Brown fastest in TCR Practice 1 at Queensland Raceway

Will Brown. Picture: Australian Racing Group/Jack Martin Photography

Will Brown has gone fastest in Practice 1 for Round 5 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Queensland Raceway, by a slim margin over Tony D’Alberto.

Just 0.0134s separated the #999 Audi and the #50 Honda of the series leader after the opening half-hour of running this weekend, with James Moffat 0.2508s off the pace in third place.

Brown had held sway once the field had reached somewhat representative lap times, ending his first run in his Melbourne Performance Centre RS 3 LMS on a 1:13.9172s.

D’Alberto moved up to second with a 1:13.9620s in his Wall Racing Honda Civic Type R just past the halfway mark, before Brown reset the fastest lap again when he clocked a 1:13.7679s.

D’Alberto threatened to usurp the Queenslander on multiple occasions during his third and final run, but ultimately consolidated second spot with a 1:13.7813s.

Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Moffat (Renault) finished third thanks to a 1:14.0187s on his first run, from Zac Soutar (Honda), and Kody Garland (Renault).

Rounding out the top 10 were Bailey Sweeny (Hyundai), Jordan Cox (Peugeot), Aaron Cameron (Peugeot), Michael Caruso (Alfa Romeo), and Nathan Morcom (Hyundai).

Josh Buchan was slowest of the 18 having spent the majority of the session in the pits, his best time being a 1:16.6045s in one of the HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 Ns.

Practice 2, another half-hour hit-out, starts this evening at 18:15 local time/AEST.

Stan Sport’s 12 hours of live and ad-free coverage of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships event starts tomorrow at 11:00 AEST.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 999 MPC Team LIQUI MOLY William Brown Audi RS 3 1:13.7679  
2 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 1:13.7813 0:00.0134
3 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 1:14.0187 0:00.2508
4 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 1:14.2389 0:00.4710
5 41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland Renault Megane RS 1:14.3216 0:00.5537
6 130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny Hyundai i30N 1:14.3804 0:00.6125
7 33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.3942 0:00.6263
8 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.4055 0:00.6376
9 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1:14.4333 0:00.6654
10 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 1:14.4598 0:00.6919
11 2 MOUTAI /Zip Pay Luke King Hyundai i30N 1:14.7214 0:00.9535
12 8 Lowbake GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.7937 0:01.0258
13 14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff Audi RS 3 1:14.8147 0:01.0468
14 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 1:14.8513 0:01.0834
15 9 Melbourne Performance Centre Jay Hanson Audi RS 3 1:14.8722 0:01.1043
16 22 Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall Audi RS 3 1:14.9906 0:01.2227
17 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 1:15.2772 0:01.5093
18 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 1:16.6045 0:02.8366

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]