Fraser extends Super2 lead in messy Adelaide Race 1

Declan Fraser

Declan Fraser

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Declan Fraser has extended his Super2 Series lead with victory under Safety Car in Race 1 at the Valo Adelaide 500.

Fraser now leads Tickford Racing’s Zak Best by 105 points with one day remaining in the 2022 season after he converted pole position into an all-the-way win, staying clear of the messes which unfolded in the pack at the Adelaide Parklands Circuit.

Grove Racing’s Matt Payne is the other remaining mathematical title hope after he finished second to the #777 VF Commodore, from Triple Eight’s Cameron Hill, Best, and MW Motorsport’s Tyler Everingham.

When the lights went out, Fraser got the jump and headed the field through the opening corners, from Payne (#10 Nissan Altima), Best (#78 FGX Falcon), Hill (#111 VF Commodore), and Everingham (#27 Nissan Altima).

Matt Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon) had qualified sixth-fastest but lined up ninth due to a grid penalty, then quickly jumped back to sixth when he started strongly and passed Jaylyn Robotham (#999 Image Racing VF Commodore) at Turn 5.

Fraser gradually crept to more than a second clear of Payne until a Safety Car was called on Lap 6 due to a wild incident between Aaron Seton and Cameron Crick (#38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) at Turn 6 as they battled for 11th.

Crick showed the nose, making contact which caused the #30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore to spin into the tyre barrier, the heavy rear-end hit picking it up off the deck before landing with a thud.

Officials investigated the collision during the Safety Car period, opting to take no further action.

The top seven was as you were, while Angelo Mouzouris (#6 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima) held eighth, from Jay Hanson (#49 Image VF Commodore) and Thomas Maxwell (#3 MWM Nissan Altima), with Brad Vaughan (#5 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon) leading the Super3 class in 14th outright.

When the race restarted on Lap 12, Fraser left it late to accelerate but Payne was wise to it and stuck with the #777 VF Commodore.

Chahda passed Everingham at Turn 9, only for the MWM driver to dive back down the inside at Turn 14, taking both wide and allowing Robotham to snatch two positions in one fell swoop.

It was then that all hell broke loose, first when Super3 driver Jason Gomersall (#93 MSR FG Falcon) backed into Zane Morse (#11 Zane Morse VF Commodore) moments later at Turn 14.

On Lap 13, Crick spun around the back of the top 10 at Turn 6, then Chahda rotated at Turn 7, possibly after contact from Maxwell, whose #3 Nissan Altima appeared to be sporting even more battle scars than it had done moments earlier.

Drivers continued to jostle for position until the Safety Car was called again to bring a halt to it all, by which time Fraser had moved to a lead of almost 0.8s again.

Time-certainty meant that Lap 14 of a scheduled 19 would in fact be the final lap, with Fraser collecting another 150 precious series points.

Behind him, Payne, Hill, Best, and Everingham, was Robotham in sixth, from Maxwell, Ryal Harris (#58 MSR VF Commodore), Nash Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsports FGX Falcon), and Hanson.

Vaughan finished 11th outright, one position up on the man who he is trying to run down the for the Super3 title in Kai Allen (#26 Eggleston VE Commodore), with Chahda classified 13th but Mouzouris and Crick DNFs due to damage they incurred on Lap 13.

Lochie Dalton (#8 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) crossed the line 10th in his first Super2 race but was relegated to 21st due to a 15-second penalty for a driving infringement.

The final race of the season gets underway tomorrow at 13:25 local time/13:55 AEDT, with Fraser again set to start from pole.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 777 Triple Eight Race Engineering Declan Fraser Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:39.2677
2 10 Grove Racing Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 14 26:40.1714
3 111 Triple Eight Race Engineering Cameron Hill Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:40.6244
4 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 14 26:41.2451
5 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 14 26:42.1180
6 999 Rare Spares Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:42.5031
7 3 SPITWATER / MWM Thomas Maxwell Nissan Altima S2 14 26:43.5580
8 58 EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:44.8139
9 67 Flash Bush Motorsports Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG/X S2 14 26:46.1193
10 49 Bruant & Bryant Jay Hanson Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:52.8898
11 5 Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan Ford Falcon FG CH 14 26:53.3299
12 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore VE CH 14 26:54.3955
13 18 CAT workwear Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 14 26:55.8293
14 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG SC3 14 26:56.8536
15 46 Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher Ford Falcon FG SC3 14 26:57.5099
16 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 14 26:57.9853
17 23 RHM / Nulon Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 14 26:59.0185
18 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 14 26:59.5749
19 93 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 14 27:00.7152
20 96 Collins Racing Gary Collins Holden Commodore VE 14 27:02.1951
21 8 AWC Motorsport Lachlan Dalton Holden Commodore VF S2 14 27:02.6220
NC 6 aginic / MWM Angelo Mouzouris Nissan Altima S2 12 22:40.6210
NC 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore VF S2 12 22:42.1531
NC 33 Adam Wallis Motorsport Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 10 21:24.8097
NC 68 Turbo Brisbane Shane Beikoff Ford Falcon AU HC 6 10:06.5960
NC 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 5 7:09.1592

Classes: S2 Super2, CH Super3 Championship, SC3 Super3 Cup, HC Super3 Heritage Class

Series points: Super2

Pos Driver Pts
1 Declan Fraser 1233
2 Zak Best 1128
3 Matthew Payne 1089
4 Cameron Hill 1047
5 Tyler Everingham 1023
6 Thomas Maxwell 831
7 Matthew Chahda 813
8 Aaron Seton 780
9 Jay Hanson 774
10 Jaylyn Robotham 771
11 Zane Morse 744
12 Cameron Crick 624
13 Ryal Harris 624
14 Elly Morrow 567
15 Matthew McLean 531
16 Angelo Mouzouris 459
17 Nash Morris 354
18 Dean Fiore 240
19 Jack Perkins 210
20 Tim Blanchard 180
21 Lachlan Dalton 66
22 Reef McCarthy 66

Series points: Super3

Pos Driver Pts
1 Kai Allen 1392
2 Brad Vaughan 1338
3 Jim Pollicina 1095
4 Chris Smerdon 942
5 Blake Fardell 939
6 Jason Gomersall 795
7 Ray Hislop 750
8 Garry Hills 732
9 Steven Page 720
10 Tony Auddino 663
11 Jarred Danaher 534
12 James Masterton 318
13 Jordan Michels 204
14 Layton Barker 168
15 Jason Foley 162
16 Paul Boschert 162
17 Shane Beikoff 144
18 David Murphy 111
19 Brendan Strong 111
20 Gary Collins 90
21 Adam Wallis 0
22 Jonathan Beikoff 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]