Best wins as Super2 race ends under Safety Car

Zak Best leads Aaron Love

Zak Best has won a shortened Super2 Series race in Newcastle that ended behind the Safety Car.

A seven-car crash barely a quarter of the way into the race triggered a lengthy interruption from which the race never got going again.

That left Best the victor from Aaron Love and Matt Chahda after a total of 15 laps – only six of which were held under racing conditions.

Best got the holeshot and led while Love and Chahda squabbled with Ryan Wood into the first turn.

Wood slipped from pole to fourth on the run to Turn 1 as the pack somehow navigated the opening corner without incident.

Best held a 1.3s advantage at the end of the opening lap, Love inching clear of Chahda who locked the rears into the hairpin and dropped a car length or two in the process.

In the pack, Nash Morris lost the rear end at the same corner, spinning into the run off and dropping to the rear of the pack.

The race then settled down until carnage ensued on Lap 6 when seven cars crashed out at Turn 8.

The Safety Car was immediately called after Wood triggered the smash.

He lost the rear end as he rounded the right-hander, sliding into the tyres before bouncing back into the path of Jack Perkins.

With nowhere to go, nor time to react, contact was inevitable, as it was for those behind many of whom found themselves drawn into the incident as the track became increasingly blocked.

Perkins was able to continue but only as far as the pits after he picked up significant front-end damage.

Others were also able to eventually head to the lane, including Jay Robotham, Zane Morse, Wood, and Brad Vaughan.

The prolonged clean-up required, courtesy of the fluid that had been dropped on the road both at the scene and then as cars drove away, saw the race conclude under Safety Car.

It saw Best win from Love and Chahda with a total of 15 laps in the books, the bulk completed under yellow flags.

Cameron McLeod wrapped up the Super3 class, finishing eighth outright, while Jett Johnson was second in class, 12th outright, one spot further up the road from Mason Kelly.

It was the second time the Super2 encounter had been shortened over the weekend after Saturday’s race was shortened due to delays starting it due to a crash in an earlier session.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 17 Anderson Motorsport Zak Best Ford Mustang GT S2 15 27:56.7683
2 78 Petronas Motorsport Aaron Love Ford Mustang GT S2 15 27:57.0440
3 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 27:57.4749
4 49 Cowbiz Jay Hanson Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 27:57.8084
5 88 Eggleston Motorsport Cooper Murray Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 27:58.4186
6 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 27:58.8911
7 30 Gomersall Motorsport Aaron Seton Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 27:59.6079
8 92 Ryan McLeod Racing Cars Cameron McLeod Nissan Altima S3 15 28:00.2457
9 999 Image Racing Jobe Stewart Holden Commodore VF S3 15 28:02.1278
10 89 Bowers Heavy Haulage Ryan Gilroy Holden Commodore VF S3 15 28:02.8074
11 54 Eggleston Motorsport Jordyn Sinni Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 28:04.0368
12 117 NAPA Auto Parts Jett Johnson Nissan Altima S3 15 28:05.4717
13 22 Kelly Racing Mason Kelly Nissan Altima S3 15 28:07.2224
14 97 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McCutcheon Holden Commodore VF S3 15 28:08.1237
15 33 Cylinder Head Warehouse Callum Walker Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 28:09.1076
16 6 Steeline Elly Morrow Ford Mustang GT S2 15 28:09.8525
17 39 Matt Stone Racing Chris Smerdon Holden Commodore VF S3 15 28:10.6452
18 67 World Gym Racing Nash Morris Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 28:11.8712
19 219 Masterton Motorsport James Masterton Ford Mustang GT S2 15 28:13.2034
20 35 Gomersall Motorsport Jason Gomersall Holden Commodore VF S3 15 28:14.9320
21 25 Walkinshaw Andretti United Zach Bates Holden Commodore ZB S2 15 28:19.9864
22 3 MW Motorsport Jaylyn Robotham Ford Mustang GT S2 14 28:17.7566
23 11 Turps Tippers Zane Morse Ford Mustang GT S2 13 28:18.3812
NC 70 Shaw and Partners Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore ZB S2 7 9:46.4557
NC 2 Walkinshaw Andretti United Ryan Wood Holden Commodore ZB S2 6 10:56.2486
NC 5 Dormer HVAC Services Brad Vaughan Ford Mustang GT S2 6 11:36.7290
NC 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore ZB S2 5 6:26.3970

Series points: Super2

Pos Driver Pts
1 Zak Best 279
2 Cooper Murray 261
3 Jay Hanson 231
4 Matthew Chahda 225
5 Kai Allen 222
6 Aaron Love 189
7 Aaron Seton 162
8 Jaylyn Robotham 147
9 Callum Walker 144
10 Zach Bates 138
11 Jack Perkins 138
12 Elly Morrow 135
13 James Masterton 123
14 Zane Morse 123
15 Brad Vaughan 102
16 Jordyn Sinni 90
17 Ryan Wood 90
18 Cameron Crick 78
19 Nash Morris 72
20 Lachlan Dalton 69

Series points: Super3

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jobe Stewart 288
2 Cameron McLeod 261
3 Ryan Gilroy 249
4 Jett Johnson 249
5 Matthew McCutcheon 240
6 Mason Kelly 213
7 Chris Smerdon 192
8 Jason Gomersall 180
9 Jim Pollicina 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]