5 Star Dirt Series Sydney swing

The 5 Star Dirt Series for V8 Dirt Modifieds is certainly heating up as a bolstered field of drivers prepare to contest the fifth series round at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway this Saturday night.

With this event being the last visit to Valvoline Raceway this season for V8 Dirt Modifieds, the 5 Star Dirt Series round is the perfect chance for drivers to gain more laps around the track off the back of a recent announcement confirming that next season’s the Australian Championship will take place at the venue.

The formidable line up of just under 30 drivers will be composed of contenders from throughout New South Wales, Vict5 Star Dirt Series Sydney Swingoria and Queensland, with the latter of the states being represented by none other than current and four-time Australian Champion Kevin Britten, who will be an exciting addition to the night’s racing.

Also flying the flag for Queensland alongside Britten will be current NSW Champion David Clark, who has proven that he is in great form this season, along with Sam Bruggy and Phillip Roberts, while the Victorian contingent will be led by Brett Clarke, who emerged victorious in the class’ first visit to the Sydney track in seven years back in November.

Clarke will no doubt be hoping to repeat this feat come Saturday night, while fellow Victorian Steve Milthorpe will be looking for a strong result after making a return to the track in the previous round, having spent the majority of the 2018-19 season on the sidelines.

Recently banking some solid series points after claiming back to back Victorian Title victories at Moama’s Heartland Raceway, with the event doubling as the third 5 Star Dirt Series round, Jai Stephenson will be riding a wave of confidence heading into round five, as will round four winner Mark Robinson, whose success at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway has consolidated his top-five position in the point standings.

Other entrants from the host state include the Corbett brothers Chris and Dale, former Victorian Champion Scott Cannon, Andrew Pezzutti and Joshua Rose, all of whom will be expected to fare well, while the Sportsman category will consist of Paul Markulin, Wayne Simpson, current Australian RSA Street Stocker Champion Kiona Sunerton, Ben Hodge (Vic), Jake Baines, Mark Griffiths, David Hopping and Tony Dunn.

During the previous 5 Star Dirt Series round, which incorporated the Garden State Shield, at Avalon Raceway, Robinson led from start to finish to claim a convincing win ahead of Daryl Hickson, who was piloting a brand-new Troyer car, and Chris Corbett, who was guest driving the Mark Topperwien-owned Vic # 23 car.

Michael Ardley powered forward from position 14 to score a pleasing fourth-place finish, while Brent Hough improved on his 10th-place starting position to complete the top five. Rounding out the top-10 finishers were Milthorpe, Zeke Edwards, Scott Whiting, Jason Andreatta and Troy Scott.

Heat-race winners were Steve Lodwick, Milthorpe, Chris Corbett and Cannon. Steve Lodwick, while Cannon, Paul Tindal, Rose, Todd Hobson and Stephen Hopkins were unfortunate to suffer premature retirements.

Current 5 Star Dirt Series Point Standings after Round 4:
1. Jai Stephenson (NSW) – 588 points (WC)
2. Mark Robinson (NSW) – 558
3. David Clark (Qld) – 438 (WC)
4. Scott Cannon (NSW) – 432 (WC)
5. Chris Corbett (NSW) – 404.50 (WC)
6. Joshua Rose (NSW) – 390 (WC)
7. Andrew Pezzutti (NSW) – 239 (WC)
8. Mitchell Randall (NSW) – 236 (WC)
9. Travis Kennedy (WA) – 200 (WC)
10. Andrew Firth (NSW) – 196 (WC)

WC = wild card used

To find out more about Dirt Modifieds Australia, LIKE them on Facebook by searching DMA V8 Dirt Modifieds.

5 Star Dirt Series Round 5 Nominations:
A1 Kevin Britten
N2 Zak Blanch
N4 Wayne Simpson – S
Q5 David Clark
N9 Mark Robinson
V11 Brett Clarke
Q14 Sam Bruggy
N16 Kiona Sunerton – S
N18 Harley Wright
N25 Andrew Pezzutti
N28 Trent Scofield
V36 Ben Hodge – S
Q37 Phillip Roberts
N41 Jake Baines – S
N43 Joshua Rose
N45 Jai Stephenson
N47 Dale Corbett
N48 Chris Corbett
V58 Kevin Greene
N61 Zac McDonald
N62 Matt Ferry
N63 Mark Griffiths – S
N78 David Hopping – S
N79 Scott Cannon
N83 Tony Dunn – S
V84 Todd Hobson
V93 Steve Milthorpe
N97 Paul Markulin – S
N99 Royden Alcorn
– S = Sportsman