Dirt track heaven at Alexandra Speedway

This Queens Birthday weekend is just a hop, skip and jump away and the Alexandra Speedway Club fires up again for a long weekend of socialising and racing starting with the socialising Friday through to Monday. The annual Bathurst of Speedway, the 100 Lap Derby takes centre stage as eighty entrants try to etch their name in the history books as a winner of the Derby, supported by the Standard Saloon Cup and the Victorian Short Circuit Championship for Junior Sedans. DIRT TRACK HEAVEN AT ALEXANDRA SPEEDWAY: THE EVENT OF THE YEAR THE 100 LAPPER

The ‘Foodworks Alexandra’ Derby race entrants list includes current back to back to back, yes three time winner Lennie Bonnici from Melbourne’s Eastern Suburbs leading the nominations, Alexandra townships very own, one, two, three and four time winner Luke Fallon is also entered as the fastest shell based sedan driver through the Dog Leg circuit with his Chevy powered VS Commodore, whilst Warrick Taylor and his constructed chassis car also with a Chevrolet engine is the fastest ever car through the dog leg and is also entered.

Drivers are coming from all over Victoria and even a former Queensland state champion is heading down to race. We have Sprintcar drivers, Street Stock drivers, Modified Sedan drivers and a whole host of others all trying to win the big one.

Some of the top other protagonists and not limited to just these drivers are; Brendan and Damien Miller from other Pakenham way, Jake and Daniel Drewett from Mildura, Corey Lincoln whose family have raced this event for generations, Darren Forrest, Ben Moon, Steve Kershaw of Healesville, Matt Nelson from Woori Yallock, Peter Cox, Brad Warren, Lenny Bates from Boronia, Darren Nelson, David Donegan, Leigh Bourke and Daniel Scott, however as suggested we can throw a few more names into this basket.

Drivers will qualify through four heat races before the big race on Sunday night with 100 laps between them and speedway immortality as a 100 Lap Derby winner.

The Auscon Projects supported Standard Saloon Cup has already been won numerous times by Mark Miles and he is back again to have another shot and is the man to beat through the dog leg.

Miles from Pakenham also tops a competitors list that includes Aaron Meakins who has won many times on Alexandra Speedway over his long career, Mitch Blencowe who just won on Sunday of this past weekend at Drouin, Leigh Gooding another driver very capable of winning big races, Rhys Lansdown the raining Victorian Junior Standard Saloon champion stepping up for his first senior race, Warrick Howie a former Victorian champion in the class, Jake Vuillermin, Paul Domburg all the way from Portland, Trish Dike the current Ladies back to back Victorian Champion, Tracey Ingram and Shane Belk.

Finally the Junior Sedan super stars in the Victorian Short Circuit Championship will compete with former Australian Champion Todd Atkins amongst the entries and of course, one of the top favourites in the race. Current Victorian Champion Todd Moule also lines up and the battle should be a ripper all weekend for this the only championship of its kind available around Speedways in Australia.

Our local kids who all season have given us so many great races will keep the fight up and Kasey Garlick will lead that charge as one of the top racers in the class around. She wins more than she doesn’t and the boys will need to have their feet placed firmly down on the accelerator. Chloe Sheerman, Dillon Taylor, Bree Simpson, Linken Patterson, Courtney Meakins, Dylan Barrow and Jayden Bryant are all drivers who have won feature events this season at Alexandra or Nyora and they will be right in amongst the action.

Racing starts from 2pm on both days.

A weekend pass entry for the Saturday and Sunday is;
$50 the price of an adult entry and $25 for children aged 10 to 16 and aged and invalid pensioners. Children under 10 years of age enter for free all weekend.

