Waters scores provisional pole for Supercars Race 19

Cameron Waters

Tickford Racing’s Cameron Waters has taken provisional pole position for Race 19 of the Repco Supercars Championship at the NTI Townsville 500.

Waters set a final-minute 1:13.0869s in the #6 Monster Energy Mustang to beat Red Bull Ampol Racing’s Shane van Gisbergen to top spot by 0.1224s, although the championship leader had already put his cue in the rack before the final runs.

Both Triple Eight Race Engineering cars, both Shell V-Power Racing Team cars, Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Chaz Mostert, and Brad Jones Racing’s Friday fast man, Andre Heimgartner, made this afternoon’s Top 10 Shootout, among others.

Broc Feeney (#88 ZB Commodore) was fastest initially but Shell V-Power’s Will Davison (#17 Mustang) held sway once most had set a some way representative lap with a 1:13.3466s, compared to a 1:13.5325s for the Red Bull Ampol tyro.

Van Gisbergen waited longer than most to venture out for his opening run and jumped to the top on his second genuine flyer when he clocked a 1:13.2093s in the #97 ZB Commodore.

With the first runs done, arguably the biggest name outside the top 10 was Mostert, who sat 15th in the #25 Mobil 1 Optus ZB Commodore at 0.1527s outside the provisional Shootout positions.

Davison joined van Gisbergen in also sitting out the final few minutes of proceedings while the rest of the 23 drivers went again in a bid to secure passage to the one-lap dash.

Jack Le Brocq (#34 Truck Assist ZB Commodore) climbed from 11th to third with a 1:13.4551s before Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang) moved up from the danger zone to fourth on a 1:13.5034s.

Waters then fired in his 1:13.0869s and, with the chequered flag out, Heimgartner moved to third with a 1:13.3026s in the #8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore and Mostert improved from 17th to seventh with a 1:13.5160s.

The top eight after the 15-minute hit-out ended up being Waters, van Gisbergen, Heimgartner, Davison, Le Brocq, De Pasquale, Mostert, and Feeney.

Scott Pye (#20 Nulon ZB Commodore) and Tim Slade (#3 CoolDrive Mustang) both booked their passage to the Shootout with late laps, taking ninth and 10th respectively, but David Reynolds was bumped out by Mostert’s final effort.

The #26 Penrite Mustang is thus set to start 11th, Reynolds having been only 0.0442s too slow, with Thomas Randle (#55 Castrol Mustang) to join him on Row 6.

Nick Percat (#2 Mobil 1 NTI ZB Commodore) qualified 20th and PremiAir Racing newcomer James Golding (#31 Subway ZB Commodore) 21st.

The Top 10 Shootout for Race 19 starts at 12:00 local time/AEST.

Results: Qualifying for Race 19, NTI Townsville 500

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:13.0869
2 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.2093 0:00.1224
3 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.3026 0:00.2157
4 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:13.3466 0:00.2597
5 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.4551 0:00.3682
6 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:13.5034 0:00.4165
7 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.5160 0:00.4291
8 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.5325 0:00.4456
9 20 Nulon Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.6047 0:00.5178
10 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:13.6176 0:00.5307
11 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:13.6618 0:00.5749
12 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:13.6891 0:00.6022
13 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.7711 0:00.6842
14 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 1:13.7860 0:00.6991
15 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.8137 0:00.7268
16 14 Middy’s Electrical Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.8649 0:00.7780
17 96 Pizza Hut Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.9084 0:00.8215
18 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.9093 0:00.8224
19 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:13.9369 0:00.8500
20 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.9552 0:00.8683
21 31 PremiAir Subway Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.9744 0:00.8875
22 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.9747 0:00.8878
23 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.0509 0:00.9640
24 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:14.0907 0:01.0038
25 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.1365 0:01.0496

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]