Archerfield back in action

After a couple of weeks break, during which a large contingent of local racers competed interstate in several state and national championship events with some success, Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway fires back into life this Saturday night (February 10) for round 10 of the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship. As always, there will be variety aplenty on the support program with Formula 500’s, Compact Speedcars, AMCA Nationals, Wingless Sprints and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans also in action.

Remarkably, although he is yet to reproduce the results that carried him to victory in the track championship last season, Luke Oldfield has been good enough each week to find himself atop the point standings and on target to defend his title. Although a regular on the podium this season, Oldfield is yet to breakthrough for a feature race win and will be looking to rectify that anomaly this weekend to get the best possible start to the second half of the season. The best of the locals during the international events staged over the Christmas/ New Year period with a podium result and a fourth-place finish against the best from across Australia and overseas, Oldfield returns home from his interstate campaign ready to extend his advantage and move closer to putting back-to-back championships in the books.

In addition to all the familiar faces such as Andrew Scheuerle, Callum Walker, Mitchell Gee, Peter Lack, Brent Kratzmann, Ben Hilder and Mark Pholi, all of whom sit inside the top ten in the championship, another contender this weekend is American racer Geoff Ensign. With over 50 feature race wins to his credit and, having won two track championships at home during the 2017 season, Ensign is certainly no slouch and will be in the thick of the action as he seeks to become the third American to win a Sprintcar feature race at Archerfield this season. A feature winner here earlier in the season, Allan Woods is also amongst the 30+ nominations, as are former track titleholder Bryan Mann and Australian Dirt Modified champion Kevin Britten and all the track championship regulars.

As has been the case at most of their shows so far this season, Compact Speedcars are out in force with over 20 nominations, including former Queensland champion Matt Jurczak in his first appearance for the season. Jurczak will take on experienced rivals such as Wayne Corbett, Steve Swingler, Dave Collins and Jim Kennedy, along with the new breed of front runners that have emerged this season that includes Trent Usher, Tim Farrell, Richard Treanor and Riki Harrison.

Whilst not much has changed in the Formula 500 pecking order with Australian champ Liam Williams still the benchmark performer, there are an increasing number of competitors who are making inroads in their bid to upstage Williams in feature race competition. Ryan McNamara returns home after contesting the Speedweek series in Victoria, having won round three of the championship at Hamilton’s Western Speedway. Siblings Charlie and Kristin Brown are always in the thick of the action, with Nick Hodges, Kurt Wilson and a returning Ryan Skennar also expected to feature in the results.

Whilst a couple of front runners have opted to miss this round of the Shock Absorber Therapy AMCA Nationals Track Championship, a good field has been gathered regardless and their absence opens the door for others to step up and challenge the likes of Steve Potts, Matt Hardy and Nathan Durston. Expect Michael Mason, Thomas Vickery and Lewis Gamble to take maximum advantage and feature near the front of the field in a feature race that, if previous rounds are any indication, might just be the closest of the night.

Cody O’Connell will be chasing consecutive feature race wins in round eight of the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Club Championship, following his success in the previous round on January 20. Having collected heat wins before finishing second and third respectively behind O’Connell in round seven, Paul Robinson and Brant Chandler look the most likely to upstage O’Connell, although Brian Dixon and Brad Keilar will also be in the mix.

The Junior Formula 500 guns always produce racing that bristles with youthful enthusiasm and a lack of fear, while the Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedan brigade will again showcase their low budget brand of racing, with action on dtrack from 5.00pm. Sprintcar time trials are scheduled for 5.30pm and the main program will kick into action at 6.00pm.

East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship round nine nominations: Allan Woods, Andrew Marks, Andrew Scheuerle, Anthony Lambert, Ben Hilder, Brad Ayers, Brendon Claridge, Brent Kratzmann, Brett Minett, Brock Dean, Bryan Mann, Callum Walker, Cody Maroske, Dale Shilletto, Dan Murray, David Whell, Geoff Ensign, Jason King, Karl Hoffmans, Kevin Britten, Kris Jennings, Kristy Bonsey, Liam Atkinson, Luke Oldfield, Mark Pholi, Mitch Gowland, Mitchell Gee, Nathan McFarlane, Nelson Reddacliff, Peter Lack, Phil Foster, Steve Greer, Stewart Craig, Travis Woods

Shock Absorber Therapy AMCA Nationals Track Championship round eight nominations: Michael Denning, Nick Storey, Matt Hardy, Russ Hardy, Graeme Holland, Russell Knight, Michael Mason, Anthony Joyce, Damien Groer, Steve Potts, Thomas Vickery, Ricky Sendall, Chris Wright, Dallas Czerwinski, Nathan Durston, Nathan Jones, Lewis Gamble

Formula 500 nominations: Adrian Farrell, Brady Argles, Cameron Bertuch, Charlie Brown, Ethan Eyears, Kristin Brown, Kurt Wilson, Liam Williams, Nick Hodges, Randy Morgan, Royce Harvey, Ryan McNamara, Ryan Skennar, Tony Bailey, Wayne Wallace

Compact Speedcar nominations: Andrew Parkes, Bernie Clarke, Cory Stothard, Dave Collins, Dave Swan, Glenn Prowse, Glenn Wright, James Barton, Jayden O’Toole, Jim Kennedy, Mark Maczek, Matt Jurczak, Matt O’Neill, Mitchell Rooke, Nick Gannon, Richard Rooke, Richard Treanor, Riki Harrison, Steve Swingler, Tim Farrell, Trent Usher, Wayne Corbett

Wingless Sprint nominations: Ben Hull, Brad Keiler, Brant Chandler, Brian Dixon, Cody O’Connell, David Ellis, Geoff Davey, Josh Dreaver, Mick Lampard, Mick Reid, Paul Robinson, Sam West

For event updates and information, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook and Twitter.