Hanson tops TCR Practice 2 at Sandown

Jay Hanson. Picture: Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Audi pilot Jay Hanson has set the pace in the second and final practice session for Round 6 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Sandown.

The Melbourne Performance Centre driver clocked a 1:14.9570s which was not enough to knock off Bailey Sweeny’s Practice 1 effort of 1:14.7623s, but was faster than anyone else went in the day’s latter hit-out at the Melbourne circuit.

Hanson had been first to move the benchmark under 75 seconds when he clocked a 1:14.9570s in his new-generation RS 3 LMS once he got up to temperature in his first run proper.

He was still on top when Jordan Cox (Peugeot) triggered a red flag in the 11th minute after coming to a halt in Sector 2, although the Garry Rogers Motorsport steerer was able to drive back to the pits during the stoppage.

By then, Ashley Seward Motorsport’s Michael Caruso (Alfa Romeo) was second on a 1:14.9889s and series-leading Wall Racing driver Tony D’Alberto (Honda) third on a 1:14.9936s.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the TCR. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

The green flag came again in the 14th minute but, in a session shortened to 21 minutes after starting nine late due to an earlier hold-up in the event programme, no driver improved thereafter.

Sweeny (Hyundai) finished Practice 2 in fourth on a 1:15.2462s, from Lachlan Mineeff (Audi) on a 1:15.2472s, with the top 10 rounded out by Zac Soutar (Honda), Will Brown (Audi), Aaron Cameron (Peugeot), Josh Buchan (Hyundai), and Luke King (Hyundai).

Ben Bargwanna (Peugeot), who caused Practice 1 to be cut short with a prang at Dandenong Road, came back out in Practice 2 and was classified 17th.

Qualifying, to be held in the usual two-session format, gets underway tomorrow from 11:35 local time/AEST.

Stan Sport’s live and ad-free coverage of the Sandown round of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships starts tomorrow at 11:00 AEST, while free-to-air viewers can catch a full two hours of action on 9Gem tomorrow from 15:00 AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 9 Melbourne Performance Centre Jay Hanson Audi RS 3 1:14.9570  
2 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1:14.9889 0:00.0319
3 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 1:14.9936 0:00.0366
4 130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny Hyundai i30N 1:15.2462 0:00.2892
5 14 Forza Brakes Motorsport Lachlan Mineeff Audi RS 3 1:15.2472 0:00.2902
6 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 1:15.3752 0:00.4182
7 999 MPC Team LIQUI MOLY William Brown Audi RS 3 1:15.3884 0:00.4314
8 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 1:15.4536 0:00.4966
9 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 1:15.5151 0:00.5581
10 2 MOUTAI /Zip Pay Luke King Hyundai i30N 1:15.6870 0:00.7300
11 22 Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall Audi RS 3 1:16.0381 0:01.0811
12 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 1:16.0699 0:01.1129
13 41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland Renault Megane RS 1:16.2812 0:01.3242
14 33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Peugeot 308 TCR 1:16.8378 0:01.8808
15 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 1:16.8776 0:01.9206
16 8 Lowbake GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Peugeot 308 TCR 1:17.3626 0:02.4056
17 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 1:17.5037 0:02.5467
18 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 1:17.6799 0:02.7229

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]