Alexandra Speedway hosting Victorian Street Stock title this Easter weekend

Alexandra Speedway plays host to one of the biggest and most popular Victorian Speedway titles this Easter long weekend when they see forty of Victoria’s, South Australia’s, and New South Wales best Street Stock drivers in town on Friday and Saturday evening to put on a show not to be missed.

Racing begins on Good Friday from 4pm with three rounds of racing for the Street Stocks supported by Speedway Sedan’s Australia Junior Sedan racing, Sports Sedan and Victorian Speedway Council Junior Sedan racing.

Drivers then come back again on the Saturday night for to compete in some more qualifying before cars are scheduled into main events because of their qualification points.

In the Street Stock line-up nine Alexandra club members will be vying for champion honours with Matt Nelson from Woori Yallock the current Queensland Champion the number one driver in that list. Dale Morrison normally the Alexandra Speedway Club Chief Steward recently finished sixth in the South Australian title and is primed for a good run on a track he is a member of, plus add in Adrian Lawrence, Tyler Barton, Dylan Campton, Greg Parks, Kevin Brogmus, Ricky Cornwall and Adam Barkby and the members are ready to defend home turf.

The toughest competitor to defeat in the line-up is Anthony Beare from Mount Gambier. Beare is a four times national champion and a multiple times state champion around Australia, including having won six Victorian titles, including the last at Mildura.

Stiff competition for the victory will come but not limited to the before mentioned Nelson whose won back-to-back Queensland titles, Morris Ahearn, Steven Watts, Mick Dann, Jacob Mills, Jason Duell, Adrian Lawrence, Dale Morrison, Jason Degoldi, Stuey Robinson, and Shane Roycroft just to list some names.

Fans should come prepared for two days of action with overnight stay on the property allowed. Spectators should adhere to Covid restrictions such as remaining only in close contact with those you spend day to day with.

In Sports Sedan action Damien Miller broke the track record at the last race meeting and is back to try again. He will have the toughest of tough competition from Luke Fallon, Steve Kershaw, Dale Smith, Robert Garlick and Josh Service. It might not be Miller who breaks the records, it may not be Miller that wins.

Top Star Juniors once again will be challenging with Linken Paterson the most recent winner. Paterson has a target on his back with Dylan Barrow, Jayden Bryant, Rhys Meakins, Breanna Simpson, and River Paterson just some of his keen competition this weekend. For some, it is important to get some bragging rights before the upcoming Victorian title at Nyora Raceway a week later.

Some visiting drivers may prove to be tough competition for the Junior New Stars this week. Jacob Tinworth and Miller Throckmorton are developing well and are achieving wins and podiums of late. Christine and James Oliver, Maddy Capon, Tamika Simpson, and Jack Kershaw will lead the Alexandra defence of home track territory. Some exciting racing ahead this weekend for the developing Juniors.

Some chance also this weekend that Standard Saloons could break some track records also with the calibre of competition. Wayne Sheerman has wins under his belt this year in his new race car and has proven to be quick. Jeff Oldfield was one of the top qualifiers recently in the Victorian title and is one to watch, along with Kacey Ingram a young star, and Stephen Douglas. From the top to the bottom of the entry list, every driver is a potential stand-out on race night.

Spectators, please note anybody that comes on Friday night will automatically have to buy a two-day pass. If that spectator for one reason or another then comes to the gate staff at the end of Friday night needing to leave and not return, the second day’s costs will be refunded.

On Friday gates open from 8am, entry fees are $40 for a two-day adult ticket, $20 for a two-day aged or disabled pensioners ticket and a ticket for a child aged 10 to 16 years. Kids under the age of 10 can attend for free. A family ticket for 2 adults and three children between the ages of 10 and 16 is $100.

For Saturday night only, Racing starts from 4pm, gates are open from 8am at a cost of $50 for a family of 2 adults and 3 children between the ages of 10 to 16, $20 per adult and $10 for children aged 10 to 16 and aged and invalid pensioners. Children under 10 years of age enter for free.

