Bob Hickson Memorial and crash and bash headline Nyora season closer

This Saturday night Nyora Raceway will present a huge season finale when fans sit back and enjoy the annual run what you brung ‘Bob Hickson Memorial’ for Open Sedans and the visiting Crash and Bash Association ‘Hell on Wheels’ along with the Junior Standard Saloons and the Speedway Sedans Australia Juniors. With serious race action and race action with a little biff and barge, the crowd is sure to be huge for the 5pm Saturday night start. BOB HICKSON MEMORIAL AND CRASH AND BASH HEADLINE NYORA SEASON CLOSER

The Bob Hickson Memorial pays tribute to one of the great contributors to the South Gippsland Speedway in ‘the Boss’ Bob Hickson whose memory lives on each and every year with this race in his honour. Last year’s memorial winner Brendan Miller is back to defend his title whilst he will have his hands full with challengers such as Darren Nelson, Jack Ramsdale, Shona Bent, Simon Bent, Gemma Laidlaw, Warrick Taylor, Matt Nelson, Brad Warren, Andrew Jordan and David Donegan to name a few.

The Bob Hickson Memorial is a mix mostly of four door sedans versus purpose built chassis cars such as the Late Model and Super Sedan cars that have entered The honours last year went the way of a Commodore driving competitor, can they do it again or will it be one of the bigger toys such as the Late Model Sedan of Cranbourne’s Warrick Taylor?

In the ‘Hell on Wheels’ Crash and Bash, an exciting addition to the line-up is multiple times Australian Rally champion and current Confederation of Australian Motorsport Side by Side Racing gun Simon Evans to the line up in a LJ Torana.

Evans will run against top seasoned campaigners in the class that have entered this event such as Grant Attewell, Jake Young, Nathan Taylor, Craig McKendry, Brad Warren and James Kane, with numerous season long rivalries set to be settled.

McKendry is driving his brothers state championship winning Commodore after trashing his own Falcon at the recent Victorian title event, Brad Warren is jumping into another competitors car having handed over his car to his dad he makes a return to the class after a number of seasons on the sidelines, Paul Warren was a veteran of the Bumper Car days and will have plenty of buddies cheering him on.

Two of the younger racers Nathan Taylor and Jake Young are out to settle the score after a season long back and forth battle, however whilst keeping an eye out on each other, they will want to keep on the move to avoid everybody else and try and scoop up victors prize.

Lewis Williams and Kacey Ingram lead the nominations in the Junior Standard Saloon field. The Victorian title third and second placegetters will be keen to run the season out with the final victory whilst the line-up also includes a number of first year and first event rookie drivers, most of whom will be driving in six cylinder Falcons.

Finally the SSA Junior Sedan class with Mitsubishi Lancers, Hyundai Excels up against Datsun’s and Toyota Corolla’s has a field that includes former Australian champion Todd Atkins and last start winner at Nyora Jayden Bryant. Zoe Young, Courtney and Rhys Meakins and Dylan Barrow and Dillon Taylor are all strong race competitors in a field that should be an interesting battle for Atkins travelling across from Hamilton to compete.

There will also be a treat for Mad Max fans as we relive a iconic movie moment with a ‘Interceptor’ pursuit car thrilling fans, it might even just destroy a Caravan!

All the action starts from 5pm on Saturday whilst the gate will be open for public from around 1pm entry will cost $20 for an adult, Kids 12 to 16 are $10 each whilst all other children are free, Pensioners are $10 & a Family ticket is $50 for 2 adults and three 12 – 16 kids & others less than 12 in age.

For all enquiries call 0408 076 965

Nyora thank the Club sponsors for this season:
Miles Mechanical Pakenham
Total Autos Pakenham
Rip it Up Earthworks Bittern
Bursons Pakenham
Highline Racewear
HardAzz Concrete and Excavations
Tooradin Sports Club
ARP Earthworks
All Care Exhausts Pakenham
Bass Concreting
John Duff & CO – Shell
Mepstead Electrical
J Allcock Plumbing
ZT Carpentree
Ramsdale Wreckers
SS AG Services
Polly’s Auto Salvage
Sherlow’s Used Cars
Concept Trade Solutions
Flatout Trailers & Fabrication
Random Panda Photography
Onsite Rental Group
Mornington Motors
ML Automotive
Peninsula District Towing
Somerville Motor Body Works
Ultimate Awards
BAM Inspect & Build
Pakenham Accident Repairs
BGN Auto Glass
Affordable Auto Salvage
Ripper Sticker
Taylor’d Fabrications
Russell Steel
Heartfelt Candles
Dandenong Pest Control
Pakenham Towing
Wise Steel Sales
Victorian Crane Trucks
Snap On Mornington Peninsula
EPH Group

Wayne Alberni – Drouin 4
Brendan Miller – Alexandra 6
Darren Nelson – Alexandra 8
Lucas Condor – Ballarat 9
Jason McKean – Rosedale 10
Jack Ramsdale – Nyora 11
Shona Bent – Nyora 12
Chris Miles – Nyora 17
Michael Cormack – Bairnsdale 23
Simon Bent – Nyora 24
Jayde Aarts – Nyora 25
Gemma Laidlaw – Bairnsdale 26
Chris Aarts – Nyora 29
Warrick Taylor – Nyora 43
Jayden Alberni – Drouin 44
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Matt Nelson – Alexandra 61
Darren Skilton – Nyora 69
Peter Angus – Nyora 71
Josh Beattie – Goulburn Valley 72
Kate Meyer – Ballarat 76
Ricky O’Meara –Nagambie 79
Stephen Mitchell – Nagambie 81
Anthony McKean – Rosedale 83
Brad Warren – Nyora 84
Andrew Jordan – Alexandra 89
Dale Mead – Nyora 95
Travis Ramsdale – Nyora 99
Daniel Angus – Nyora 124
Danny Cox – Nagambie 126
Matt Sgroi – Nagambie 129
David Barrie – Colac 183
David Donegan – Alexandra 308

Simon Evans – 04
Grant Attewell – 4
Jake Young – 9
Nick Hill – 21
William George – 22
Garry Charles – 42
Ian Lamb – 53
Nathan Jones – 69
Matthew Acker – 72
Paul Warren – 84
Ronza George – 000
Ashley George – 100
Chris Klemm – 101
Nathan Taylor – 144
Jayden Taylor – 145
Craig McKendry – 154
Alan Bushell – 157
Josh Mitchell – 186
Jason Judd – 187
Matt Haby – 304
Cory Whiting – 305
Matt Nelson – 361
Brad Warren – 474
Kevin Hughes – 623
Cody Shmal – 716
Dinky Parker – 721
James Kane – 777
Alan George – 911

Sway Wilson – Nyora 74
Lewis Williams – Nyora 5
Maddi Miles – Nyora 18
Chloe Coomer – Drouin 76
Tasharni Murray – Drouin 45
Kacey Ingram – Victoria 2
Damon Ingram – Nyora 79
Jackie Angus – Nyora 19
Nathalya Westwood – Rosedale 28

Dylan Barrow – Alexandra 88
Maddy Capon – Alexandra 66
Seth Slone – Alexandra 92
Jayden Bryant – Drouin 14
Natalie O’Donnell – Nyora 96
Zoe Young – Nyora 57
Daniel Attewell – Nyora 6
Courtney Meakins – Nyora 84
Rhys Meakins – Nyora 85
Logan Mair – Nyora 61
Dillon Taylor – Alexandra 4
Todd Atkins – Portland 11
River Paterson – Alexandra 47

Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media
For Nyora Speedway Inc.