Davison grabs provisional pole for Race 20 in Townsville

Will Davison

Will Davison will be last out for this afternoon’s Top 10 Shootout after setting the pace in Qualifying for Race 20 of the Supercars Championship at the NTI Townsville 500.

In a Shell V-Power Racing Team one-two, Davison set a 1:13.2650s which put him 0.1744s ahead of Anton De Pasquale, who got away with a brush with a wall during the 15-minute, hard-tyre-only session.

Jack Le Brocq was classified third in the #34 Truck Assist ZB Commodore, Cameron Waters took fourth, and Shane van Gisbergen rescued fifth with his final lap, but Andre Heimgartner (#8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore) is a somewhat surprising omission from the one-lap dash having qualified 12th.

David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang) set the first representative-looking lap when he laid down a 1:13.7985s, which was bettered by Waters’ 1:13.5161s once the Tickford Racing driver completed a lap in the #6 Monster Energy Mustang.

Davison (#17 Mustang) then moved to second on a 1:13.6409s before Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Optus ZB Commodore) split them with a 1:13.5904s on a lap when he was millimetres away from the wall exiting Turn 10.

In the final runs, Le Brocq moved the benchmark to a 1:13.4831s before De Pasquale set a 1:13.4394s.

They were top two when the chequered flag came out before Davison climbed again from seventh to the top, meaning Waters was shuffled back to fourth on his aforementioned time.

Red Bull Ampol Racing put a new set of rears on van Gisbergen’s #97 ZB Commodore for his final run and he had been pushed all the way back to 15th before he clocked a 1:13.5265s to earn passage to the Shootout.

Rounding out the top 10 were James Courtney (#5 Snowy River Caravans Mustang), Mostert, Thomas Randle (#55 Castrol Mustang), Scott Pye (#20 Nulon ZB Commodore), and Reynolds.

Broc Feeney (#88 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore) was first on the outside, bumped right at the end by Pye, and hence is set to start from 11th position.

Behind Heimgartner in 12th were Brodie Kostecki (#99 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore) in 13th and Tim Slade (#3 CoolDrive Mustang) in 14th, while Nick Percat (#2 Mobil 1 NTI ZB Commodore) brings up the rear, even at 0.9089s off the pace.

The Top 10 Shootout for Race 20 starts at 12:00 local time/AEST.

Results: Qualifying for Race 20, NTI Townsville 500

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:13.2650  
2 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:13.4394 0:00.1744
3 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.4831 0:00.2181
4 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:13.5161 0:00.2511
5 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.5265 0:00.2615
6 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:13.5554 0:00.2904
7 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.5904 0:00.3254
8 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:13.5957 0:00.3307
9 20 Nulon Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.6153 0:00.3503
10 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:13.6373 0:00.3723
11 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.6830 0:00.4180
12 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.7061 0:00.4411
13 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.7076 0:00.4426
14 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:13.7348 0:00.4698
15 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.7732 0:00.5082
16 14 Middy’s Electrical Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.8013 0:00.5363
17 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 1:13.8327 0:00.5677
18 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.8814 0:00.6164
19 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.8967 0:00.6317
20 96 Pizza Hut Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.0676 0:00.8026
21 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.1239 0:00.8589
22 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:14.1375 0:00.8725
23 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.1454 0:00.8804
24 31 PremiAir Subway Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.1687 0:00.9037
25 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.1739 0:00.9089

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]