Honda sincerely thanks Paul Free for an incredible 15-year partnership

Paul Free, the man behind Honda’s factory racing effort for the last 15 years is ‘hanging up the leathers’ at the end of 2017.

Free initially began in-house at Honda in 2002 where he ran the factory road race team. In 2007 he and wife Laura created Motologic and the company continued to run the road racing team from their premises in Campbellfield, adding the off-road component of Motocross and Supercross in 2015.

The end of 2017 will see Motologic close its doors and the Frees will look to new ventures for 2018.

Honda would like to give thanks to Paul and wish him an abundance of good fortune in his next venture.

“It has been a privilege to work with Paul for the last 15 years, his hard work and dedication to the team and to racing are second to none and we can’t thank him enough for everything he has done for Honda’s factory effort here in Australia.” Said Glyn Griffiths, Brand and Motorsports Manager, Motorcycles Division at Honda Australia.

“His loyalty to the brand is commendable and the many successes Honda has had over the years in racing are a testament to Paul and his staff, their work ethic and drive to win” Griffiths added.

Those many successes include back to back Australian Superbike championships won by Troy Herfoss in 2015 and 2016, marking 2016 as the teams 3rd overall win in a row. In 2014 the team won the Australasian Superbike Championship and took all 3 podium positions in one of their most successful seasons to date with Wayne Maxwell, Jamie Stauffer and Troy Herfosss.

In 2008 the team took the Superbike Championship title with Glenn Allerton and in 2004 and 2005 they won 2 Supersport and Superbike Championships and 2 Manufacturer’s Cups back to back with Adam Fergusson and Josh Brookes respectively. In 2004 Josh Brookes also won the Phillip Island round of the WSS championship entered by Honda Australia as a wildcard.

“In the time I have run Honda’s factory team we have enjoyed huge success. I am really proud of what we have achieved, we have won so many championships along the way with the various riders and machines.” Said Free.

“I have worked with some amazing people over the years and it is these people that have really contributed to our success. To name a few, Laura my wife, always there for me through thick and thin. Glyn Griffiths and Tony Hinton at Honda have been there from my initial job interview at Honda back in 2002, these guys unwavering support has been a life line at times. Garry House was there when it all started and he was my rock for 5 or 6 years. Luke Spence, a fantastic person and tech. Shaun Clarke has been with me since starting in-house at Honda and has now developed into one of the best technicians in the country. Shaun’s knowledge and ability to think through problems is unsurpassed. Our support staff at the track have been invaluable; Glenn Granger has been with the team since the mid 2000’s, Dan Williams since 2010, both fantastic technicians that are just so focused, totally committed to the cause.” Free added.

Although Motologic won’t be in operation after 2017, the team is still 100% committed to the program for the remainder of the 2017 season in the ASBK Superbike Championship and Supercross series.

“Our determination to succeed is unwavering and is fuelled by the invaluable support of our sponsors and team supporters. A huge thanks must go out to our current and past sponsors and supporters of which there are way too many to list. None of our successes would have been possible without your help” Said Free.

Again, Honda sincerely thanks Paul, Laura and staff for their service and is proud to note your achievements will forever remain in Honda’s motorcycling history. Thank-you Freebie!

Honda would also like to acknowledge the achievements of all riders who worked and raced under Paul Free over the last 15 years; thank you for your contribution to Team Honda Racing.

Road team

Shannon Johnson
Adam Fergusson
Josh Brookes
Kirk McCarthy
Judd Greedy
Bryan Staring
Brodie Waters
Mike Jones
Russell Holland
Glenn Allerton
Shogo Moriwaki
Jason O’Halloran
Josh Hook
Aiden Wagner
Anthony West
Wayne Maxwell
Jamie Stauffer
Troy Herfoss

MX team

Dylan Long
Jay Wilson
Chris Aldridge
Todd Waters
Luke Clout