Hanson keeps Audi on top in TCR Practice 2 at QR

Jay Hanson. Picture: Jay Hanson Motorsport Facebook

The Melbourne Performance Centre Audi team continues to set the pace in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia at Queensland Raceway, with Jay Hanson quickest in Practice 2.

After team-mate Will Brown topped Practice 1 with a 1:13.7679s, Hanson went ever so slightly faster in setting a late 1:13.7647s in the second half-hour session of the weekend, which was run under lights.

Car #9 finished Practice 2 with a 0.2718s margin over the field, as Team Soutar Motorsports’ Zac Soutar claimed second in his Honda Civic Type R and Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Aaron Cameron third in a Peugeot 308.

Jordan Cox was first into the 1:14s inside the final nine minutes of the session, on a 1:14.8288s specifically, before Dylan O’Keeffe clocked a 1:14.5615s in yet another GRM Peugeot.

Cox hit back with a 1:14.4918s before Cameron moved to the top with a 1:14.2539s in the last five minutes, but none were going to deny Hanson.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the TCR. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

There was, however, plenty of shuffling after Hanson set what would be the benchmark time of the session in his RS 3, with second position changing three times between that and the chequered flag.

Soutar ended up taking the place on a 1:14.0365s, from Cameron on a 1:14.0421s and Ben Bargwanna (Peugeot) on a 1:14.1680s.

Cox took fifth, from series leader Tony D’Alberto (Honda), O’Keeffe, Luke King (Hyundai), Kody Garland (Renault), and Michael Caruso (Alfa Romeo), while Brown missed the session altogether.

Qualifying 1 and Qualifying 2 take place tomorrow from 14:40 local time/AEST.

Stan Sport’s 12 hours of live and ad-free coverage of the event starts tomorrow at 11:00 AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 9 Melbourne Performance Centre Jay Hanson Audi RS 3 1:13.7647  
2 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 1:14.0365 0:00.2718
3 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.0421 0:00.2774
4 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.1680 0:00.4033
5 33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.2454 0:00.4807
6 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 1:14.2994 0:00.5347
7 8 Lowbake GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.4384 0:00.6737
8 2 MOUTAI /Zip Pay Luke King Hyundai i30N 1:14.4780 0:00.7133
9 41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland Renault Megane RS 1:14.5862 0:00.8215
10 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1:14.6143 0:00.8496
11 14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff Audi RS 3 1:14.8056 0:01.0409
12 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 1:14.8446 0:01.0799
13 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 1:14.8791 0:01.1144
14 130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny Hyundai i30N 1:15.0246 0:01.2599
15 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 1:15.5525 0:01.7878
16 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 1:39.1591 0:25.3944
17 22 Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall Audi RS 3 2:12.8114 0:59.0467

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]