Randle tops Adelaide Supercars Practice 1 as Jones hits wall

Thomas Randle

Thomas Randle

Tickford Racing’s Thomas Randle has set the fastest lap in Supercars Championship Practice 1 at the Valo Adelaide 500 as Macauley Jones hit the wall at Turn 8.

A red flag was called with 59 seconds remaining in what was supposed to be a 30-minute session when Jones came to a stop at Turn 9 of the Adelaide Parklands Circuit.

Replays suggested that he may have been unsettled by the inside kerb at Turn 8, but the bump which the #96 TRG Transport Solutions subsequently made with the wall on drivers’ left was one of the more innocuous ones by the notorious sweeper’s standards.

Randle had clocked a 1:19.8035s in the #55 Castrol Mustang moments before the red flag came out, locking him into first position, from Brodie Kostecki (#99 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore), Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang), and champion-elect Shane van Gisbergen (#1 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore).

A couple of minutes before the Jones prang, there had been a bizarre incident in which teams were advised over the Race Management Channel to “Ignore the chequered flag”.

Indeed, the chequered flag was being hung over the main straight, yet there were still more than three minutes left on the clock at that point.

Earlier, the field rolled out under sunny skies and Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Optus ZB Commodore) was quickest after the first flyers on a 1:22.3801s.

South Australian Scott Pye (#20 Toyota Forklifts ZB Commodore) then took the ascendancy with back-to-back 1:21.2680s and 1:20.6123s laps.

Van Gisbergen reportedly started the session on green tyres and went top with a 1:20.2576s right at the end of a relatively long first run in what is Car #1 this weekend, as a tribute to Holden in its final Australian Touring Car Championship event.

Pye hit back with a 1:20.3195s and then a 1:20.2558s, leaving van Gisbergen back in second after no improvement on his second run.

Adelaide 500 chequered flag

The chequered flag. Picture: Fox Sports

The Triple Eight Race Engineering driver did go quicker on this third run, with a 1:19.9722s around the time of the premature chequered flag incident, before Brodie Kostecki set a 1:19.8089s as more went for new tyre runs.

Waters climbed to second position on a 1:19.8771s but was shuffled back to third when Randle usurped him and Brodie Kostecki.

They would have no chance to respond to the rookie given the red flag came out with insufficient time to restart the session.

Behind Randle, Brodie Kostecki, Waters, and van Gisbergen on the timesheet was Andre Heimgartner (#8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore) on a 1:20.1753s, from Pye on a 1:20.2558s.

Bryce Fullwood (#14 Middy’s ZB Commodore) took seventh and Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore) eighth, with Lee Holdsworth (#10 Penrite Mustang) doing enough for ninth despite losing more than 10 minutes in the Grove Racing garage due to an oil leak/excessive breathing.

Will Brown (#9 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore) rounded out the top 10, with Nick Percat (#2 Mobil 1 NTI ZB Commodore) 11th and Walkinshaw Andretti United team-mate Mostert 12th, while best of the Shell V-Power Racing Team duo was Anton De Pasquale (#11 Mustang) in 14th on a 1:20.6939s.

Practice 2, also scheduled for half an hour, is due to get underway tomorrow at 13:15 local time/13:45 AEDT.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:19.8035  
2 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.8089 0:00.0054
3 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:19.8771 0:00.0736
4 1 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.9722 0:00.1687
5 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.1753 0:00.3718
6 20 Toyota Forklifts Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.2558 0:00.4523
7 14 Middy’s Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.4881 0:00.6846
8 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.5081 0:00.7046
9 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:20.6062 0:00.8027
10 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.6338 0:00.8303
11 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.6395 0:00.8360
12 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.6592 0:00.8557
13 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:20.6775 0:00.8740
14 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:20.6939 0:00.8904
15 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7528 0:00.9493
16 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7795 0:00.9760
17 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7969 0:00.9934
18 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.8109 0:01.0074
19 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.8132 0:01.0097
20 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.0776 0:01.2741
21 31 Subway PremiAir Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.3708 0:01.5673
22 96 TRG Transport Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.5036 0:01.7001
23 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 1:21.5388 0:01.7353
24 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.9029 0:02.0994
25 4 SCT Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.9419 0:02.1384

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]