Gary Bowden Cup decider at Bairnsdale Speedway Easter Saturday

This Saturday night during the Easter long weekend Bairnsdale Speedway’s season comes to a close with the Gary Bowden Cup decider for Wingless Sprints and the Standard Saloon Easter Classic headlining a night that includes Sprintcars and Limited Sportsman’s.GARY BOWDEN CUP DECIDER AT BAIRNSDALE SPEEDWAY EASTER SATURDAY

The Gary Bowden Cup for Wingless Sprints honours a former Bairnsdale farmer and local business owner who made so many friendships in the sport as he promoted his beloved Limited Sportsman’s and then the Wingless Sprints that he believed was the best bang for buck class going around in speedway circles.

Many of the race drivers who are involved still in Gippsland competed against or with Bowden as their Wingless Sprint leader. Honouring Bowden with this weekend is important to so many people from the Bairnsdale club, the Wingless Sprints and Gippsland Speedway.

Entries include Travis Millar one of the strongest competitors in the state, very difficult to beat. Wayne and Daryl Logue who almost won the recent 50 lap feature at the venue, Brad Foster a recent winner at Drouin, Jason Andreatta a recent winner at Nyora and Travis Evans are just some of the strong competitors in the list that could lift the Bowden Cup by the end of the weekend.

The Easter Classic for Standard Saloons has attracted some very strong entrants with the Vuillermin brothers from the Rosedale Club, Col Yeoman’s also from Rosedale, Leigh Gooding, Simon Strang and of course Bairnsdale’s Josh Thomas who won the last final at Bairnsdale.

Watch for a great battle between the younger generation drivers and the veterans of the sport.

The Sprintcars are backing up after their Victorian title the night before. They will back up with a run here at Bairnsdale the very next night and Mark Laity and his brother Peter, Dillon Siely Shane Steenholdt, David Dennison, Mark Noonan and Adam Greenwood along with team mate Alistair Bastian will dish out a tremendous feature event at Bairnsdale. Sprintcars are fast, loud and wild and fans just love them, ending the season with a win this one last time will be on the mind of the competition.

Limited Sportsman action will see new Victoria number two ranked racer Darren Adams in action against a host of local runners keen to finish their season also as winners.

Racing begins at 5pm Saturday night.

Club Contact: President: Mark Laity – Ph: 0427 575 335

Entry Prices are Adults $20, Pensioners $15, Children 12-16 years $8, Under 12 Free and Family $40 (2 adults and 2 children under 16).

The Bairnsdale Speedway Clubs sponsors list includes:
M & S Laity Hay Contractors – Wiseleigh
W.G.I Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage – Bairnsdale
East Gippsland Locks & Keys – Bairnsdale
TRFM & Gold 1242
Bridgestone Bairnsdale
Bairnsdale Automotive & Transmissions – Bairnsdale
Riviera Tyre Service – Bairnsdale
Eyecare Plus – Bairnsdale
Riviera Concrete – Bairnsdale
Dennison Quality Roofing – Bairnsdale
A1 Trailers – Bairnsdale
Autobarn – Bairnsdale
Phase Link Electrics – Paynesville
Carpet World – Bairnsdale East
Westpoint Motors – Bairnsdale
Curtis Engineering – Bairnsdale
Patties Foods – Australia
Reece Plumbing – Bairnsdale
East Gippsland Plumbing –Bairnsdale
Tambo Waste – Bairnsdale
U Pick Car Wreckers – Morwell
Logues Auto Wreckers – Morwell
Buchan Towing – Buchan
Great Southern Kitchens – Bairnsdale
Cheap Tyres – Morwell
Apco – Bairnsdale
Clifton Mobile Homes – Bairnsdale
Zac’s Firewood Services – Bairnsdale
Mitchell Valley Excavations – Lindenow
ARB 4 x 4 – Bairnsdale
Lakes Entrance Tyre Service
Egee Printers – Bairnsdale
SS Auto wholesalers – Bairnsdale
Bristol Paint – Bairnsdale
Dwyer’s Toyota – Bairnsdale
Tim Bull MP – Member for Gippsland East

John Rotheram – Victoria 3
Adam Smith – VX 3
Jaidyn Job—VX 4
Daryl Logue – VX 6
Viv Rockliff – VX 9
Steven Loader – VX 10
James Mills – VX 13
Clinton Ogilvie – Victoria 13
Wayne Logue – Victoria 16
Brad Foster – Victoria 20
Thomas McDonald – VX 20
Michael Lovell – Victoria 24
Jason Andreatta – VX 42
Jordan Abbott – Victoria 46
Scott Irons – Victoria 52
Anthony Foster – Victoria 53
Jessie Garlick – VX 62
Brett Pope- VX 64
Kim-Loong Gosling – VX 68
Aron Lawrence – Victoria 70
Gavin Fitzpatrick – Victoria 73
Kelvin Johnson – Victoria 76
Travis Evans – VX 77
Christopher Temby – VX 89
Ben Poliansky – VX 91
Travis Miller –Victoria 93
Daniel Mayson – VX95

Glen/Dylan Pendlebury – Bairnsdale 7
Natasha Curtis – Bairnsdale 10
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Col Yeoman’s – Rosedale 12/24
Sky Eddy – Bairnsdale 15
Mat Bowers – Bairnsdale 18
Ben Doherty – Rosedale 19
Michael Cormack – Bairnsdale 23
Kane Gibson – Rosedale 41
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 55
Adam Wharton – Bairnsdale 57
Leigh Gooding – Drouin 58
Jake Vuillermin – Rosedale 59
Corey Horter – Alexandra 73
Simon Strang – Drouin 77
Kate Stuchbury – Bairnsdale 78
Patrick Vuillermin – Rosedale 88

Darren Adams – Victoria 2
Jason Hurley – Bairnsdale 14
Mark Both – Bairnsdale 18
Chloe Laity – Bairnsdale 32
Anthony Snow – Bairnsdale 45
Chris Woeltjes – Geelong 52
Dillon Siely – Bairnsdale 87
Tim McKenzie – Bairnsdale 93

Mark Laity – # 1
Shane Steenholdt – # 5
Daniel Orr – # 9
David Dennison – # 15
Michael Evans – # 28
Adam Greenwood – # 35
Mark Noonan – # 42
Alistair Bastian – # 55
Peter Laity – # 66
Dillon Siely – # 87
Andrew/Trent Neilson – # 90

Ends Release.