Sweeny fastest in incident-shortened TCR Practice 1 at Sandown

Bailey Sweeny (right). Picture: Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Hyundai driver Bailey Sweeny has set the pace in a crash-shortened opening practice session for Round 6 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Sandown.

Sweeny went as quick as a 1:14.7623s in the #130 HMO Customer Racing entry, finishing the session 0.1279s up on another Erebus Academy driver in Jay Hanson, who ended up second in a Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS 3 LMS.

Rounding out the top five were Josh Buchan in another HMO Hyundai i30 N, from Aaron Cameron in a Garry Rogers Motorsport Peugeot 308 and Michael Caruso in the Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce, while series leader Tony D’Alberto was 11th-quickest on a 1:15.5467s in his Wall Racing Honda Civic Type R.

MPC Audi team-mates Will Brown and Hanson set the pace initially before Cameron went sub-75s with a 1:14.9726s in the 11th minute.

However, Sweeny had wheeled his Hyundai to a 1:14.7623s just before he brought an end to his first run, and he would get little more track time after that.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the TCR. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

A red flag was called in the 20th minute after Ben Bargwanna (Peugeot) hit the fence at Dandenong Road, and the session would ultimately be called with just over five minutes of the allotted 30 remaining.

Buchan was thus locked into third on a 1:14.9116s, just 0.0214s behind Hanson, with Cameron’s best being the aforementioned 1:14.9s and Caruso going as quick as a 1:15.0680s.

The rest of the top 10 was Lachlan Mineeff (Audi), Brown, Nathan Morcom (Hyundai), Luke King (Hyundai), and Zac Soutar (Honda).

Practice 2, another half-hour session, starts this afternoon at 14:40 local time/AEST.

Stan Sport’s live and ad-free coverage of the Sandown round of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships starts tomorrow at 11:00 AEST.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny Hyundai i30N 1:14.7623  
2 9 Melbourne Performance Centre Jay Hanson Audi RS 3 1:14.8902 0:00.1279
3 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 1:14.9116 0:00.1493
4 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.9726 0:00.2103
5 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1:15.0680 0:00.3057
6 14 Forza Brakes Motorsport Lachlan Mineeff Audi RS 3 1:15.0745 0:00.3122
7 999 MPC Team LIQUI MOLY William Brown Audi RS 3 1:15.1942 0:00.4319
8 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 1:15.2093 0:00.4470
9 2 MOUTAI /Zip Pay Luke King Hyundai i30N 1:15.2172 0:00.4549
10 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 1:15.3005 0:00.5382
11 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 1:15.5467 0:00.7844
12 33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Peugeot 308 TCR 1:15.5653 0:00.8030
13 41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland Renault Megane RS 1:15.8134 0:01.0511
14 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 1:15.9031 0:01.1408
15 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 1:15.9123 0:01.1500
16 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 1:15.9308 0:01.1685
17 22 Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall Audi RS 3 1:16.2289 0:01.4666
18 8 Lowbake GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Peugeot 308 TCR 1:16.3098 0:01.5475

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]