Gibbons snatches NSW Formula Ford lead

Gibbons Snatches NSW Formula Ford LeadLachlan Gibbons has taken the lead of the 2017 NSW Formula Ford Championship after winning all four races in Round 4 of the series Wakefield Park on the weekend.

Gibbons took comprehensive victories in the first three races (the second was a non-points, reverse-grid race) before a close battle with Jake Donaldson in the final.

Donaldson led most of the way before Gibbons lunged down the inside in the very last corner of the race, to take victory and complete the clean sweep.

“Our car performed well all weekend – we found a good base setup in practice and didn’t need to change much after that.

“It was a fun battle with Jake in the last race and certainly demonstrates that Formula Ford racing is close and entertaining.

“I sat behind him for most of the race and worked out where my strengths were, and made my move on the last lap.”

Gibbons’ main title rival, James Burge, scored two third-place finishes but a DNF in the final cost him significant ground to Gibbons in the standings.

Donaldson also chalked up a DNF in Race 1 after tangling with Burge, while rookie racer Lachlan Mineef retired from Saturday’s action with a broken flywheel but returned on Sunday, setting the fastest lap in Race 3 and finishing third in Race 4 – his maiden podium finish.

Jackson Burton enjoyed a consistent weekend with a best result of second in Race 1, maintaining his third place in the standings.

In the Kent Class, Josh Behn took advantage of his recent upgrade to a newer car to win Races 1 and 2, but points leader Keith Brennan turned the tables in Races 3 and 4 to extend his series advantage. Noel McDermott was third in all four races.

The next round of the NSW Formula Ford Championship will be combined with Round 5 of the national series at Sydney Motorsport Park, 16-17 September.

Duratec Points
1. Lachlan Gibbons – 254
2. James Burge – 221
3. Jackson Burton – 207
4. Jayden Ojeda – 136
5. Lachlan Mineef – 113

Kent Points
1. Keith Brennan – 338
2. Josh Behn – 311
3. Mitch Maddren – 183
=4. Daniel Holihan – 132
=4. Noel McDermott – 132