Eliminator Cup and Crash and Bash gals headline Drouin this Sunday

This Sunday afternoon Drouin Speedway comes alive again when the club hosts two big feature events and all the local heroes in club racing with the day attracting sixty cars to put on a show, the Standard Saloon Eliminator Cup and the Ladies Crash and Bash will headline the day.

The Standard Saloon Eliminator Cup has become an important feature in the Victorian Speedway Calendar and each season is part of the Victorian Speedway Council state point score, as a result of recent wash outs, it is the second event on the calendar for competitors and as such has attracted a cracker field.

The field includes current points leader Nick Chrystie, Victoria number 2 driver Shane Stewart from Morwell, Tim Hutchinson from the other side of the West Gate Bridge and local hard chargers Pakenham’s Mark Miles, Leigh Gooding from Yinnar, Mitch Blencowe from Bunyip, Cameron Dike, Tegan Bullard and Warragul’s Tracey Ingram the Victorian Ladies Champion to compete for the prestige of winning such an event, an event the Stewart family has a strangle hold on with Chris and Daniel having won so many times before.

The field also includes Victoria number 3 ranked driver Jacob Vuillermin who in typical Jacob style was a little bit tipsy when he was trying to nominate and nominated to a wrong number! He will need to wheel real hard from the back of the field in the heat races.

It is anybodies race this weekend and drivers will enjoy the now stretched out track with plenty of passing room as proven in the last show by the V8 Super Sedan racing around the outside of competitors.

In the Ladies Crash and Bash first round of their Gippsland series, a number of regular race drivers from the area have joined the born and bred Crash and Bash girls for what should be a spectacular day. Leeanne Young the Victorian Champion is joined by Allyssa Montebello and Maleah Brown the current Victoria two and three ranked drivers to compete against first event of the season winner Bianca Brown and a long list of competitors.

We do not know who to tip as the likely winner as the class of the field is so deep, however watch for Sharon Morrison led Standard Saloon squad of Kellie Latham, Tegan Bullard and Sarah Price to try and ruffle up a few of the long time Crash and Bash Girls, Morrison herself has some strong Crash and Bash experience and could easily come out on top.

Supporting the main events is the local Standard Saloon ‘Boost 2 Drive’ Junior Standard Saloons Series, Sports Sedans and Unlimited Sedans & the Vintage Super Modifieds. It will be a great day for the family at Drouin this Sunday. Event enquiries can be made to 0422 289 133

Gates open from 8am. Racing starts at 11am. Entry will cost $15 for an adult, Pensioner./Children 12 to 16yrs is $10 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 to 16 will cost $40.

Drouin Speedway Club would like to thank their club supporters:
Active Graphics
Alberni Engineering
Ampworks Audio
Baw Baw Shire
Berwick Legal
Boost 2 Drive
Random Panda Photography
Haze Hair by Design
Keena Fencing
Laser Electrical
Latrobe Waste Recycling
Leigh & Anne Gooding
Longwarry Hotel
Longwary Meat Safe
Miles Mechanical
Monckton Concrete
Norstar Steel Recyclers
Onsite Rentals
Pakenham Tilt Tray
Polish & Shine
Ramsdale Wreckers
S.S Plastering & Painting
TNT Auto Parts
Victorian Crane Trucks
Wilkar Construction

Erin Brown
Leeanne Young
Allyssa Montebello
Maleah Brown
Sharon Morrison
Kiara Brown
Kelly Oliver
Jess Warren
Bianca Brown
Bridgette Morgan
Tegan Bullard
Kellie Latham
Bronwyn Miles
Lea Judd
Clara Lynch
Sarah Price

Scott Hampton
Garry Charles
Mitchell Blencowe
Jeff Blencowe
Justin Hutchins
Leigh Gooding
Andy Evans
Adam Barkby
Cameron Dike
Andrew Morris
Leigh Mitchell
Tegan Bullard
Shane Stewart
Mark Miles
Brendon Miles
Mick Coomer
Mark Borkowski
Tim Hutchinson
Tracey Ingram
Nick Chrystie
Terry Kleeven
Stephen Douglas
Hayley Hutchins
Shane Ardley – ROF
Jacob Vuillermin – ROF

Blake Smith
Jack Yeomans
Deegan Benson
Lewis Williams
Kacey Ingram
Damon Ingram
Tahlia Campbell

John Watson
Troy Glassborow
Peter Angus
Scott Angus
Ray Gould
Broderick Stray

Peter Rowlands
Bob Noonan
Rob Noonan
Graeme Briggs
Howard Colwell
Rob Watson
Dave Hender
John Watson

Daniel Angus
Daryl Nicolson
Peter Cox