5 Star Dirt Series concludes

The hotly-contested 5 Star Dirt Series for V8 Dirt Modifieds came to an end last Saturday night at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway, and at the completion of the seventh and final round, it was Chris Corbett who topped the point standings to claim the overall series honours.

5 Star Dirt Series Concludes

Photo: 44 Photography

With a record 66 drivers taking part in the series this season, the quest for valuable series points during each of the seven rounds was an exciting one, with the double points wild card being a popular addition to the series.

While it was defending 5 Star Dirt Series Champion Mark Robinson who emerged victorious in last Saturday night’s feature race, he was unable to claw back enough points on series leader Chris Corbett, who had banked double points by virtue of winning the penultimate round, which coincided with the WA Title.

Following Robinson home in the feature race was Sam Bruggy and Scott Cannon, who completed the podium in second and third place respectively, while current and four-time Australian Champion Kevin Britten and Ray Klarich rounded out the top five. Remaining feature-race finishers included Josh Rose, Trent Scofield, Andrew Firth and Peter Readett.

The feature race was well and truly one of attrition, with no less than 11 drivers winding up on the infield, the most notable of which was Chris Corbett, who was thankfully covered by his recent double points haul.

Joining Corbett on the infield was Chris Polsen, Current NSW Champion David Clark, Dale Corbett (Chris’ brother), Anthony Ashen, Geff Rose, Brett Clarke, Zac MacDonald, Trevor Wiley, Andrew Pezzutti and Kevin Stow.

The DNF couldn’t have come at a worse time for Clark, Pezzutti and Dale Corbett, each of whom were sitting inside the top 10 of the series point standings and were hoping to consolidate their positions. Thankfully, their lack of points during the final round wasn’t enough to relegate them outside of the top 10.

Unable to compete in last Saturday night’s round due to other commitments, current and two-time Victorian Champion Jai Stephenson, who had been sitting atop the standings earlier in the season, had collected enough points in previous rounds to hold on to third place in the final series standings, with Cannon and Clark completing the top five.

Proving their consistency and competitiveness, series winner Chris Corbett and eighth-placed Pezzutti became the only two drivers to finish inside the top 10 for the past three consecutive seasons, while Western Australian Vin Smith was this season’s top performing Sportsman driver.

Dirt Modifieds Australia would like to thank drivers for their participation during this season’s 5 Star Dirt Series.

Final 5 Star Dirt Series Standings:
1. Chris Corbett (NSW)
2. Mark Robinson (NSW)
3. Jai Stephenson (NSW)
4. Scott Cannon (NSW)
5. David Clark (Qld)
6. Joshua Rose (NSW)
7. Travis Kennedy (WA)
8. Andrew Pezzutti (NSW)
9. Sam Bruggy (Qld)
10. Dale Corbett (NSW)

To find out more about Dirt Modifieds Australia, LIKE them on Facebook by searching DMA V8 Dirt Modifieds.