Bargwanna takes Phillip Island V8TC pole

Jude Bargwanna has pole for the Phillip Island V8 Touring Cars round

Jude Bargwanna has pole for the Phillip Island V8 Touring Cars round

Anderson Motorsport’s Jude Bargwanna has grabbed pole position for Round 1 of the Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car Series in a red flag-truncated Qualifying session at Phillip Island.

Bargwanna (FG Falcon) was quickest after the first flyers on a 1:36.6110s while practice pace-setter Jamie Tilley (FG Falcon) sat fifth on a 1:42.7651s.

Tilley went top on his next lap with a 1:35.8285s but only held the mantle for a moment before Bargwanna clocked a 1:33.9263s.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the V8 Touring Cars. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

The latter pitted just before a red flag was called in the 11th minute due to Jacob Khouri (BF Falcon) going off and finding the barriers at Southern Loop, by which time Tilley had improved to a 1:35.1718s.

That was ultimately the end of proceedings, the session called with just over two minutes of the scheduled 20 remaining.

Bargwanna and Tilley will share the front row this afternoon, from Ray Hislop (FG Falcon), Jim Pollicina (VE Commodore), Tony Auddino (BF Falcon), Tony Evangelou (BA Falcon), Antonio Molluso (FG Falcon), Khouri, and Peter Abood (VE Commodore).

Race 1, a 13-lapper, starts at 14:50 local time/AEST and will be streamed live and ad-free as part of Stan Sport’s coverage of the Shannons SpeedSeries.

International viewers can watch the action live and free on Speedcafe.

Results: Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 79 Anderson Motorsport Jude Bargwanna Ford Falcon FG C 1:33.9263
2 57 Notlaw Racing Jamie Tilley Ford Falcon FG C 1:35.1718 0:01.2455
3 23 RHM / Nulon Ray Hislop Ford Falcon FG K 1:36.1651 0:02.2388
4 7 MoComm Motorsports Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE K 1:36.3637 0:02.4374
5 4 Rightway Industrial Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF K 1:36.5312 0:02.6049
6 6 ANT Racing Tony Evangelou Ford Falcon BA K 1:38.1237 0:04.1974
7 50 Burson Auto Parts Antonio Molluso Ford Falcon FG C 1:40.8749 0:06.9486
8 5 Mr HDT Race Cars Jacob Khouri Ford Falcon BF K 1:42.4462 0:08.5199
9 67 Mr HDT Race Cars Peter Abood Holden Commodore VE K 1:49.2717 0:15.3454
Sign up here to receive our daily newsletters and breaking news alerts, sent straight to your inbox.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]