Feeney leads T8 one-two in Supercars Practice 1 at The Bend

Broc Feeney

Broc Feeney has topped Repco Supercars Championship Practice 1 at The Bend Motorsport Park in a Red Bull Ampol Racing one-two.

The rookie went as fast a 1:48.7706s in a chilly, opening 30-minute session at the OTR SuperSprint with Shane van Gisbergen finishing second and the two wildcards, Zak Best and Jordan Boys, third and fourth respectively.

Feeney (#88 ZB Commodore) was quickest initially with a 1:48.9903s on his first flyer and would likely have gone faster again next time around had he not been held up by James Golding (#31 Subway ZB Commodore).

Van Gisbergen moved to second position with a 1:49.0907s on his second run despite reporting on his radio that the #97 ZB Commodore “feels fast but it’s undriveable”.

He was briefly out of the car after that run, as Brodie Kostecki (#99 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore) moved into second spot with a 1:49.0617s on a second set of new soft tyres, the only compound in play this weekend.

They were all knocked off when Best clocked a 1:48.9214s inside the final five minutes in the #78 Tickford Racing Mustang, before Feeney hit back with a 1:48.7706s and van Gisbergen restored the Triple Eight one-two with a 1:48.9150s.

Rounding out the top six were the three Erebus Motorsport-built ZB Commodores in the field, with Image Racing’s Boys wheeling Car #49 to a 1:48.9343s with the chequered flag out, ahead of Brodie Kostecki and Will Brown (#9 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore).

Despite history showing that The Bend is a Ford track, one has to go down to seventh on the timesheet to find the second of the Mustang drivers, namely Penrite Racing’s David Reynolds, who went as quick as a 1:49.1757s in Car #26.

Rounding out the top 10 were Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Optus ZB Commodore), Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang), and Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang), with Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang) 15th at 0.7855s off the pace.

Jake Kostecki’s #56 Tradie Mustang was belching oil smoke in the early minutes of the session but he was sent back out and ended up 25th.

Jack Le Brocq propped up the timesheet in the expanded, 27-car field after a brake vibration in the #34 Truck Assist ZB Commodore.

Practice 2, another half-hour session, starts at 11:35 local time/12:05 AEST.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 1:48.7706
2 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:48.9150 0:00.1444
3 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Mustang GT 1:48.9214 0:00.1508
4 49 Joss & Dynamic Jordan Boys Holden Commodore ZB 1:48.9343 0:00.1637
5 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.0617 0:00.2911
6 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.1163 0:00.3457
7 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:49.1757 0:00.4051
8 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.2574 0:00.4868
9 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:49.3234 0:00.5528
10 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:49.3618 0:00.5912
11 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:49.4178 0:00.6472
12 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.4439 0:00.6733
13 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.5043 0:00.7337
14 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:49.5201 0:00.7495
15 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:49.5561 0:00.7855
16 20 Nulon Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.6439 0:00.8733
17 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.6558 0:00.8852
18 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:49.6659 0:00.8953
19 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.7140 0:00.9434
20 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:49.7310 0:00.9604
21 14 Middy’s Electrical Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.8093 0:01.0387
22 31 Subway PremiAir Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.9484 0:01.1778
23 96 TRG Transport Solutions Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.9909 0:01.2203
24 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.0941 0:01.3235
25 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 1:50.1378 0:01.3672
26 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.1491 0:01.3785
27 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.6971 0:01.9265

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]