21-car entry list for GT World Challenge finale at Adelaide 500

Yasser Shahin Audi GT World Challenge

Yasser Shahin’s Audi

A 21-car field is set to contest the final round of Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS at this weekend’s Valo Adelaide 500.

The figure includes eight cars in the top class, Pro-Am, which features a hotly contested championship battle, and two Bentley Continental GT3s.

As previously reported, the top two in the title race will tackle the Adelaide Parklands Circuit with different Pro driving partners, given GT World Challenge supports the Supercars Championship.

Yasser Shahin, who leads the championship by 11 points, will have factory Audi driver Christopher Mies in his R8 LMS GT3 Evo II given Garth Tander is on television duties.

At Triple Eight Race Engineering, the pairing which won the Pro-Am title this year in GT World Challenge Asia, namely Prince Jefri Ibrahim and Nick Foster, is reunited due to Shane van Gisbergen and Broc Feeney concentrating on their Red Bull Ampol Racing entries in Supercars.

Liam Talbot, who is just three points further back from Ibrahim, continues to be partnered by Fraser Ross in his Audi.

Tony Bates has the most recent Adelaide pole-sitter in Australian GT, namely South African factory driver Kelvin van der Linde, in his Audi Sport Customer Racing entry, and while Jamie Whincup continues to partner Prince Abu Bakar Ibrahim in the other Triple Eight Mercedes-AMG GT3, they will be behind the wheel of one of its Asian-based chassis after a crash earlier this month at Bathurst.

Bentley Continental GT3 GT World Challenge

The latest-specification Bentley which Mike Bailey will field

Also in Pro-Am, Mike Bailey and Brett Hobson will pair up in the latter-generation Bentley GT3, the same specification as that which won the 2020 Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

KMB Motorsport will also field an older-generation Continental in the GT Trophy class for Paynter Dixon Porsche Carrera Cup Australia regular Matthew Belford.

In the Am class, Gary Higgon/Paul Stokell hold a healthy, 47-point championship lead over team-mate and fellow Audi driver Matt Stoupas.

In GT Trophy, Brad Schumacher, who will drive with Sergio Pires, has a seven-point margin over Michael Kokkinos, with both of those entries being Audi R8 LMS GT3 Ultras.

Paul Morris has been drafted in to help Mark Griffith win the GT4 title in his Mercedes-AMG while son Nash Morris races in the Super2 Series.

The GTC class is made up of a pair of Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup vehicles, piloted by newly crowned Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge series winner Tom Sargent and The Bend owner Sam Shahin respectively.

A pair of 25-minute practice sessions take place this Thursday, with three, 40-minute races across the weekend.

Entry list: Round 5, Adelaide Parklands Circuit

Num Class Team/Sponsor Driver Co-Driver Car
1 Pro Am The Bend Motorsport Park Yasser Shahin Christopher Mies Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II
2 Am KFC Gary Higgon Paul Stokell Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II
8 GT Trophy Launch Racing Michael Kokkinos Audi R8 LMS GT3 Ultra
9 Am Hallmarc Marc Cini Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II
13 GTC The Bend Motorsport Park Sam Shahin Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup
14 GT Trophy Trading Garage Matthew Belford Bentley Continental GT3
19 GT4 Daimler Trucks Brisbane Mark Griffith Paul Morris Mercedes-AMG GT4
20 Pro Am Shannons Insurance Liam Talbot Fraser Ross Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II
22 Am MPC Ash Samadi Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II
23 Am KFC Matt Stoupas Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II
24 Pro Am C-Tech Laser Tony Bates Kelvin van der Linde Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II
38 Pro Am Trading Garage Mike Bailey Brett Hobson Bentley Continental GT3
45 Pro Am RAM Motorsport Mike Sheargold Garth Walden Mercedes-AMG GT3
47 Am Supabarn James Koundouris Theo Koundouris Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II
55 GT Trophy Valmont Racing Brad Schumacher Sergio Pires Audi R8 LMS GT3 Ultra
88 Pro Am Triple Eight Race Engineering Prince Abu Bakar Ibrahim Jamie Whincup Mercedes-AMG GT3
101 Pro Am Harrolds Volante Rosso Racing Ross Poulakis Mercedes-AMG GT3
102 GT4 Harrolds Volante Rosso Racing Christos Batzios Sam Brabham Mercedes-AMG GT4
222 GT Trophy Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor Porsche 997 GT3R
888 Pro Am Triple Eight Race Engineering Prince Jefri Ibrahim Nick Foster Mercedes-AMG GT3
TBA GTC Tegra Australia Tom Sargent Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]