Campbell puts Porsche on top in Bathurst 12 Hour Practice 5

The #912 Manthey EMA Porsche was fastest in Bathurst 12 Hour Practice 5

The #912 Manthey EMA Porsche was fastest in Bathurst 12 Hour Practice 5

Matt Campbell has given the Manthey EMA Porsche squad top spot in Practice 5 at the Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

The 2019 race winner was one of three drivers to break into the ‘twos’ during the hour-long Saturday morning session at Mount Panorama, the others being SunEnergy1’s Jules Gounon and Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Richie Stanaway, both behind the wheel of Mercedes-AMGs.

Campbell set a late 2:02.7513s to top the session by 0.0769s, with Stanaway 0.1061s off the pace in his Bathurst 12 Hour debut.

The session got underway at 08:35 local time but a red flag was deployed before anyone had a chance to set a lap due to the #101 Volante Rosso Motorsport Mercedes-AMG stopping on-track.

Once pit lane opened again, Broc Feeney set the fastest initial flyer of a 2:07.7042s in the Supercheap Auto-backed #888 Triple Eight Mercedes-AMG.

He clocked a 2:04.4861s next time through and then pitted to make way for Shane van Gisbergen, during which time Christopher Haase took over top spot with a 2:04.1543s in the #74 Melbourne Performance Centre Audi.

One Audi replaced another in first position when Frederic Vervisch wheeled the #55 Schumacher Motorsport entry to a 2:03.9568s, the fastest lap of the weekend to that point, before a rush of new fastest laps.

No sooner had Jamie Whincup set a 2:03.9232s in the #99 Triple Eight Mercedes-AMG, Gounon set a 2:03.7754s in the #75 Mercedes-AMG and then Thomas Preining a 2:03.4562s in the #912 Manthey EMA Porsche.

Gounon raised the bar even further when he nailed a 2:02.8282s at the end of the third run for Car #75, but it took almost a quarter of an hour before he was joined in the ‘twos’ when Stanaway drove the #99 Mercedes-AMG to a 2:02.8574s in the 46th minute.

Campbell bettered both with a 2:02.7513s in the #912 Porsche with four minutes remaining and, with Luca Stolz subsequently driving the SunEnergy1 entry into the garage, Manthey EMA would remain on top.

GruppeM Racing took fourth thanks to Raffaele Marciello’s 2:03.1698s in the #999 Mercedes-AMG with the chequered flag out, with the #74 Audi ending up fifth on a 2:03.3574s.

Rounding out the top 10 were the #47 Supabarn Audi, the #888 Mercedes-AMG, the #32 Team WRT BMW, the #46 Team WRT BMW, and the #65 MPC Audi, with the #55 Audi finishing 11th-fastest.

The sixth and final practice session takes place later this morning at 10:50 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 5 All drivers

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 912 Manthey EMA M.Campbell/M.Jaminet/T.Preining Porsche GT3 R Spec 2 PRO 2:02.7513  
2 75 Sun Energy 1 J.Gounon/L.Stolz Mercedes Benz AMG GT PRO 2:02.8282 0:00.0769
3 99 Boost Mobile Racing J.Whincup/R.Stanaway Mercedes Benz AMG GT PAM 2:02.8574 0:00.1061
4 999 GruppeM Racing M.Engel/M.Grenier/R.Marciello Mercedes-AMG GT3 EVO PRO 2:03.1698 0:00.4185
5 74 The Bend Motorsport Park / MPC C.Haase/P.Niederhauser/M.Drudi Audi R8 LMS Evo 2 PRO 2:03.3574 0:00.6061
6 47 Supabarn Team MPC D.Russell/T.Koundouris Audi R8 LMS Evo 2 SIL 2:03.4245 0:00.6732
7 888 Supercheap Auto Racing S.van Gisbergen/B.Feeney/M.Goetz Mercedes Benz AMG GT PRO 2:03.4428 0:00.6915
8 32 Team WRT S.van der Linde/D.Vanthoor/C.Weerts BMW M4GT3 PRO 2:03.6436 0:00.8923
9 46 Team WRT A.Farfus/M.Martin/V.Rossi BMW M4GT3 PRO 2:03.8293 0:01.0780
10 65 Sportsbet Team MPC C.Mostert/F.Ross/L.Talbot Audi R8 LMS Evo 2 PAM 2:03.8785 0:01.1272
11 55 FUCHS Lubricants Racing B.Schumacher/F.Vervisch Audi R8 LMS Evo 2 PAM 2:03.9568 0:01.2055
12 77 Mercedes-AMG Craft-Bamboo D.Juncadella/P.Ellis/N.Catsburg Mercedes-AMG GT3 PRO 2:04.1021 0:01.3508
13 777 The Bend Motorsport Park / MPC C.Mies/R.Feller/Y.Shahin Audi R8 LMS Evo 2 PAM 2:04.5317 0:01.7804
14 24 Tony Bates Racing /Makita J.Love/D.Reynolds Mercedes-AMG GT3 PAM 2:04.8457 0:02.0944
15 4 Grove Racing A.De Pasquale/B.Grove/S.Grove Porsche  911 GT3R PAM 2:05.2541 0:02.5028
16 10 MYLAND Team IMS D.Gaunt/A.Fawcet Audi R8 LMS Evo 2 SIL 2:05.5517 0:02.8004
17 9 Hallmarc Team MPC L.Holdsworth/D.Fiore/M.Cini Audi R8 LMS Evo 2 PAM 2:05.5775 0:02.8262
18 6 Wall Racing D.Wall/A.Deitz Lamborghini Huracan SIL 2:06.2057 0:03.4544
19 101 Harrolds Volante Rosso M’Sport R.Poulakis/J.Hui Mercedes Benz AMG GT SIL 2:07.4646 0:04.7133
20 44 Valmont Racing M.Zalloua/S.Pires Mercedes Benz AMG GT SIL 2:07.8128 0:05.0615
21 111 111Racing/MRA Motorsport G.Taunton/D.Currie/G.Donaldson MARC I Mazda INV 2:11.9173 0:09.1660
22 19 Nineteen Corporation C.Pancione/F.Schiller Mercedes Benz INV 2:11.9659 0:09.2146
23 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport C.Lowndes/S.Taylor Mercedes Benz AMG GT PAM 2:12.1396 0:09.3883
24 66 Daytona Sports Cars D.Thomas/S.Woodman SIN R1 INV 2:12.6369 0:09.8856
25 50 MMotorsport /Vantage Racing Trent Harrison Audi R8 LMS Evo 2 SIL 2:18.6838 0:15.9325

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]