Anybody who requires information can contact 0438 700 124.

Alexandra & District Speedway Club thanks their wonderful supporters
Alexandra & Yea Pre-Mix
Barca Trailers
Beach Earthmoving
Bendigo Bank Ringwood East
Campton Graphics
Donnaz Undergrounds
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Endeavour Alexandra
Fallon’s Bus Service
Foodwork’s Alexandra
Healesville Directional Drilling
Highline Racewear
LS Quarry
Outer Eastern Steel
Raslaar Engineering
Revegetation Victoria
S & N Builders
Smooth Suspension
Town & Country Tennis Courts
Tyrepower Alexandra
Wandin Heavy Haulage
Waverley Exhaust
Yenckens Timber & Hardware
Yea BP

Albert Fell – South Australia 3
Adam Barkby – Alexandra 4
Morris Ahearn – Mortlake 4
Steven Watts – Warrnambool 5
Mick Dann – South Australia 5
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Jacob Mills – Wangaratta 11
Dale Morrison – Drouin 13
Ricky Cornwall – Alexandra 15
Scott Secombe – Redline 18
Jason Duell – South Australia 18
Anthony Sgroi – Portland 18
Sara Benson – Nyora 21
Donald Irving – Hamilton 21
Dylan Wilkinson – South Australia 24
Jason Degoldi – Redline 27
Bruce Johnson – New South Wales 33
Greg Parks – Alexandra 36
Bradley Hill – Nyora 36
Stephen Petrie – Hamilton 43
Jye Irving – Hamilton 46
Anthony Beare – South Australia 46
Jacque Whatmore – Ballarat 52
Peter Newlan – South Australia 54
Adrian Lawrence – Alexandra 55
Matthew Glab – Redline 57
Kevin Brogmus – Alexandra 58
Matt Nelson – Alexandra 61
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 65
Stuey Robinson – Colac 66
Kayla Knox – Redline 68
Chris Marino – New South Wales 81
Dylan Campton – Alexandra 81
Shane Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
David Barrie – Colac 83
Jayden Edwards – South Australia 87
Steven Hardie – Nyora 94
Tyler Barton – Alexandra 94
Wade Fell – Mildura 97
Stephen Brook – Redline 99

Damien Miller – Alexandra 6
Steven Akil – Alexandra 8
Jaimi Barber – Corowa 8
Anthony Knight – Nagambie 19
Russell Smith – Alexandra 48
Nathan Rowan – Nyora 48
Steven Kershaw – Alexandra 52
Robert Garlick – Alexandra 63
Dale Smith – Alexandra 64
Peter Angus – Nyora 71
Josh Beattie – Goulburn Valley 72
Luke Fallon – Alexandra 77
Josh service – Alexandra 84
Harry Orme – Alexandra 99

Jacob Tinworth – Hamilton – 7
Rye Orme – Alexandra 9
Billy McBride – Alexandra 13
Tamika Simpson – Alexandra 23
Jasmine Bryant – Alexandra 29
Toby Parks – Alexandra 43
Brody Barton – Nyora 47
Jack Kershaw – Alexandra 52
Christine Oliver – Alexandra 62
James Oliver – Alexandra 63
Maddy Capon – Alexandra 66
Will Fallon – Alexandra 77
Miller Throckmorton – Colac 81

Breanna Simpson – Alexandra 10
Dylan Barrow – Alexandra 17
Tenayah Barton – Nyora 19
River Paterson – Alexandra 47
Kiarna Barton – Nyora 47
Linken Paterson – Alexandra 48
Jayden Bryant – Alexandra 49
Jack Randall – Alexandra 51
Logan Mair – Nyora 61
Riley Lawrence – Rosedale 66
Rhys Meakins – Alexandra 85
Seth Sloane – Alexandra 93

Jaimi Barber – Corowa 8
Kacey Ingram – Nyora 43
Jeff Oldfield – Redline 45
Stephen Douglas – Nyora 44
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Wayne Sheerman – Alexandra 69
Victor Benson – Drouin 96
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 97

Ends Release.