Fraser completes Adelaide Super2 pole sweep

Declan Fraser

Declan Fraser

Super2 Series leader Declan Fraser has ensured he will start from pole position in both races at the season-ending Valo Adelaide 500.

The Triple Eight Race Engineering driver wheeled his #777 VF Commodore to a 1:20.3761s in Qualifying for Race 1, earlier in the day, but bettered that by seven tenths of a second when he clocked a 1:19.6381s in Qualifying for Race 2.

In doing so, he pipped Tickford Racing’s Zak Best to pole position for the second race of Round 6 at the Adelaide Parklands Circuit by 0.1269s, while privateer Matt Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon) earned third on the grid with a late 1:19.8102s.

Of the three mathematical title contenders other than Fraser and Best, Cameron Hill (#111 Triple Eight VF Commodore) took fourth, Matt Payne (#10 Grove Racing Nissan Altima) sixth, and Tyler Everingham (#27 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima) seventh.

At the start of the Super2 half of the session, Hill clocked a 1:20.4575s and Fraser a 1:20.8906s, the latter with a slight rear end moment into Turn 14.

Aaron Seton (#30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) then jumped to the top with a 1:20.3929s as most rolled back into the pits after just a single flyer on their first runs.

Fraser came back out to punch out the first ever ‘19’ in Super2 on the now mostly resurfaced streets of Adelaide, before Hill provisionally got back onto the front row with a 1:20.1197s.

However, #111 was usurped by the #78 FGX Falcon of Best on a 1:19.7650s, before Thomas Maxwell (#3 MWM Nissan Altima) went to third on a 1:20.1005s.

Hill reclaimed third position with a 1:19.9854s just before the chequered flag, only to get shuffled to the other side of the front row when Chahda punched out a 1:19.8102s.

Maxwell thus ended up fifth and Payne sixth on a 1:20.2074s, from Everingham on a 1:20.3391s, and Seton on that early 1:20.3929s.

Jaylyn Robotham (#999 Image Racing VF Commodore) looked like giving pole position a nudge until he pinched the brakes at Turn 14 and ultimately claimed ninth on the grid with a 1:20.4267s, one spot up on debutant Lochie Dalton (#8 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore).

In the preceding Super3 half of the session, series leader Kai Allen (#26 Eggleston Motorsport VE Commodore) took another class pole with a 1:21.1221s.

He is set to start 15th on the grid while title rival Brad Vaughan (Anderson Motorsport) claimed second in class and 18th outright courtesy of the 1:22.5460s on his only flying lap before damaging the #5 FG Falcon with a scrape of the wall exiting Turn 11.

Race 1 starts tomorrow at 13:55 local time/14:25 AEDT while the second 19-lapper of the weekend gets underway on Sunday at 13:25 local time/13:55 AEDT.

Results: Qualifying for Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 777 Triple Eight Race Engineering Declan Fraser Holden Commodore VF S2 1:19.6381  
2 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:19.7650 0:00.1269
3 18 CAT workwear Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:19.8102 0:00.1721
4 111 Triple Eight Race Engineering Cameron Hill Holden Commodore VF S2 1:19.9854 0:00.3473
5 3 SPITWATER / MWM Thomas Maxwell Nissan Altima S2 1:20.1005 0:00.4624
6 10 Grove Racing Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 1:20.2074 0:00.5693
7 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 1:20.3391 0:00.7010
8 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 1:20.3929 0:00.7548
9 999 Rare Spares Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 1:20.4267 0:00.7886
10 8 AWC Motorsport Lachlan Dalton Holden Commodore VF S2 1:20.4342 0:00.7961
11 49 Bruant & Bryant Jay Hanson Holden Commodore VF S2 1:20.5769 0:00.9388
12 58 EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Holden Commodore VF S2 1:20.8340 0:01.1959
13 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore VF S2 1:20.9037 0:01.2656
14 6 aginic / MWM Angelo Mouzouris Nissan Altima S2 1:21.0182 0:01.3801
15 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore VE CH 1:21.1221 0:01.4840
16 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 1:21.3009 0:01.6628
17 67 Flash Bush Motorsports Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:21.7357 0:02.0976
18 5 Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan Ford Falcon FG CH 1:22.5460 0:02.9079
19 46 Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:24.1036 0:04.4655
20 23 RHM / Nulon Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 1:24.3132 0:04.6751
21 33 Adam Wallis Motorsport Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE   1:24.7142 0:05.0761
22 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:24.9445 0:05.3064
23 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 1:25.2336 0:05.5955
24 93 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:25.3469 0:05.7088
25 68 Turbo Brisbane Shane Beikoff Ford Falcon AU HC 1:31.0651 0:11.4270
26 96 Collins Racing Gary Collins Holden Commodore VE2   2:01.5588 0:41.9207

Classes: S2 Super2, CH Super3 Championship, SC3 Super3 Cup, HC Super3 Heritage Class

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]