SVG beats Mostert in Race 22 at The Bend

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen has beaten Chaz Mostert to victory in Race 22 of the Repco Supercars Championship at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Those two were locked in battle for the effective lead for much of the contest as they opted for divergent strategies, but the Red Bull Ampol Racing driver prevailed by 2.5737s after 18 laps.

As was the case in Race 21, van Gisbergen ran long until taking his compulsory pit stop, retained the lead on exit from the lane, and banked the five fastest lap bonus points thanks to his final lap.

Joining him and Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Optus ZB Commodore) on the podium was Tickford Racing’s James Courtney (#5 Snowy River Caravans Mustang).

Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang) finished fourth from pole position in another Tickford entry and Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang) claimed fifth.

Neither Thomas Randle not Andre Heimgartner made it home after a big startline shunt, which also accounted for Nick Percat, but the 24 drivers who took the restart were able to greet the chequered flag.

In the drivers’ championship van Gisbergen has pulled to 354 points clear of De Pasquale.

There was carnage at the initial start, with Randle (#55 Castrol Mustang) stalling on the outside of the front row before being smashed into by Heimgartner (#8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore) from five rows further back.

Both drivers walked away from their wrecks and the contest reverted to a full restart, with a reduced, 22-lap distance (subject to time-certainty) and Waters alone on the front row.

Unfortunately for the pole-sitter, he faced a significant amount of oil soak on the road in front of him, and that may have been a factor when proceedings got underway again.

Courtney was quick away from fourth on the grid but Mostert’s getaway from sixth was even better, and he darted across the track to seize the preferred line for the first corner.

They emerged with Mostert leading from Courtney, while De Pasquale slipped down the inside of Waters and into third at the Turn 5 sweeper.

That held Car #6 wide and it lost another spot when van Gisbergen (#97 ZB Commodore) lunged down the inside at the Turn 6 hairpin.

Van Gisbergen was into third when he passed De Pasquale on Lap 4 at Turn 17, before Courtney pitted from about 0.6s behind Mostert at the end of Lap 5, and was followed into the lane by De Pasquale.

Mostert ceded the lead by taking his compulsory pit stop on Lap 6, and van Gisbergen used the clean air to immediately set back-to-back fastest laps.

However, Mostert then reset the benchmark on Lap 10, and #97 engineer Andrew Edwards asked his driver if he could up his own pace.

Waters pitted from second on Lap 11 and rejoined behind Mostert and Courtney, but kept De Pasquale at bay on cold tyres.

Van Gisbergen continued to circulate around 40 to 41 seconds up on Mostert, which was line-ball in the battle for the effective lead.

The gap was 41.5s when the New Zealander finally pitted for another set of rears on Lap 16 and he retained the lead, by almost one second.

Mostert was second, from Courtney, Waters, De Pasquale, Broc Feeney (#88 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore), Will Brown (#9 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore), David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang), Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore), and Bryce Fullwood (#14 Middy’s ZB Commodore).

Van Gisbergen was untroubled thereafter, and took the five bonus points away from Mostert with a 1:50.1787s on his way to the chequered flag after a time-certain 18 laps.

The rest of the top 10 was per the end of the pit stop cycle, while Image Racing wildcard Jordan Boys (#49 Joss Dynamic ZB Commodore) finished 11th and Chris Pither (#22 Coca-Cola ZB Commodore) 12th.

Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang) ended up 13th, having been facing the wrong way at the first corner of the race when he got turned around at the back of the pack, and Zak Best (#78 Mustang) was 19th in the Tickford wildcard entry.

The third and final race of the OTR SuperSprint weekend starts this afternoon at 15:40 local time/16:10 AEST.

Results: Race 22, OTR SuperSprint

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:00.4156
2 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:02.9893
3 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 18 34:03.9092
4 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 18 34:04.7192
5 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 18 34:08.2652
6 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:08.7932
7 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:12.7057
8 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 18 34:12.8351
9 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:20.4534
10 14 Middy’s Electrical Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:21.1618
11 49 Joss & Dynamic Jordan Boys Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:21.7559
12 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:22.7487
13 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 18 34:22.8880
14 96 TRG Transport Solutions Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:25.7370
15 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:26.2458
16 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 18 34:27.0837
17 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:28.1902
18 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 18 34:30.1677
19 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Mustang GT 18 34:30.6078
20 20 Nulon Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:33.3002
21 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 18 34:37.9300
22 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 18 34:43.7418
23 31 Subway PremiAir Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 18 35:28.1377
24 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 17 34:36.8513

Fastest lap (bonus): Shane van Gisbergen, 1:50.1787s, Lap 18

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Pts
1 Shane van Gisbergen 2091
2 Anton De Pasquale 1737
3 Cameron Waters 1711
4 Will Davison 1657
5 Chaz Mostert 1480
6 Broc Feeney 1389
7 David Reynolds 1354
8 Andre Heimgartner 1210
9 Brodie Kostecki 1193
10 Tim Slade 1145
11 James Courtney 1145
12 Mark Winterbottom 1089
13 Lee Holdsworth 1032
14 William Brown 998
15 Nick Percat 968
16 Todd Hazelwood 968
17 Jack Le Brocq 833
18 Bryce Fullwood 794
19 Scott Pye 776
20 Macauley Jones 773
21 Jake Kostecki 721
22 Thomas Randle 721
23 Chris Pither 693
24 Jack Smith 626
25 Garry Jacobson 513
26 Zak Best 162
27 Jayden Ojeda 150
28 James Golding 134
29 Jordan Boys 130

Teams’ championship

Pos Car(s) Team Pts
1 88 97   Triple Eight Race Engineering 3480
2 11 17   Dick Johnson Racing 3394
3 5 6   Tickford Racing 2856
4 2 25   Walkinshaw Andretti United 2418
5 10 26   Grove Racing 2386
6 9 99   Erebus Motorsport 2191
7 8 14   Brad Jones Racing 2004
8 18 20   Team 18 1865
9 34 35   Matt Stone Racing 1801
10 55 56   Tickford Racing 1442
11 4 96   Brad Jones Racing 1399
12 22 31 (76) PremiAir Racing 1340
13 3     Blanchard Racing Team 1145
14 78     Tickford Racing 162
15 27     Walkinshaw Andretti United 150
16 49     Image Racing 130

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]