F4 Round Six Preview: Sydney Motorsport Park

The penultimate round of the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will take place this week at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Sydney based squad AGI Sport will be eager to extend their championship lead with Nick Rowe, with the West Australian holding a 45-point lead over both Liam Lawson and Cameron Shields of Team BRM, who currently sit equal-second on points.

With three races to be held across the weekend, a maximum of 75 points is up for grabs.

“The year is going really good so far… now we move on to Sydney Motorsport Park where we had mega pace there last year,” Rowe said.

“I always dare to dream. I do think about it [the championship]… we’re always keeping our heads down, hopefully we do not have any bad rounds from here – but anything can happen, it’s motor sport.”

Sydney Motorsport Park is the home round for many Australian Formula 4 drivers, with the state to be represented by the likes of Tyler Everingham, Jordan Mazzaroli, Sage Murdoch, Harley Haber and Zane Morse from neighbouring Canberra.

Novocastrian Sage Murdoch enjoyed a breakthrough round at Queensland Raceway, with a career best fifth place finish in his debut national season.

Queenslander Ryan Suhle holds a commanding lead in the Burson Auto Parts Rookie standings. Over 90 points separate the Zagame Autosport driver from Team BRM duo Zane Morse and Aaron Love in the debutant classification.

“It’s going to be a great track from the little bit of running that we did in testing,” Suhle said.

“It’s quite an exciting, fast, flowing track into some heavy braking. It’s got a lot of elements similar to Phillip Island.”

Crews will complete a sole practice session prior to qualifying on Friday, with the opening race on Saturday and the final two races on Sunday.

The conclusion of the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will take place on the streets of the Gold Coast, on 20-22 October.

Qualifying and all three races will be televised live on Fox Sports 506 as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship support coverage.

Follow @Formula4AU on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube for on-the-ground coverage, including driver interviews throughout the weekend. Get talking with #F4AU.

Entry list (13)

#4 – Sage Murdoch (NSW) (R), AGI Sport, Racesah
#5 – Ryan Suhle (QLD) (R), Zagame Autosport, Ray White/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#7 – Tyler Everingham (NSW), Zagame Autosport, JetGo
#11 – Zane Morse (ACT) (R), Team BRM, Charman Earthmoving/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#21 – Harley Haber (NSW), AGI Sport, CEJN
#27 – Simon Fallon (VIC), Team BRM, CoolDrive/Fallon Developments/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#30 – Liam Lawson (NZ), Team BRM, RetroCar.co.nz
#61 – Jordan Mazzaroli (NSW) (R), JRD, Real Equity Estate Agents/Mr Moto
#73 – Cameron Shields (QLD), Team BRM, McDonald’s Australia/Dependable Sheds/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#76 – Zakkary Best (VIC), AGI Sport, Best Leisure Industries
#78 – Aaron Love (WA) (R), Team BRM, Coco’s
#91 – Josh Denton (SA), Team BRM, Pink’s Mitre 10
#97 – Nick Rowe (WA), AGI Sport, To be advised

Schedule (AEST)

Practice One: Friday 20 October, 8:35am (20 minutes)
Qualifying: Friday 20 October, 11:50am (20 minutes)
Race One: Saturday 21 October, 12:20pm (12 laps)
Race Two: Sunday 22 October, 9:15am (14 laps)
Race Three: Sunday 22 October, 11:35am (14 laps)


Friday: Min 12 / Max 18 – Mostly sunny, windy.
Saturday: Min 9 / Max 18 – Partly cloudy, possible shower.
Sunday: Min 10 / Max 19 – Mostly sunny.

Championship points (After Round 5)

1. Nick Rowe – AGI Sport: 252
=2. Liam Lawson – Team BRM: 207
=2. Cameron Shields – Team BRM: 207
4. Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport: 168
5. Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport: 135
6. Josh Denton – Team BRM: 106
7. Simon Fallon – Team BRM: 93
8. Zane Morse – Team BRM: 78
9. Aaron Love – Team BRM: 76
10. Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD: 58
11. Zakkary Best – AGI Sport: 57
12. Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport: 43
13. Harley Haber – AGI Sport: 34

2017 statistics so far

Pole Positions (2/13):

Nick Rowe (3), Ryan Suhle (2)

Race Wins (7/13):

Nick Rowe (5), Liam Lawson (3), Cameron Shields (3), Josh Denton (1), Ryan Suhle (1), Tyler Everingham (1), Simon Fallon (1)

Race Podiums (ex. Race wins) (9/13):

Liam Lawson (6), Ryan Suhle (6), Cameron Shields (6), Nick Rowe (5), Tyler Everingham (3), Aaron Love (1), Josh Denton (1), Zane Morse (1), Sage Murdoch (1)

Overall Round Wins (4/13):

Nick Rowe (2), Liam Lawson (1), Cameron Shields (1), Simon Fallon (1)

Overall Round Podiums (ex. Race wins) (6/13):

Cameron Shields (3), Nick Rowe (2), Ryan Suhle (2), Liam Lawson (1), Josh Denton (1), Tyler Everingham (1)

Previous winners – Sydney Motorsport Park

Pole Position: Thomas Randle (2015), Nick Rowe (2016)
Race Winners: Jordan Lloyd (2), Nick Rowe (2), Will Brown (1), Luis Leeds (1)
Round Winners: Jordan Lloyd (2015), Nick Rowe (2016)
Race Lap Record: Nick Rowe – AGI Sport: 1:31.5673 (2016)