Grid set for Victorian Formula Vee decider at PI

Image: Revved Photography

A 23 car field will take Phillip Island this weekend for Round 5 of the 2019 CAMS Victorian Formula Vee State Championship, the final round of the 2019 season, resuming after a nine-week break.

The title will be decided amongst championship leader Jake Rowe, and 2018 CAMS Victorian Formula Vee State Champion Heath Collinson, the former of which holds a 59 point advantage at the top of the standings.

Rowe showcased his talent at Round 4 held at Sandown in July, mixing it with the national contenders in the penultimate round of the Australian Series, placing second in Race 2 and third in Race 3.

While first place is still up for grabs; second place will be highly contested, with Collinson holding out second in the championship by just 10 points over third place holder Nic Jones. A total of 100 points are on offer over the weekend.

The event format sees four practice sessions this Friday, qualifying and Race 1 on Saturday and the final two races of the Championship on Sunday.

The fifth and final round of the 2019 CAMS Victorian Formula Vee State Championship, the championship decider, will be held this coming weekend at Phillip Island on September 28-29.

Tickets are available at the gate.

Founded in 1965, Formula Vee is a state championship-based open-wheel racing category in Australia, with an impressing alumnus including Cameron Waters, Jack Le Brocq, Caleb Rayner and Sam Power, Cameron McConville, Larry Perkins, and Jason Bargwanna. For further information, visit

Entry List
No. Driver Sponsor
1600 Class
5 Ian MacDonald Quantum Risk Management
6 Shane Purvis Joust Racewear
7 Rob Vile SANCTUM Health + Skin + Beauty
11 Brett Burden Business Xcellence
17 Ashely Clifford
21 Nicholas Kerr
23 Lucas Khawam Ispeed Motorsports
25 Ken Filbey Ken Filbey Financial Services
27 Davin Field
31 Heath Collinson Collinson Black Angus, Victoria Veal
33 Nicholas Grigg
55 David Hutchinson Swamp Racing
61 Reef McCarthy Beacham Racing
64 Francois Habib HF Racing
66 Jake Rowe GR Motorsport Electrics
69 Mick Fisher Builders Crane Hire
96 Nicholas Jones
99 Adam Slattery Jnr
1200 Class
15 Doug Angus
37 Don Greiveson
38 Geoffrey Stone
58 Harold Roberts
73 Phil Gardner Vee-Tech Signs

Championship Standings (Top 10)
Pos Driver Points
1 Jake Rowe 362
2 Heath Collinson 307
3 Nic Jones 297
4 Davin Field 258
5 Reef McCarthy 220
6 Adam Slattery Jnr 188
7 Nicholas Kerr 157
8 Ashley Clifford 153
9 Ken Filbey 126
10 Dylan Thomas 96

Time Session
Saturday 10:10am Qualifying
Saturday 1:45pm Race 1
Sunday 9:45am Race 2
Sunday 1:40pm Race 3