Big Bairnsdale Speedway Saturday night show and Division 2 Hot Rod state title

This Saturday night at Bairnsdale Speedway the club will host yet another Victorian title for the season with the Division 2 Hot Rod drivers competing for their championship event, whilst the show will be further packed with entertainment with the Late Model Sedans, Sprintcars, Wingless Sprints, Compact Speedcars and Standard Saloons to bring plenty of their own action.BIG BAIRNSDALE SPEEDWAY SATURDAY NIGHT SHOW – DIVISION 2 HOT ROD STATE TITLE

In the ‘Dwyer’s Toyota’ Division 2 Hot Rod state championship race, multiple times state champion Scotty Laidlaw from Morwell is the driver to beat and currently the holder of the number one plate. He has won the last three titles in succession whilst Leigh Burkett, Melissa Tatterson, Cameron Dike, Scott Angus, Rob Tatterson and Ricky Mills are amongst others who might just figure at the point end of the title event and claim the number one mantle.

The Division 2 Hot Rods are one of the oldest Victorian Speedway Council divisions and popular in Bairnsdale where this year’s title is to be run and won.

Crowds love the sound and site of Sprintcar racing and at Bairnsdale the action is fast and furious when the things with wings are in the show. Current Victorian champion Mark Laity is the benchmark however banking plenty of wins this season is Shane Steenholdt and he will be a challenger.

Sprintcar young gun’s Alistair Bastian who himself is a recent feature event winner, Justin Barton, Dillon Siely and Adam Greenwood are also drivers to keep an eye on whilst Peter Laity and David Dennison will keep the pressure on and use their experience to come on through to the line, potentially as winners.

The Wingless Sprintcar 50 lap event has attracted some top level cars from around Gippsland, Melbourne and down towards Geelong. Wayne Logue and Travis Evans whom have both been winners in Gippsland this year are in the line up as is Paul Drew, David Alford, Matt & James Mills, Jordan Abbott and Ross Jarred.

It is a difficult field to pick a winner from, and fifty laps can really be tough on cars and competitors however Matt Mills has been very consistent wherever he has competed this season and hard to look past.

A handy little line up in the Compact Speedcars Presidents Cup will see the Hutchinson’s Butch and Mark do battle with Louis Rodriguez, Jack and Brad Day, John Unwin and the ladies Tania Hallett and Kerran Tangey.

In Late Model eyes should be on Australia # 2 driver Cameron Pearson, whilst last week’s winner Shane Belk is eyeing a bigger scalp with his sights set on Pearson. Kristin Vermeulen fly’s in from New Zealand also to compete.

Finally the Standard Saloons complete the line-up with Josh Thomas, Leigh Mitchell, Simon Strang and Adam Wharton all in the field.

Entry is Adults for $20, Pensioners $15, Children aged 12 to 16 is $8 and under 12 are free, whilst a family pass for two adults and 2 children under the age of 16 is $40.

For enquiries please call Mark on 0427 575 335
Gates open at 1pm and Racing from 5:00pm

The Bairnsdale Speedway Clubs sponsors list includes:
M & S Laity Hay Contractors – Wiseleigh
W.G.I Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage – Bairnsdale
East Gippsland Locks & Keys – Bairnsdale
TRFM & Gold 1242
Bridgestone Bairnsdale
Bairnsdale Automotive & Transmissions – Bairnsdale
Riviera Tyre Service – Bairnsdale
Eyecare Plus – Bairnsdale
Riviera Concrete – Bairnsdale
Dennison Quality Roofing – Bairnsdale
A1 Trailers – Bairnsdale
Autobarn – Bairnsdale
Phase Link Electrics – Paynesville
Carpet World – Bairnsdale East
Westpoint Motors – Bairnsdale
Curtis Engineering – Bairnsdale
Patties Foods – Australia
Reece Plumbing – Bairnsdale
East Gippsland Plumbing –Bairnsdale
Tambo Waste – Bairnsdale
U Pick Car Wreckers – Morwell
Logues Auto Wreckers – Morwell
Buchan Towing – Buchan
Great Southern Kitchens – Bairnsdale
Cheap Tyres – Morwell
Apco – Bairnsdale
Clifton Mobile Homes – Bairnsdale
Zac’s Firewood Services – Bairnsdale
Mitchell Valley Excavations – Lindenow
ARB 4 x 4 – Bairnsdale
Lakes Entrance Tyre Service
Egee Printers – Bairnsdale
SS Auto wholesalers – Bairnsdale
Bristol Paint – Bairnsdale
Dwyer’s Toyota – Bairnsdale
Tim Bull MP – Member for Gippsland East

Sponsored by Dwyer’s Toyota
Vic 1 Scotty Laidlaw
5 Ricky Low
8 Cameron Dike
10 Jason Seymour
11 Robert Tatterson
14 Ricky Mills
18 Jamie Angus
19 Kevin Hays
21 Melissa Tatterson
24 Scott Angus
27 Jake Van Den Brand
75 Gavin Summerill
81 Leigh Burkett
83 Stuart Barkway

1 Mark Laity
5 Shane Steenholdt
9 Daniel Orr
15 David Dennison
28 Michael Evans
35 Adam Greenwood
39 Vince Charter
42 Mark Noonan
51 Brett Maxwell
55 Alistair Bastian
66 Peter Laity
86 Justin Barton
87 Dillon Siely
90 Andrew Nielsen
94 Craig Tucker

V3 John Rotheram
V5 Paul Drew
VX6 Daryl Logue
V7 David Alford
VX9 Viv Rockliff
VX10 Steven Loader
VX12 Matt Mills
VX13 James Mills
V13 Clinton Ogilvie
V16 Wayne Logue
V24 Michael Lovell
V37 Ben Grey
V46 Jordan Abbott
V49 Ross Jarred
V50 Robert Stevenson
VX64 Brett Pope
V70 Aron Lawrence
VX77 Travis Evans
VX91 Ben Poliansky
VX95 Daniel Mayson

V2 Butch Hutchinson
V6 Mark Hutchinson
V1 Louis Rodriquez
V15 Tania Hallett
V57 Jack Day
V59 Brad Day
V77 Kerran Tangey
V86 John Unwin

ACT7 Scott McPherson
V9 Shane Belk
V10 Cameron Pearson
NZ12 Kristin Vermeulen
V12 Brock Edwards (Tbc)
AX21 Chevy Edwards (Tbc)
V31 James Cornfoot

BD 15 Sky Eddy
BD 57 Adam Wharton
BD 55 Josh Thomas
BD 12 Peter Cormack
RD 19 Leigh Mitchell
RD 76 Aaron Laidlaw
DS77 Simon Strang
RD41 Kane Gibson

Ends Release.