GALLERY: NSW Motor Race Championships Round 6

While some were resolved, the last chance to stake a claim in the points, took place at Sydney Motorsport Park with the Nankang Tyres NSW Motor Race Championships.

The sixth round was also the penultimate round of the RX8 Cup series where Luke Webber won the three races. He beat Jack Pennacchia in two races and Justin Barnes in the other. Barnes continues to lead the National series. The state championship has been won by Pennacchia over Tom Shaw and Webber.

NSW Production Touring finished the year with a one-hour enduro. Simon Hodges (Class X BMW M4) won the feature from Chris Lillis with the debut of his Class A2 Chev Camaro, and Matt Holt (A2 HSV Clubsport). The State Championship, worked out on a class basis, went to Andrew McMaster (BMW 125i) over Dan Tierney (Toyota 86) and Sean Cade (VW Golf GTi).

Different Radical drivers came up trumps in the final three races of the Industrie Clothing NSW Supersports with Mark Brame, Justin Tigani and Jonathon Canavan. Overall, Tigani won the title over Canavan with Sergio Pires third, also in a Radical SR3.

The Kumho Tyre Sports Sedans Championship has already been decided, and most of the leading contenders went to the Gold Coast to contest the National series. Ben Mannix in his Mazda RX7/Chev won the round with three wins over Tim Leithhead (MARC Focus) and Barry Kelleher (TA2 Mustang). In Joe Said’s Fiat 124/Rotary Turbo, Brad Shiels won the championship.

Darren Williams (Sabre) was able to secure the NSW Formula Vee Championship despite a DNF in the first race and tenth for the final round which went to Tyron Wiseman (Checkmate). Wiseman finished second in the title chase, besides winning Div 2. Geoff Bennett (Jacer) was third while Stephen Butcher (Stinger) took another 1200cc crown.

The final round of HQ Holdens was won by Chris Molle with two race wins and a second. Jarrod Harber won the other by 0.003s which was his first win. He finished second for the round ahead of Dave Proglio while Molle went back-to-back in winning the championship.

In his Formula Holden Reynard 92D, Doug Barry won the first race ahead of Dallara Formula 3 pilots Rod Baker and Andrew Roberts who won the next two outings over Barry.

National Formula Ford competitor Eddie Beswick won the three Formula Ford races, the first over fellow Spectrum racer Cody Maynes-Rutty and then Liam Loiacono (Mygale) in the others. In Superkarts Dylan Stephens (250cc Maverick) was a three race winner with Adam Stewart (125cc Anderson Mirage) the other and twice second.

Images: NSW Motor Race Championships/Riccardo Benvenuti

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]