Morris beats Moffat in Phillip Island Trans Am thriller

Nash Morris won Race 3 of Round 2 of the National Trans Am Series at Phillip Island by 0.0473s. Picture: Shannons SpeedSeries

Nash Morris won Race 3 of Round 2 of the National Trans Am Series at Phillip Island by 0.0473s. Picture: Shannons SpeedSeries

Nash Morris has beaten James Moffat to victory in Race 3 of Round 2 of the National Trans Am Series at the Phillip Island Shannons SpeedSeries event by just 0.0473s.

Morris led virtually all 11 laps but series pace-setter Moffat briefly edged ahead on a handful of occasions in the closing stages, including during the last corner.

They were separated by virtually nothing at the chequered flag, with Lochie Dalton finishing just 0.7938s further back in third position.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Trans Am. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Morris and Ben Grice shared the front row and it was the former leading the latter when they exited Doohan Corner for the first time, from Tom Hayman, Brett Holdsworth, and Moffat.

Dalton was eighth from 11th on the grid and Owen Kelly was 10th from 15th at the end of Lap 1.

The latter won Race 1 but failed to finish Lap 2 when he was turned into a wall by Garry Rogers Motorsport team-mate Edan Thornburrow, who would be issued a 30-second post-race penalty.

Moffat passed Holdsworth for fourth on the run to the Hayshed on Lap 2, then overtook Hayman for third on Lap 4, by which time Dalton had risen to seventh and Kelly to eighth.

On Lap 5, Grice outbraked himself at Miller Corner (Turn 4) and made contact with Morris as he ran long at the slow right-hander.

He dropped to fourth while Moffat took the opportunity to launch an attack for the race lead, which he looked to have prised from Morris before ‘Flash’ went as deep as he dared as they rounded the Hayshed.

A Safety Car was called on Lap 6 after Holdsworth and Tyler Everingham had separately stopped on-track.

Morris led from Moffat, Hayman, Grice, Dalton, and Kelly for the Lap 8 restart, when Hayman made an unsuccessful bid to round up Moffat at Doohan Corner.

Dalton passed Grice for fourth off Southern Loop on Lap 9, and Kelly soon followed the Tasmanian by Car #03.

Morris was becoming increasingly defensive as Moffat searched for a way through on the Supercheap Auto entry, and nearly did so as they ran down Gardner Straight at the start of Lap 10.

Dalton showed the nose at Hayman at Miller Corner on Lap 11 and made contact which moved the latter wide, making for a change of third position, and Kelly took advantage to nab fourth.

Up the very front, Moffat was still hassling Morris and nearly pulled off a pass for victory on the final lap, but came up just short.

Dalton took the chequered flag in third, from Kelly, Jaylyn Robotham, Cody Gillis, Hayman, Elliot Barbour, Elliott Cleary, and Joshua Webster.

UPDATE: Dalton 15sec penalty, drops from third to ninth; Cleary 30sec penalty, drops from ninth to 12th in classification

Grice was a DNF after he lost a wheel late in the piece and spun into the gravel trap at Lukey Heights.

Round 3 takes place at Winton on June 9-11, and will be streamed live and ad-free on Stan Sport.

Results: Race 3 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 67 Supercheap Auto Nash Morris Ford Mustang O 11 20:05.5828
2 34 Team Valvoline GRM James Moffat Ford Mustang O 11 20:05.6301
3 73 Owen Kelly Motorsport Owen Kelly Ford Mustang O 11 20:06.8809
4 29 The Racing Academy Jaylyn Robotham Ford Mustang O 11 20:07.9201
5 5 The Racing Academy Cody Gillis Ford Mustang O 11 20:08.4776
6 30 Tom Hayman Motorsport Tom Hayman Ford Mustang O 11 20:08.9713
7 75 Pioneer DJ Elliot Barbour Chevrolet Camaro O 11 20:12.7393
8 200 Dream Racing Aust /Auto Fix Joshua Webster Chevrolet Camaro O 11 20:18.8876
9 45 AWC Lochie Dalton Ford Mustang O 11 20:21.4239
10 777 Dream Racing Australia Craig Scutella Chevrolet Camaro M 11 20:22.9515
11 23 Holinger Racing John Holinger Chevrolet Camaro M 11 20:23.9005
12 19 The Racing Academy Elliott Cleary Ford Mustang O 11 20:44.0301
DNF 03 All American Driveline Ben Grice Ford Mustang O 9 16:53.5011
DNF 116 Sydney Property Care GRM Edan Thornburrow Ford Mustang O 8 15:16.4798
DNF 27 Dream Racing Australia Tyler Everingham Chevrolet Camaro O 5 8:19.1095
DNF 99 TPS Group /Breeze Holiday Park Brett Holdsworth Chevrolet Camaro O 4 6:33.1684
DNF 8 Wealth Rite Racing Chris Pappas Ford Mustang H  

Classes: O Outright, H Hoosier Cup, M Masters Cup

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]