Waters takes provisional pole, van Gisbergen tangles with Jones

Picture: Fox Sports

Cameron Waters has qualified on provisional pole position for the Repco Bathurst 1000 in a session which finished with Macauley Jones in the wall after contact with Shane van Gisbergen.

Jones backed into the wall on the drop from The Esses into The Dipper after van Gisbergen showed the nose, with the latter gesticulating in his car in a fashion which suggested he felt he had been unduly held up.

Officials have announced that the incident, which occurred seconds before the chequered flag came out, is under investigation, placing a question mark on whether or not the #97 ZB Commodore will participate in the Top 10 Shootout despite being qualified fourth by the 2020 Great Race winner.

UPDATE: Grid penalty for Car #97


The other Red Bull Ampol Racing entry will definitely miss tomorrow afternoon’s one-lap dash after it failed to make the top 10 by four positions despite Jamie Whincup being handed the keys to the #88 car in which he is officially Broc Feeney’s co-driver.

Waters went as quick as a 2:23.6168s in Tickford Racing’s #6 Monster Energy Mustang while Lee Holdsworth was second-fastest at 0.2128s off the pace in the #10 Penrite Mustang.

The man with whom Holdsworth shared victory last year, Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Optus ZB Commodore), took third, ahead of van Gisbergen and wildcard Richie Stanaway (#51 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore).

Rounding out the top 10 were Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang), Nick Percat (#2 Mobil 1 NTI ZB Commodore), James Courtney (#5 Snowy River Caravans Mustang), Brodie Kostecki (#99 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore), and Will Brown (#9 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore).

The latter bumped Anton De Pasquale (#100 Shell V-Power Mustang) out of the top 10 in the final minutes, with just 0.0078s between them.

The 40-minute session had begun with a very wet track, but the rain having eased significantly if not stopped completely.

Mostert was fastest after the first flyers on a 2:29.2143s before Will Davison moved the marker to a 2:27.2283s on his second lap.

Waters took over top spot with a 2:26.1722s on his third lap and improved further to a 2:25.5095s on his fourth.

Mostert usurped him with a 2:25.2559s then pitted on his fifth lap, before Waters hit back with a 2:24.6876s on his sixth lap and then he too filed into the lane as tram tracks started to form and teams looked to re-pressure tyres.

With most having completed one run, Waters held sway from Mostert and Courtney on a 2:25.4831s, with Will Davison seventh on a 2:26.2013s, Whincup (#88 ZB Commodore) 15th on a 2:27.5151s and van Gisbergen 16th on a 2:27.5526s.

Andre Heimgartner (#8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore) came back out and went second on a 2:25.0130s before van Gisbergen rose to the top on a 2:24.2246s.

Mostert re-took provisional pole on a 2:24.0984s in the 26th minute and went quicker again to a 2:23.8361s on his following lap, by which time Will Davison had moved up to third on a 2:24.4223s.

Cameron Waters

Waters climbed to third on a 2:24.2391s just before the half-hour mark, by which time the rain had started to fall in sprinkles again, and was first once more with a 2:23.6168s on his next lap.

Holdsworth was third when he set a 2:24.2058s in the 33rd minute and onto the provisional front row with a 2:23.8296s in the last three minutes.

In the final two minutes, Brown jumped from 18th to 10th in the car which had been repaired after his Practice 4 crash on a 2:25.0004s, pushing De Pasquale back to 11th.

Van Gisbergen improved his time but not his position when he then set a 2:24.0665s, but was fastest to the final sector on his final lap.

That was when he came up on Jones at The Esses and made contact with Brad Jones Racing’s #96 Wet & Forget ZB Commodore which caused it to rotate into the concrete on drivers’ left.

While the shootout is still to come, the rest of the grid is locked in with Heimgartner claiming 12th, James Golding (#31 Subway ZB Commodore) 13th, Whincup 14th, and wildcard Craig Lowndes (#888 Supercheap Auto ZB Commodore) 16th.

Practice 5, an hour-long session for co-drivers only, starts tomorrow morning at 10:20 local time/AEDT.

Results: Qualifying, Repco Bathurst 1000 All drivers

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Fastest lap Split
1 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 2:23.6168
2 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 2:23.8296 0:00.2128
3 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 2:23.8361 0:00.2193
4 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 2:24.0665 0:00.4497
5 51 Boost Mobile Racing 51 Richie Stanaway Holden Commodore ZB 2:24.3527 0:00.7359
6 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 2:24.4223 0:00.8055
7 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 2:24.5634 0:00.9466
8 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 2:24.6455 0:01.0287
9 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 2:24.7897 0:01.1729
10 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 2:25.0004 0:01.3836
11 100 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 2:25.0082 0:01.3914
12 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 2:25.0130 0:01.3962
13 31 Subway PremiAir Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 2:25.0149 0:01.3981
14 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 2:25.1274 0:01.5106
15 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 2:25.1522 0:01.5354
16 888 Supercheap Auto Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 2:25.3524 0:01.7356
17 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 2:25.4653 0:01.8485
18 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 2:25.4724 0:01.8556
19 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 2:26.0743 0:02.4575
20 20 Alspec Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 2:26.0764 0:02.4596
21 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 2:26.4082 0:02.7914
22 96 Kubota Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 2:26.6575 0:03.0407
23 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 2:27.0162 0:03.3994
24 14 Middy’s Electrical Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 2:27.1369 0:03.5201
25 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 2:27.5240 0:03.9072
26 118 Caltex Young Stars Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore ZB 2:28.2437 0:04.6269
27 4 SCT Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 2:28.3813 0:04.7645
28 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 2:31.3185 0:07.7017

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]