting Blencowe team from West Gippsland of Jeff and Mitchell Blencowe are all terrific racers. Jeff Blencowe won some seriously big races in Gippsland last year at Nyora and Drouin and is sure to figure at the finish.

In the Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association feature event, Ross Maclean from Corowa has been the dominant driver for a long time, it is hard to look past Maclean for the victory based on history. With Wangaratta members Nathan Shortis and Tom Barnard in the line-up plus Justin Brockley, Wayne O’Keefe, Chelsea Cornelius, and Jamie Atkin, they are the drivers that media feel might be in the mix come the final laps.

The Grand Prix Midgets on Sunday thought they were racing at Rushworth; come Sunday night they were swapped over to Wangaratta just two weeks after their Victorian title. Chris Carr from Wangaratta will be looking for redemption after his title race was cut short by mechanical failure. The new Victorian champion Louis Rodriguez returns two weeks after winning his title at Wangaratta and so does Janelle Saville who was the darling of the show qualifying pole position for the title, she travels in from the Goulburn New South Wales area.

The Sports Sedans, Junior Sedans and Ladies Sedans will also present terrific competition.

Entry Fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged 6 through to 16, children under 6 free.

The gates to the public open from Midday and racing begins from 5pm.

On site canteen and bar facilities and strictly no BYO

Wangaratta Speedway Club wishes to acknowledge and thank their supporters including;
Burson Auto Parts
Country Concrete
Edge FM
Jabek Transport
Kore Concreting
Keam Fertiliser
North East Fasteners
Robinson Truck Repairs
Rouse Transport
Snap-On Albury
Solimo Towing
Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
Ussher Plumbing and Concreting
Wangaratta Spring Works

Jamie Atkins – Leeton 12
Wayne O’Keefe – Corowa 15/62
Stuart Balins – Corowa 22
Ross Maclean – Corowa 27
Justin Brockley – Corowa 52
Nathan Shortis – Wangaratta 55
Tom Barnard – Wangaratta 69
Steve McDonald – Leeton 72
Chelsea Cornelius – Corowa 76
Sid Davey – Corowa 94

Andre Meunier – Rosedale 6
Joel Copeland – Corowa 23
Darren Shortis – Corowa 55
Fleur Heiner – Mount Beauty 61
Matthew Brooks – Wangaratta 65
James Guppy – Wangaratta 66
Jackson Barneveld – Alexandra 68
Lachlan Cummins – Mount Beauty 69

Marcus Maclean – Corowa 7
Riley Balins – Corowa 21
Michael Sayers – Mount Beauty 69

Warrick Howie – Corowa 8
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Mitchell Blencowe – Drouin 10
Adam Brezovnik – Corowa 13
Brendon Eames – Corowa 16
Keith Cattermole – Corowa 17
Micheal Fleming – Robertson – Corowa 18
Michael Poole – Corowa 41
Brendan D’Amico – Wangaratta 66
Trevor Evans – Wangaratta 67
Wayne Sheerman – Alexandra 69
Bianca Ballantyne – Wangaratta 89

Doc Bailey – ACT 4
Chris Lack – Wangaratta 4
Scott Hawkins – Leeton 5
Trevor Mills – Gilgandra 10
Jamie Atkin – Leeton 12
Chris Fitzgerald – Corowa 14
Alex Cheney – Wagga 16
Rodney Anderson – ACT 17
Jack Bear – Corowa 19
Stephen Laidlaw – Rosedale 30
Craig McAlister – ACT 32
Sean Alessi – ACT 37
Johnny Ralph – Moruya – 49
Justin Hawkins – Leeton 56
Brendon Harper – Wangaratta 58
Mat D’Annunzio – ACT 67
Sean Rabbitte – ACT 71
Raymond Ussher – Wangaratta 98

Louis Rodriguez – Victoria 1/47
Janelle Saville – NSW 2
Chris Carr – Victoria 3
Jack Ward – Victoria 4
Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
Matt Kamolins – Victoria 22
Tim Goss – Victoria 33
David Bacon – NSW 36
Shawn Ward – Victoria 44
Ashley Booker – Victoria 50
Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81
Terry Brown – Victoria 88