Josh Buchan wins Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series title

Josh Buchan and HMO Racing are the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series champions. Image: SpeedSeries / Daniel Kalisz

HMO Customer Racing’s Josh Buchan is the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series winner following the last two races at Mount Panorama.

The 27-year-old Hyundai i30 N driver won the title over his team-mate Bailey Sweeny who led the series at the start of the day. The latter was classified a DNF in Race 2 where he lost the points lead. Despite finishing second of the Aussies and eighth overall, it was not enough to overall Buchan who was 12th and fifth of the locals.

“I am very honoured and privileged to be here,” Buchan said. “I have no words.” He also acknowledge his team-mate Sweeney and said he had the fastest car all year.

In the meantime, Cyan Racing Lynk & Co wrapped up the Kumho TCR World Tour teams’ championship. The TCR Would Tour drivers’ championship will go down to the final round next weekend in Macau with Rob Huff (Audi RS3 LMS) and Norbert Michelisz (Hyundai Elantra) tied on points.

The race was won by Frenchman Yann Ehrlacher ahead of his Lynk & Co team-mate Thed Bjork. Huff was in front of Tony D’Alberto (Wall Racing Honda Civic FL5), Michelisz, Nestor Girolami (Honda), Frederick Vervisch (Audi), Sweeney and Zac Soutar (Audi).

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the TCR. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Ehrlacher led Santiago Urrutia from the start while D’Alberto broke up a Lynk & Co one-two-three when he briefly headed Bjork. The Cyan cars continued at the front until Urrutia hit the wall at Reid Park on Lap 5 which put him out.

The Safety Car came out when Jordan Cox parked his dead Peugeot after the Chase on Lap 7. While under caution, Aaron Cameron pulled his Peugeot off the track after Hell Corner. Cameron had battled with D’Alberto for fourth in the latter part of the opening lap before an off-road excursion at the Chase dropped him to ninth.

The race was set to resume for a one-lap sprint to the finish when Mikel Azcona (Elantra) hit the wall at Forrest’s Elbow which meant a parade finish. The placings behind Soutar were Qing Hua Ma (Lynk & Co) in 10th and ahead of Ben Bargwanna (Peugeot), Buchan, Michael Clemente and Iain McDougall in Audis, Tom Oliphant (Lynk & Co) and Lachlan Mineeff (Audi). Teddy Clairet (Peugeot) retired with damage while Will Brown (Audi) and Brad Harris (Honda) were non-starters.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]