Final show of the Rushworth season, Ironbark Classic for grand prix midgets

Thursday 23rd May, 2019 - 12:43pm


This Saturday night marks the last night of the Rushworth Speedway season with two visiting classes along with all the local heroes in their last opportunity to earn club championship points. The Grand Prix Midgets will compete for the Ironbark Classic with competitors from New South Wales joining the local fleet in the battle and the Compact Speedcars also bring a field to compete. FINAL SHOW OF THE RUSHWORTH SEASON, IRONBARK CLASSIC FOR GRAND PRIX MIDGETS

The Grand Prix Midgets season long point score see’s Chris Fowler leading Travis Florrimell by just ten points heading into this event, both of those drivers will have their eyes on the main prize, the series win whilst others like local legend Dennis Myers, Danny Stainer from nearby Benalla and Trevor Perry are just some drivers that will go flat out for the race victory regardless of what Fowler and Florrimell might be doing.

Janelle Saville, Gary Bowyer and Steve Bennett make the trip down from New South Wales and Sean Denning looks to secure the categories B Grade point score.

In Compact Speedcar action Louis Rodriguez is hoping to compete and if he does, the Victorian Champion from the Goulburn Valley area will be difficult to beat with Tania Hallett, Jack Day, his father Brad and the Hutchinson boys Butch and Mark just some of the drivers who may challenge the state champion.

Goulburn Valley Open Saloon action between the Paul and Phil Lamb and Adam Box has recently dominated the top prize at recent meetings, this time the Open Saloons will have former Goulburn Valley Juniors Lachie Fitzpatrick and Tristan McGraw in the field. These two have been making waves travelling around Victoria with other race classes and they return to finish off the Rushworth season.

Jay Nicolaisen, Adam Box, Paul Lamb and Darren Holt will have their hands full, it should be a sensational Open Saloon race night to sit back and enjoy.

Ladies racing will continue with Chloe Lamb up against Kelly Lamb, Belinda Chalcraft and Felicity Roycroft looking for the final trophy of the racing season locally and in Junior Sedans Daniel Smith has his eyes set on a back to back win after securing victory at the clubs last event. Josh and Luke Cecil will keep Daniel under pressure.

Having won the last two Production Sedan finals, Mark Cecil is hard to look past in the final event of the season. Scott Burchett had some good results at the last show and could just be on the cusp of a front of the field result, whilst it is drivers of the likes of Geoff Lee, Bevan Hutchins, Ian Wilson, Leigh Jeffery and Troy Britton that are also in the mix for an end of season win.

Racing begins from 4pm on Saturday with entry costs $25 per adult, aged pensioners are $15, kids 12 to 16 are $12.50 each and under the age of 12 is FREE, whilst a family of 2 adults and 2 kids 12 to 16 is $60

The Goulburn Valley Auto Club would like to thank the following supporters:
Super Balance Automotive –Shepparton
Mota Care Auto Service Centre – East Bendigo
WG Panels – Rochester
Kyabram Motor Wreckers – Kyabram
The Rushworth Hotel – Rushworth
Autobarn Shepparton
Aerodrome Automotive – Kialla
Marty Turpin Mechanical – Tatura
Ipta Fibreglass – Geelong
Ross Adams Cartage Contractor – Rochester
Rushworth Bakery – Rushworth
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
Pearce Concrete – Golden Square
Superior Concrete & Construction – Bendigo
A1 Water Supplies – Tatura
McKellars Freight Services – Bendigo
Grime 2 Shine Auto Detailing – Bendigo
Bendigo Specialists Brake & Clutch

Janelle Saville – NSW 2
Gary Bowyer – NSW 5
Troy Buis – Victoria 5
Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
Dennis Myers – Victoria 11
Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
Lisa Chalcraft – Victoria 15
David Bacon – Victoria 36
Danny Stainer – Victoria 51
Sean Denning – Victoria 52
Trevor Perry – NSW 55
Steve Bennett – NSW 79
Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81

Butch Hutchinson – Victoria 2
Mark Hutchinson – Victoria 6
Matt Brown – Victoria 8
Louis Rodriquez – Victoria 11
Tania Hallett – Victoria 15
Jack Day – Victoria 57
Brad Day – Victoria 59
Kerran Tangey – Victoria 77

Lachie Fitzpatrick – # 11
Jay Nicolaisen – # 15
Wes Cadmore – # 21
Chelsea Hodge – # 25
Adam Box – # 27
Keith Simmonds – # 31
Braiden Simmonds – # 36
Tristan McGraw – # 38
Stephen Hopkins – # 51
Wayne Gilsenan – # 53
Scott Smith – # 58
Matt Smith – # 61
Josh Beattie – # 72
Phil Lamb – # 73
Matt Callanan – # 78
Garry Gapes – # 84
Darren Holt – # 86
Greg Knight – # 112
Stewart Knight – # 123

Chloe Lamb – # 1
Kelly Lamb – # 2
Belinda Chalcraft – # 15
Leanne Hodge – # 51
Felicity Roycroft – # 82
Nicole Gapes – # 84

Josh Cecil – # 6
Luke Cecil – # 7
Jorden Simmonds – # 20
Cooper Laurie – # 25
Keiden Britton – # 41
Daniel Smith – # 58

Geoff Lee – # 5
Mark Cecil – # 7
Reece Harris – # 16
Bevan Hutchins – # 18
Ian Wilson – # 19
Leigh Jeffery – # 29
Troy Britton – # 41
Scott Burchett – # 50
Leigh Hammond- # 55
Brad Frost – # 114

Ends Release. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!