For folks who turn up on the Sunday for racing who didn’t come Sunday, one day entrance applies. $25 per adult and $10 for children aged 10 to 16 and aged and invalid pensioners.
Children under 10 years of age enter for free

Camping for the weekend is allowed.
Anybody who requires information can contact 0408 121 253

Alexandra Speedway Club is very thankful for the support provided by all these businesses:
Alexandra Quality Meats
Alexandra & Yea Pre Mix
Auscon Projects
Beach Earthmoving
Bendigo Bank Ringwood East
Blackburn Trailers
Campton’s Graphics
Capital Waste
Donnaz Underground
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Endeavour Petroleum
Exhaust Fix Lilydale
Fallon’s Bus Services
Foodworks Alexandra
Good Guys Performance
GYB Civil
Healesville Directional Drilling
Highline Racewear
Lincoln’s Earthmoving
LS Quarry
Metro Tow
Onsite Medical Response
Outer Eastern Steel
Quality Fire Protection
Raslarr Engineering
Revegetation Victoria
Smooth Suspension
S & N Builders
Town & Country Tennis Courts
Tyrepower Alexandra
Vern and Jackie Parker DVD’s and Photos
Waverley Exhaust & Brake Centre

5 Brendan Miller
6 Damien Miller
7 Craig Claridge
8 Steven Akil
9 Caleb Lincoln
10 Jade Moule
11 Nathan O’Brien
12 Danny Cox
13 Dale Morrison
15 Corey Lincoln
18 Jake Drewett
19 Daniel Drewett
20 Joel Andrews
21 Robert Tatterson
22 Wayne Furmston
23 Tim Gorski
24 S Bent
25 Jayde Aarts
26 Jayden Riordan
28 Wayne Nelson
29 Matthew Sgroi
33 Lennie Bonnici
36 Steve English
37 Robert Bushell
38 Dean Pictor
39 Daniel Kettels
41 Darren Forrest
42 Matt Ridd
43 Warrick Taylor
45 Ben Moon
48 Russell Smith
51 Scott Bull
52 Steve Kershaw
54 Dennis Reid
55 David Forrest
58 Scott Smith
61 Matt Nelson
62 Peter Cox
63 Robert Garlick
65 Des Robinson
66 Tom McKenna
68 Jackson Barneveld
69 Darren Skilton
70 Warrick Howie
71 Scott Angus
72 Peter Angus
73 Jake Young
77 Luke Fallon
79 Tim Sankey
81 Stephen Mitchell
82 Gareth Wilson
83 Anthony McKean
84 Josh Service
86 Daniel Unternahrer
88 Lee Beach
89 Andrew Jordan
90 Carl Orme
91 Daniel Scott
94 Shane O’Loughlin
96 Sonia Nelson
97 Adrian Lawrence
99 Frank Ramsdale
111 Wayne Ramsdale/Jack Ramsdale
115 Ricky Cornwall
118 Cameron Dike
119 Jeff Blencowe
122 Troy Desmond-Veal
141 Neil Davey
151 Zac Swanson
154 Shane O’Brien
171 David ‘Dinky’ Parker
181 Nathan Fawns
182 Shane Roycroft
183 David Barrie
190 Jake Blencowe
191 Leigh Bourke
246 Dale Smith
308 David Donegan
841 Brad Warren
888 Darren Nelson
961 Len Bates

Shane Belk
Brodie Ardley
Aaron Meakins
Sarah Meakins/ Michael Jury
Mark Miles
Adam Barkby
Mitch Blencowe
Leigh Gooding
Robert Noonan
Kevin Hays/ Kane Gibson
Cory Horter
Colin Ward
Mark Borkowski
Bailey Perkins
Rhys Lansdown
Warrick Howie
Neil Ingram
Tracey Ingram
Michael Coomer
Jonny Ravet
Jack Brennan
Jake Vuillermin
Paul Domburg
Leigh Mitchell
Aaron Laidlaw
Trish Dike
Matt Kamolins
Daryl Nicolson
Matt Reddecliffe

Dylan Barrow
Jayden Bryant
Rhys Meakins
Courtney Meakins
Sharlotte McPherson
Will Fallon
Maddy Capon
Linken Paterson
River Paterson
Bree Simpson
Rye Orme
Harry Orme
Dillon Taylor
Kasey Garlick
Jeremy Gorski
Conner Claridge
Bradin Claridge
Luke Cornfoot
Chloe Sheerman
Noah Collette
Todd Moule
Lachie Bull
Toby Parks
Seth Sloane
Todd Atkins

Ends Release.