Daylesford Speedway to honour our ANZACs on Sunday with the ANZAC Cup

Daylesford Speedway this Sunday has put together a huge programme to honour our service men and women with all participating classes competing for ‘Anzac Cup’ honours. What this means is the podium finishers in each class will receive ‘Cups’ organised that they can look back upon forever to remember performing strongly in the ‘Anzac Cup’.

The day starts with a Anzac Ceremony on the spectator hill at around 11.40am in the morning including the Ode to Remembrance, Last Post and National Anthem during a flag raise. Veterans with their Medals pinned proudly on their chest, will be allowed in to watch the race meeting for free. The trick is to turn up with the medals proudly worn on your chest as the gate staff check in your vehicle. There will be other veterans at the track on the day and a great way to socialise with a common interest.

Spectators too can earn themselves a gate entry discount for this race meeting. You can earn $5 of your entry price as an adult, all you have to do is head into Daylesford on your way into the track on Sunday and spend money at one of the local businesses as prove you did this with a receipt confirming where you spent your money. Example head into any of our Daylesford sponsors such as Metro Fuels, a Café, the Bakery, the Supermarket and ask for the receipt on your way out.

All Daylesford member classes are on the programme along with the Standard Saloon class and the Speedway Sedans Australia Junior Sedans. The biggest field this season has nominated in the Daylesford Modifieds and the Daylesford Ladies. The Standard Saloons have a great field as does the Street Stocks and Juniors.

In Modified racing Phillip Botheras returns to the driver’s seat in Modifieds as does Codey Millican. Ryan Daly has been the strongest performer of the entries to nominate for this Sunday’s racing. Jhett Cruise and the Kakoschke lads will be at it again in the Daylesford Juniors with Blaize Majok-Edwards keen to wrest one of their spots from them on the podium.

Jane Laidler will have her work cut out for her in the Daylesford Ladies with a number of first time race drivers in the field along with some of the regular tough competitors. Rachel Robinson, Shelby Higginbottom, Chloe Graham, Richelle Jenner and Marlena Argent have no idea on how good some of the other Ladies might be, so they will be keen to start well from the drop of the first green flag.

Daylesford’s top Street Stock competitors Des Robinson and Glen McCoubrie will have fun mixing it with some tough new members. Mick Dann is one of Victoria’s best race drivers and he is a welcome addition to the line-up as is Jayden Blomeley who already figures strongly in this year’s club results. Chris Hay, Lee Harrison and Ellen Vagg have all had strong runs at Daylesford this season.

Standard Saloon fields continue to be huge at Daylesford Speedway. Some great new first time visitors and the Cormack Clan have decided to come to Daylesford to boost the economy. Ashley Cormack. Greg Hutchins, Trevor Crilly, Priscilla Grech, Nathan Hutchins, Steven Dadswell. Aaron Cormack, Bobby Devine and the list rolls on for great entrants in the Standard Saloons.

Finally the Speedway Sedan’s Australia Junior Sedans have attracted Fletcher Barron, Bailey Rumler, and Shaqkira Blake to lead the battle in the racing on Sunday and along with the Sedans the Junior Quarter Midgets will hold racing on the infield circuit prior to the Sedan racing on the Speedway.

Head to Basin Road Daylesford to watch, general enquiries on 0408 541 873 or 0402 534 711

All adults are $15 to enter, whilst any nominated race driver, Life members & aged pensioners are $10. Children 13 to 17 are $5 each and 12 and under are free, no family ticket at these prices.

Follow the Daylesford Speedway Club website and Interactive Mobile app.

The venue has catering food van on site and a canteen for cold drinks.

Junior Quarter Midget racing starts between 9 and 9.30am, Sedan Racing begins at Midday and the, gates open early from 8am with competitors due at the track by 10.30 and pit gates shut to racing entrants by 11

Daylesford Speedway club wish to thank the following sponsors;
O’Toole Signs Daylesford
Savoia Hotel – Hepburn Springs
Metro Fuels – Daylesford
Brooklyn Car Sales – Ballarat
Daylesford Bowling Club
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Bearcat Tyres – Laverton
Hutchinson Towing
Howe Automotive – Daylesford
Complete Maintenance Services 4×4 Specialists, Bacchus Marsh
Red Ginger Thai Restaurant – Daylesford
Centre State Asphalting
Dean Miller Photography
KAK Signs
Dirt Track Solutions
Decci Racing
Rhetts Auto’s and Towing

Leon Argent – 11
Derek Higginbottom – 26
Phillip Botheras – 27
Daniel East – 38
Ryan Daly – 35
Brett Carrington – 47
Nathan Carrington – 48
Dale Spinner – 56
Ian Bartlett – 77
Steve Warlond – 87
Codey Millican – 111

Jett Cruise – 8
Blaize Majok- Edwards 26
Bailey Kakoschke – 30
Reece Kakoschke – 31
Peyton Edwards-Daly – 35
Ben Carrington – 48
Amiley Botheras – 77

Marlena Argent – DDA12
Joanne Richardson – B12
Samantha Broome – 19
Shari McDonnell – 26
Shelby Higginbottom – 35
Charmaine Bryans – 61
Rachel Robinson – 63
Chloe Graham – R73
Linda Verlinden – M73
Heather McKean – 76
Jane Laidler – 85
Richelle Jenner – 87
RickyLee Basten – 92
Hayley Walker – 97

Mick Dann – 5
Ellen Vagg – 21
Jordan Ellifson – P22
Lee Harrison – M22
Dylan Wilkinson – 24
Chris Hay – 42
Des Robinson – 63
Jayden Blomeley – 64
Glen McCoubrie – 66

Greg Hutchins – Portland 7
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Ashley and Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Craig Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Trevor Crilly – Swan Hill 15
Priscilla Grech – Redline 17
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Nathan Hutchins – Portland 25
Justin Crerar – Ballarat 29
Michael Cormack – Bairnsdale 46
Steve Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Rick Stowe – Nyora 61
Allan Cormack – Bairnsdale 62
Troy Cormack – Bairnsdale 71
Dean Pederson – Mortlake 73
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Jacob Head – Ballarat 95
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 97

Fletcher Barron – Avalon 5
Riley Taylor – Nyora 25
Bailey Rumler – Ballarat 33
Jemma Woods – Daylesford 45
Zammy Noseda – Simpson 52
Shaqkira Blake – Ballarat 66
Levi Blake – Ballarat 88

Ends Release.