Declan Fraser wins Super2 Series with victory in crazy finale

Declan Fraser

Declan Fraser. Picture: Ross Gibb

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Declan Fraser has won the Super2 Series after taking victory in Race 2 at the Valo Adelaide 500 despite crossing the finish line in second place.

Matt Chahda took the chequered flag in first place but had a five-second penalty hanging over his head, meaning the official victory was Fraser’s given his trailed by 2.1727s at the stripe.

MW Motorsport’s Thomas Maxwell finished 4.8873s behind Chahda on the road but the latter was officially classified second given the former had incurred an even bigger time penalty for a Safety Car restart infringement.

For now, it is Tickford Racing’s Zak Best who is third on the day, and remains second in the series standings after the sixth and final round, although he could yet also be penalised over the aforementioned restart.

UPDATE: No further penalties

Best had made nose-to-tail contact with Fraser as they rounded the final corner of the Adelaide Parklands Circuit to take the green flag for what would be a two-lap dash to the chequers in a time-certain finish.

Grove Racing’s Matt Payne finished the race in fourth after the penalties which have been applied so far, from MWM’s Tyler Everingham, Matt Stone Racing’s Ryal Harris, and Image Racing’s Jaylyn Robotham.

Anderson Motorsport’s Brad Vaughan is the Super3 Series winner after he finished 11th outright but first in class while pre-race points leader Kai Allen crashed out.

Fraser had qualified on pole position and led the field away, while Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon) made a very good launch from the second row and cleared Best (#78 FGX Falcon) to take second place as they turned into Senna Chicane.

Chahda then rubbed the rear of the #777 VF Commodore under brakes at the end of Wakefield Street which caused Fraser to run wide, and the Albury privateer took the lead.

He pulled almost nine tenths clear on the standing lap, and was half a second to the good when a Safety Car was called on Lap 2 due to Eggleston Motorsport’s Allen crashing out when he hit the wall at the Turn 8 sweeper.

As the battered #26 VE Commodore sat at the Turn 9 run-off area, Vaughan (#5 FG Falcon) assumed the 14th outright and first in the class which Allen had held, not only on the road, but in the live series standings.

Under Safety Car, Best ran third despite a solid hit of the Turn 7 exit wall moments earlier, from Payne (#10 Nissan Altima), Maxwell (#3 Nissan Altima), and Cameron Hill (#111 Triple Eight VF Commodore), who lost out when he got hung wide through the ‘Staircase’ on the opening lap.

The race restarted on Lap 7, just before stewards advised that Chahda had been given a five-second time penalty for a driving infringement.

Making matters worse for him, the field was compressed again on the following lap when Hill also crashed at Turn 8, triggering another Safety Car, having not long relieved Maxwell of fifth position.

Everingham (#27 Nissan Altima) had also passed his team-mate Maxwell to inherit fifth due to Hill’s mishap, while Vaughan was still leading the Super3 class in 13th outright.

As the field took the second restart, at the end of Lap 12, Best made contact with Fraser at Turn 14, causing Car #777 to run wide again and bottling up the pack.

Maxwell jumped to fourth position in the mess, but it seems that he had made at least one of those passes before he reached the control line, and hence the 15-second penalty which he would receive.

Best appeared to struggle with front-end damage and had a sizeable lock-up at Turn 9, then there was contact between him and Maxwell at Turn 14 which allowed the latter to get past as they sped towards Senna Chicane for what would be the 14th and final lap of a scheduled 19.

Chahda set the fastest lap of the race on Lap 14 and while it was not enough to hold onto the official win, it did ensure that he managed to finish second.

Fraser started the race 105 points up on Best and will end the season 126 points to the good, pending any further penalties.

Towards the back end of the top 10, Brad Jones Racing’s Lochie Dalton (#8 VF Commodore) was classified eighth in Race 2 of his debut weekend in a Supercar, from Cameron Crick (#38 Eggleston VF Commodore), and Nash Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsports FGX Falcon).

Aaron Seton (#30 MSR VF Commodore) ended up 15th outright and 12th in Super2 on the day after he spun in the pack early on, presumably due to a tag from a rival.

The 2023 season starts at the Newcastle 500 on March 10-12.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 777 Triple Eight Race Engineering Declan Fraser Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:32.8809
2 18 CAT workwear Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 14 26:35.7082
3 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 14 26:36.2568
4 10 Grove Racing Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 14 26:36.5818
5 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 14 26:36.9852
6 58 EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:38.6958
7 999 Rare Spares Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:38.8335
8 8 AWC Motorsport Lachlan Dalton Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:39.6198
9 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:40.1774
10 67 Flash Bush Motorsports Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG/X S2 14 26:43.6117
11 5 Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan Ford Falcon FG CH 14 26:44.3870
12 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG SC3 14 26:47.6848
13 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 14 26:49.9976
14 3 SPITWATER / MWM Thomas Maxwell Nissan Altima S2 14 26:50.5955
15 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:50.6890
16 46 Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher Ford Falcon FG SC3 14 27:00.3633
17 96 Collins Racing Gary Collins Holden Commodore VE2 14 27:05.4297
18 23 RHM / Nulon Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 14 27:14.2899
NC 33 Adam Wallis Motorsport Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 10 19:29.4310
NC 111 Triple Eight Race Engineering Cameron Hill Holden Commodore VF S2 7 13:06.1612
NC 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 6 11:46.5888
NC 49 Bruant & Bryant Jay Hanson Holden Commodore VF S2 2 3:01.9885
NC 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore VE CH 1 1:36.6175

Classes: S2 Super2, CH Super3 Championship, SC3 Super3 Cup, HC Super3 Heritage Class

Series points: Super2

Pos Driver Pts
1 Declan Fraser 1383
2 Zak Best 1257
3 Matthew Payne 1209
4 Tyler Everingham 1134
5 Cameron Hill 1047
6 Matthew Chahda 957
7 Thomas Maxwell 903
8 Jaylyn Robotham 867
9 Aaron Seton 849
10 Jay Hanson 780
11 Zane Morse 747
12 Cameron Crick 708
13 Ryal Harris 702
14 Elly Morrow 567
15 Matthew McLean 531
16 Angelo Mouzouris 459
17 Nash Morris 438
18 Dean Fiore 240
19 Jack Perkins 210
20 Tim Blanchard 180
21 Lachlan Dalton 159
22 Reef McCarthy 66

Series points: Super3

Pos Driver Pts
1 Brad Vaughan 1488
2 Kai Allen 1392
3 Jim Pollicina 1224
4 Chris Smerdon 1080
5 Blake Fardell 939
6 Ray Hislop 852
7 Jason Gomersall 795
8 Garry Hills 732
9 Steven Page 720
10 Tony Auddino 663
11 Jarred Danaher 654
12 James Masterton 318
13 Jordan Michels 204
14 Gary Collins 201
15 Layton Barker 168
16 Jason Foley 162
17 Paul Boschert 162
18 Shane Beikoff 144
19 David Murphy 111
20 Brendan Strong 111
21 Adam Wallis 0
22 Jonathan Beikoff 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]